Ode to Vacation

VACATION

Our Spin Cycle assignment this week was to write about our summer vacation.  To be honest, that just brings up unpleasant feelings for me right now.  See, we were supposed to take over a week off in July when we had the celebration of life to honor my brother Monte.  We were supposed to take off from July 1 to about the 9th.  Turns out that due to some mitigating circumstances hubby got 2 full days…. That was IT.  Needless to say I was pissed.

Turned out we didn’t even ride up to Virginia or back together. We had way too much stuff to take it all in one vehicle so I drove up on the Thursday before and hubby ended up coming up on Friday evening with my nephew who also lives in Atlanta and they drove back together too.  Don’t feel bad for me.  I wasn’t alone.  I had a travel partner too.  Who cares if he has four feet and is a little furry?  And that I had to stop every couple hours for him to have a pee break and I had to hold him part of the way and he wouldn’t even take his turn driving!  But we still had a good time.

Then he did take a whole week off but during that week we catered a wedding so we couldn’t go anywhere.  We saved up the time (and money) so that this week when hubby was supposed to have his annual conference for work in Orlando I was supposed to fly down the last day of his conference but Irene put an end to that.  Since I already wrote about it the other day I decided to write a little ditty in honor of my non-vacation.  Enjoy!

Ode to Vacation

Vacation smacation

It takes lots of preparation

Some plans will sail

Some plans will fail

If you don’t consider weather

Then you better start planning better

‘Cause sometimes rains and hurricanes

Will disrupt travel on trains and airplanes

We were Florida bound before Irene

But now those plans will not be seen

At least for another month or so

Then vacationing maybe we can go

This post was brought to you by Jen and The Spin Cycle.  Did you have a great vacation?  Spin it up and serve over at Sprites Keeper.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Poetry, Spin Cycle and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Ode to Vacation

  1. SuziCate says:

    Oh, but when you do get vacay, it will be a blast…think of all the great food and drink you will partake!

  2. It just reminds me about how close we came to meeting this weekend! Argh! In other news, I may need to be in Atlanta (location is a possibility, but not definite) at the end of the month. Are you close enough to the city that we could possibly meet then? I’ll let you know if for sure plans are concrete. 🙂
    You’re linked!

    • pegbur7 says:

      I’m so disappointed ti didn’t work out too! Def Atlanta is a possibility if that is indeed where you are gonna me. Just let me know when and where!

  3. Ron says:

    What an AWESOME poem, Peg!

    I LOVED it! Very clever you are!

    So sorry to hear about your non-vacation, but as Suzi shared…

    “but when you do get vacay, it will be a blast…”

    Have a terrrrrific Tuesday, dear friend!

    ((((( Peg ))))

    X

  4. Katie says:

    So sorry you have had vacation plans go wrong. I love your poem. I am in Mo still using the smart phone,taking forever.

  5. CaJoh says:

    I’m just a bit bummed that I may not get a vacation for quite some time (at least not paid). Don’t know why, but I’m somehow reminded of a “Toothbrush Trip”. That’s a trip where you only pack your toothbrush and you stay wherever the mood strikes.

  6. Pseudo says:

    You get to meet Jen, maybe. How cool.

Leave a Reply

