Every Breath You Take

Watching

Once upon a time, long, long ago, in a land far, far away, there lived a young woman who inherently thought almost all people were good.  She came from a very small town where everyone knew everyone else and their business and there was no such thing as stranger danger or stalking.  If you were going to be hurt by someone it was most likely going to be a close friend or relative!

She was living in what to her was a big city all alone for the first time and even though she had had that bad thing she didn’t talk about  happen to her she still, for the most part, thought people were inherently good and not dangerous. One day she went to the grocery store.  A normal every day trip to pick up a few groceries and personal items.  Nothing out of the ordinary happened at the grocery store.  She wrote a check paying for her purchases and drove home.

As she was getting out of her car she noticed a car pull into her driveway behind her (effectively blocking any exit for her) and a fairly nice looking young man hopped out of the car.  She turned to the young man and asked if there was something she could help him with anything.  He replied that he had seen her at the grocery store.  She immediately looked in the car to make sure she had her purse.  It was laying right there on the passenger seat.  Then somewhat confused she turned to the young man and inquired “Oh, I’m sorry!  Did I drop something?”

Young man:  No, I just noticed at the grocery store that you bought ground beef and so did I so I thought maybe we could grill them out together!

 WTH???  Now if that wasn’t the strangest pick up line she had EVER in her young years heard.  Now, she started to get a little scared….

Me:  (yeah, in case you hadn’t figured that part out yet… it was me) Excuse me?  What did you just say?

YM:  I noticed you bought hamburger and thought maybe we could eat together?

Me:  You don’t even KNOW me.  I happen to be married and my husband is waiting inside for me to come in and cook dinner…. And he’s a
policeman!

YM:  You’re not married.

Me:  How would you know that? (Stupid me… can’t keep my mouth shut)

YM:  You’re not wearing a ring and nothing you bought would suggest that you have a husband or even another person living in the house with you.

Me:  OK… you’re creeping me out now.  My next door neighbor IS a policeman and if I scream he WILL come running out.

YM:   Oh…no, no, no…. No harm meant!  I just thought you were pretty and thought I’d like to get to know you but maybe some other time.

Me:  I don’t think so.  How about you leave before I call the cops?

So he got in his little car and drove away.  I took my groceries inside and locked all  my doors.   I was totally freaked out.  My neighbor wasn’t home yet (he really WAS a policeman) so I fixed my dinner which I ate alone and waited for him to come home.  I was watching television about an hour  or so later when my telephone rang (this of course was in the days before cell phones) and when I answered it a man’s voice said “Well, was it good?”

Me:  Pardon me?

YM:  Your hamburger?  Was it good?

Panic flew in me and I felt a cold chill go from my head to my toes even though it was summer.  How the HELL did he get my number?  I had been having trouble with prank calls so I had my number changed to a non-published number.  The only people who had my number were my
family and the police department (who I worked with) and my work.

Me:  Ummmm…. It was fine….. how did you get my phone number?

YM:  I was standing behind you in line in the grocery store and when you wrote it on your check I memorized it.

OK!  STALKER ALERT!!! I was paying so little attention that I hadn’t even noticed he was behind me in line!  Had I nonchalantly smiled at him without really seeing him making him think I was interested?  Do I really pay that little attention to my surroundings?   I slammed the phone
down and backed away from it like IT was going to get me.  It rang again.  I almost jumped out of my skin.  I answered and it was him AGAIN.  I politely… well, as politely as I could…asked him to not call me again or I would call the police.  For all I know, he might have been a nice guy.  But he might also have been another Ted Bundy (although at that time I’d never heard of Ted Bundy).

I wonder now how many times heused that technique and if it actually ever worked for him?

This post was brought to you by Mama Kat’s and her Pretty Much World Famous Writer’s Workshop and prompt #1) The Police said it best when they said, “Every breath you take/And every move you make/Every bond you break, every step you take/I’ll be watching you”. Write about a time you believed someone was watching you.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Every Breath You Take

  1. suzicate says:

    Way too close for comfort…freak out alert! And you were way too far away for the “intimidating Daddy” tactic…that was usually enough to scare anybody off!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Yeah he was reaa;y good at that. I’ll never forget when he tricked my dates “friend” (ride) into drinking a beer and then running them BOTH off for failing his “test’!

  2. Ron says:

    Ewwwwww…..this post gave me chills, Peg!

    Especially when you said….

    “and when I answered it a man’s voice said “Well, was it good?”

    OMG….how CREEPY!!!

    Staker alert indeed!

    “I wonder now how many times he used that technique and if it actually ever worked for him?”

    Yeah, me too.

    Anyway, glad to hear you took a stand and told him to not call back or you would call the police.

    Hope you’re having a terrific Thursday!

    X

  3. Spot says:

    That is creepy with a capital “C”! I hope you ran next door and told the policeman so he could keep an eye on you!

    I had a guy who used to call me every day after my husband left for work and say sexually explicit things. The worst part was I was about 6 months pregnant. The creepiest part was that he knew when Mike was gone. We thought it was the neighbor so we moved. We may have been right because the calls stopped. I will never forget how terrified I was.

    Glad we both had happy endings! Unfortunately, so many don’t.

    ♥Spot

  4. Adrienne says:

    Whoa….I cannot begin to tell you how wrecked I would be if something like that happened to me…eek!!

  5. Katie says:

    That was scarry! You were lucky he didn’t pursue it. Following you home, OMG!

  6. Yikes, that man was psycho!

    • pegbur7 says:

      I fear he was. I’m glad it turned out as well as it did. I don’t what I would have done if he’d refused to leave or had a gun or something like that!

  7. Kim says:

    That is too scary! Is that how stalkers begin stalking someone, so at random and so intensely. I’m glad you were okay and that you had the wits to stand up for yourself!

  8. Carol says:

    Ohmigosh! I think I would have seriously considered moving. Or getting a big ferocious dog. Or a gun. No, gun wouldn’t work, I couldn’t shoot anyone. There are some really strange people out there – I met someone quite similar to that, although a lot less persistent, at a grocery store once many years ago. Aha! It’s grocery stores! Stay away from them!

  9. WHAT A CREEP!!! So glad you used some mad skillz by pulling the policeman neighbor out of your hat. These are the men that make a bad reputation for the other men in the world.

    • pegbur7 says:

      That is very true! They do. I wonder if he was just really lonely and totally lacked social skills or if he really was a creep? I didn’t let him stick around long enough to find out!

Leave a Reply

