To Be or Not Too Bee

Language

Language is universal but there is no “universal language” unless you count love.  I have always heard love is the universal language but I think what they really mean is sex.  But that’s a whole ‘nother post!

I will be the first to admit that  sometimes I gauge people by their use of language.  Not necessarily by the language they use but how they use the language they speak.   I will also be the first to admit that I sometimes intentionally misuse language for the sake of getting my point across in my posts.  Sometimes slang or colloquialism comes across better than the proper use of language and  proper spelling.

I will also admit that misuse of language is one of my biggest pet peeves.  I know that sounds like a HUGE contradiction and maybe it is but that’s just me.  I think a lot of people judge others by how smart they think they are or how smart they appear to be.  When you misuse language and horribly misspell words, let’s face it… you just appear less than intelligent.

As a prime example, the misuse of  the words to, two, and too probably makes me the craziest. Using the wrong one  in a sentence drives me go batsh*t.  Such as, “I was going to do that two!”  Unless  they mean they were going to do something two times then I’m not down with that.  Or “I’m going too the mall.”  Are you going to the mall also or are you just stupid?  I know that’s kind of harsh  but it’s just one of those things that gets under my skin.

I also have a problem with people interchanging the words there, their and they’re.  To use all three in a sentence would be “They’re going over there to get their friend.”  NOT “Their going over thar to get there friend”.   Insanity alert!

I have long tried to instill in my  children the importance of using English properly to get their point across.  When they were little I always had books,  magazines and newspapers readily available for them and I often spent (and  still do) much more money on books than on toys unless it was educational  toys.  Heck, we even talked to them and read to them in utero.  I tried to teach them all to read and write before they started 1st grade.  I think that is why now they all three enjoy reading so much.  In fact, my oldest ended up being an English major and I can’t tell you how proud that made me. I  felt like I must have done something right!

There is also (in my humble  opinion) a big difference in  misspelling words because you weren’t taught properly or learned English as a  second language and just being too lazy to learn.  Granted, I know there are people who just  aren’t as intelligent but there are also those who just don’t care and I really  don’t understand that.

I can’t tell you how many times  (especially on FaceBook) when I have wanted to correct someone’s post when they’ve  used the wrong word or misspelled it.  To  me (again, just my opinion) it shows a lack of class.  Maybe it was just a lack of paying attention in class?

It particularly drives me crazy  when the people who are misusing and misspelling words are teachers.  No wonder our youth can’t learn to speak,  write and spell properly if the people in charge of teaching them can’t do it  correctly.  Or just don’t care to.  Does that make me a language snob or am I just  too picky?  Do I expect too much from  others?

I know English is a very difficult  language to learn but I feel that if you grew up here (in the United States)  then you should at least be able to put a half way decent sentence together and  use words in their proper term or tense.  That’s all I’m saying.

This post was brought to you by  Sprite’s Keeper and the Spin Cycle.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Spin Cycle, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to To Be or Not Too Bee

  1. I’m totally with you. And for the record, John learned English as a second language (came over to America at the age of 9 not knowing ANYTHING) and he speaks and writes it better than most people I know. I think you’re right. I think people are lazy or just less inclined to check themselves.
    You’re linked!

  2. FYI- I’m having trouble accessing my site. I’ll link you up tonight. 🙂

  3. Ron says:

    LOVE the post title, Peg!

    VERY clever!

    OMG…I am the worst speller. And what’s really funny is that I check and recheck my blog posts over and over again, and wil STILL find a misspelled word two or three days AFTER I’ve posted – HA!

    I truly think I need an EDITOR!

    I’ve actually had someone leave me a comment on one of my blog posts; telling me that I misspelled the word it’s versus its. But in all honesty, I was happy they did because I learned something. And they were very nice about it.

    FAB post! Have a wonderful day, dear friend!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Ron! The its vs it’s one is very confusing to me because sometimes when it seems like it SHOULD be it’s (as in showing possession) it is its…. just saying! IF I am correct in remembering the rule the ONLY time it is it’s is when it’s the contraction for “it is” (see how I linked that in there nicely? 🙂 )

  4. My punctuation is awful. Like Ron I read my posts over and over but I end up reciting it in my head rather than reading the screen so errors get unnoticed. Sigh. 🙂 xx great post buy the weigh.

  5. terrepruitt says:

    I laughed when one of your daughters said she wouldn’t be friends with people on facebook if they had bad grammar. (It was a comment on one of your posts.)

    Most of the time my errors are typing errors. I know how to spell and use the words you mentioned, but yes, I am in a hurry. And typing on mobile devices is a problem itself. I cringe when I read a post of mine with an error, but it happens, I try to forgive myself and move on. Seems like no matter how many times I proof read something sometimes things slip through. Since that is what happens to me, I usually give people the benefit of the doubt and say to myself, “Oh look, they made a type-o.” Ha!

    Wow. I bet what happens is what Stacy said. Hmmm. Never thought of that. I do catch more errors when I put it in different formats. I will read it in MS Word, in Notepad, and in the WordPress admin.

    Oatmeal is a great help: http://theoatmeal.com/comics/misspelling

  6. Camille says:

    My language pet peeve? Using K in place of C. Kreative Keepsakes! Krazy Kakes! Kindergarten Klub! Alliteration still works even if the letters aren’t the same, people. I go out of my way to avoid businesses that use K in place of C.

  7. Pingback: Just Say “No” to Baby Talk — Stacy Uncorked

  8. vandylj says:

    The one that gets me all the time is the use of then and than. And I often have typo because my brain goes faster than my fingers.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I have typos for the same reason and I’m usually too impatient to take the time to PROOF read! And if I’m using my phone you can forget it. That predictive text gets me every time. And on top of that, right now I have a couple of keys on my laptop that are “sticking” and I have to hit the key two or three times to make it show up an I usually don’t notice becuase I’m not consciously thinking…”Ok, I just typed a V I need to recheck and make sure it showed up!”

  9. CaJoh says:

    I sometimes have a problem when people overemphasize grammar. I want to show them a paragraph from a celebrated author and tell them to pick it apart, then tell them that it is not I who wrote it, but some famous author that they adore. I think that being too strict with grammar will make the writing flat. I tend to agree with a college English professor who emphasized writing to be understood before grammar. I find that the grammar tends to sort itself out if we try to write so that people understand what we are saying first, rather than trying to write grammatically correct.

    OK… I’ll get off my soapbox now…

  10. Pseudo says:

    “Sometimes slang or colloquialism comes across better than the proper use of language and proper spelling.” Amen

    There is a huge difference between breaking a rule on purpose and for effect and not knowing the rule.

    However, that being said, I might be one of those teachers who comments on a post with an error. Usually it is just a typo. As an educator, I know few who are these people: “No wonder our youth can’t learn to speak, write and spell properly if the people in charge of teaching them can’t do it correctly.” I would imagine one cannot get through 6 years of college in that case.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I know most teachers ARE educated and use that education but there are ones I’ve met personally and that my children have had that do NOT use proper grammar and who are horrible spellers. My kids have had teachers that actually resented them because they (my kids) were smarter than they were….True story, sadly.

  11. Pingback: Crash « Square Peg in a Round Hole

Leave a Reply

