To Have and To Hold or Just to Want?

Which is better, waiting and wanting or having and holding? A friend of mine posted this as his FaceBook status yesterday and I find it very intriguing. It actually made me stop and think about it. By the way, Thanks Chuck for the idea!

I think it’s very intriguing because in some way both are true. I guess it depends on what you are waiting on or what you already have to hold?

I myself often find that when I have looked forward to having something for a long time and maybe scrimped and saved for that very item and once I procured that item I was somewhat let down. Almost depressed. Like I no longer had a goal, nothing to look forward to. I know how crazy that sounds but it’s true.

And I think sometimes we build something up in our minds so much that there is no way the longed for item could ever live up to your expectations. It’s almost set up to fail. How could anything that you’ve built up to that degree ever meet your expectations? So in that case I think the waiting and wanting is the best part because once you have it to hold it’s not really what it was built up to be.

There are other cases where they having and holding is much better than the wanting and waiting. Case in point, wanting a child and waiting on the birth (and/or adoption as the case may be) of said child. The waiting and wanting, no matter how much you have built it up in your mind, cannot possible equal the actual having and holding part. That is until you’ve had like your 2nd month of sleepless nights in a row and then you might wish you were still waiting! All kidding aside, the much anticipated birth of a child, in my humble opinion, far outweighs the waiting and wanting stage.

Or to me, finding your soul mate and marrying them and spending your life with them is far better than the waiting for that white knight to come sweeping you off your feet. With all it’s up and downs and in and outs and daily grinds, the having and holding of my husband and the daily institution of marriage has far exceeded any silly expectation I had of waiting and wanting a husband. That may not be everyone’s experience but it has been mine. I wouldn’t trade anything for my husband, my marriage or my three beautiful daughters. No waiting and wanting I ever had could ever measure up to the joys and treasures I find with them every single day.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to To Have and To Hold or Just to Want?

  1. Ron says:

    Great post, Peg!

    And I agree……

    “And I think sometimes we build something up in our minds so much that there is no way the longed for item could ever live up to your expectations. It’s almost set up to fail. How could anything that you’ve built up to that degree ever meet your expectations? So in that case I think the waiting and wanting is the best part because once you have it to hold it’s not really what it was built up to be.”

    It’s the ‘anticipation’ that’s the exciting part about wanting/waiting to get something. Because once we get it, it’s not really what we ever imagined it to be. Sometimes it’s less, and then sometimes it’s even more (or different).

    Have a faaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaabulous day, dear friend!

    X

  2. terrepruitt says:

    Sometimes I think it really all goes together, they can’t be separated. As an example, I had a friend who was talking about planning her vacation and she was sharing how excited she was and was going on and on and then she said her husband hated the planning. But we both determined that the planning was PART of the vacation. It wasn’t a separate waiting and wanting it was PART of it. The planning, the dreaming, the saving, the shopping, is all PART of the vacation. Extends the vacation, sort of.

    I understand what you are saying. It wasn’t a rambling mess. 🙂 I just have tweaked my thinking just a little bit to make the planning and the waiting as PART of the event. There wouldn’t be one without the other so they are one. I strive to enjoy both equally, even though they are different.

  3. Lisa says:

    Peg, this is beautiful. What wonderfully wise words.

Leave a Reply

