That Was Awkward!

Awkward moments

As most of you know, I grew up in a very small town. It had one elementary school, no middle or high school. Once you got past middle school age you had to go to the one middle or high school in the entire county. Even though there was only one in the entire county, there still were not a lot of students, relatively speaking.

My high school graduating class had 176 students. With a class that small you know pretty much every one of them and you know them pretty well. Since there was also only one middle school you had gone to school with virtually all of them (except newcomers) since sixth grade. Many of them you ended up going all the way through school with from 1st grade on. It makes for a pretty close knit group.

I was not crazy about growing up in such a small town so I left shortly after graduation. I visited fairly often when I lived in North Carolina but once I moved to Louisiana and got married I didn’t get home very often and when I did the visits were often filled with time spent with family which left little time for visiting friends and old classmates. I ended up usually only seeing old classmates at class reunions and even those were few and far between.

The years seemed to fly by and before I knew it we had been out of school more than twenty years. On one of my visits home I had gone to the drug store for my mom in the county seat and I was wandering around the aisles when I saw what I thought was “Katie’s” mom at the other end of the store. Of course I had only seen Katie once since graduation and that was probably five years maybe after we graduated and at that time Katie was still the young vibrant beautiful and slim young woman I had known her to be in school.

As I said, I hadn’t seen Katie in YEARS so I wanted to find out how she was doing so I approached the woman at the end of the store and as I did so I smiled widely at her. A look of recognition crossed her face so I went up and put my hand on her arm and said “Oh my goodness! Aren’t you Katie’s mom? I haven’t seen her in YEARS! How in the world IS she?”

Her smile quickly faded as she looked at me stone faced and said “I AM Katie!” **crickets chirping** AWKWARD silence….. then I stammered “Oh MY Katie! Look how gorgeous you look!” To which she replied “Like my mother?”

In my defense…. Katie WAS the age that her mother was the last time I had seen her mom and she DID look just like her. Yeah, and she didn’t come to the next reunion and I haven’t seen her since. I’m thinking next time I see her I need to really be complimentary!

This post was brought to you by Mama Kat from Mama’s Losin’ It and her Pretty Much World Famous Writer’s Workshop and prompt #2) An awkward moment.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop, Tales from my youth and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to That Was Awkward!

  1. Yes, that was awkward…not sure how you recover from that one. I hope Katie realized that you were in the middle of some sort of time shift thing.

  2. Tara says:

    OMG – I can’t even imagine! Terribly funny for me reading about it, but I’m sure it was a horrible awkward moment for you living it! 🙂

  3. Ooops … I don’t know how quickly you can back-pedal from a doozy like that! 🙂

    Visiting from Mama Kat’s 🙂

  4. katie says:

    That is one of those times , like when is the baby due, that you want to just run and hide.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Yeah, I’ve done that too! I asked a woman I hadn’t seen for a while when her baby was due and she told me she had it six weeks ago! OOPS! Foot in mouth disease runs rampant!

  5. Ron says:

    ““I AM Katie!” **crickets chirping** AWKWARD silence….. then I stammered “Oh MY Katie! Look how gorgeous you look!” To which she replied “Like my mother?”

    OMG….how funny, Peg! I LOVED your come back line, that was fast thinking!!!

    My most awkward moment was when I told a customer who I hadn’t seen in years, that I was so excited to see that she was pregnant. To which she replied, “Oh…I’m not pregnant, I’ve just gained a lot of weight.”

    OMG….I was soooooooooooo embarrassed, I wanted to DIE!

    *shame on me*

    Great post, my friend! Have a faaaaaaaaaabulous day!

    X

  6. You weren’t kidding. That WAS awkward!

  7. Barbara says:

    Ouch! That sounds awkward! I guess it’s a good thing you don’t see her that often!

  8. Soccer Mom says:

    Woah…I really hope I don’t have that happen to me when I hit my 20th next year 🙂 Visiting from Mama Kat’s!

    • pegbur7 says:

      When we did our 25th reunion we made name tags for everyone with a copy of their senior picture on it so that we could put the name to the face! Worked well!

  9. Carri says:

    Whoooopsy! There is no recovering from that! Well, it could have been worse; you could have asked her when the baby was due, right?

  10. mryjhnsn says:

    I can’t even imagine how many compliments you would have to give her to make up for that… btw You told this story perfectly! I could not wait to read what I knew was coming 🙂

  11. I made a ‘foot in mouth’ error today, very very cringeworthy! :s – have a look and let me know your views! http://hazellcottrell.wordpress.com/2011/09/10/hi-im-hazel-your-waitress-please-allow-me-to-put-my-foot-in-my-mouth/

Leave a Reply

