Cowboys and Indians and Aliens, OH MY!

Yesterday hubby and I went to the movies and dinner.  It was a HOT HOT day out and we figured the movies was a nice air conditioned place to be.  We saw Cowboys and Aliens which I think was a great action flick.  And the combination of Harrison Ford and Daniel Craig. MY OH MY!!!  I can’t seem to get it to work right but here is the URL for the trailer to the movie:  http://movies.yahoo.com/movie/1810159817/video/24915530

I also thought it was cool that Walton Goggins was in the movie.  If you’ve never heard of Walton Goggins, don’t feel bad.  He’s not a REAL well known actor but he used to play kinda the sidekick, Detective Shane Vendrell,  on the television series The Shield.  He was Vic Mackey’s kind of right hand man.  He’s kind of unusual looking so if you see him I KNOW you’ll know who I’m talking about.

Walton Goggins (Image from Wikipedia)

The reason I’ve paid attention to him lately is that when I first started watching The Shield, I wasn’t aware of it but soon found out that Walt went to the same high school as my older two daughters.  So, he’s a product of Lithia Springs High School.  After I found that out I have sort of been following his career.  It always does my heart good to see a “hometown boy” make it good.

Anyway, we went to the movies and then out to eat and on the way home hubby was driving and he looked down and said “I can’t believe it’s 7:30 in the evening and it’s STILL 100 degrees!”  So I leaned over and took a picture when we were at the light. That was my Wordless Wednesday picture.  And it WAS hot.  Almost unbearable.  No wind stirring, just HOT oppressive HEAT.  One of those fry an egg on the sidewalk kind of days.  I have no idea how hot it was during the middle of the day since we were in the movie but it made me glad we WERE in the movie!

This was Tuesday evening at 7:30~

As soon as we got home I had to go to the bathroom and hubby took Chorizo out for a potty break.  The A/C unit happens to be right outside the bathroom wall by the garage.  I heard the unit make a really weird noise and thought UH OH… NOT GOOD.  If you remember, back in April when we had those hellacious storms pass through our unit got struck by lightening and fried.  We happen to have a wonderful A/C repairman who lives right around the corner (Thanks Tim!) and he came over and got it running although it’s kind of been limping along.  He told us that it might last a day or maybe a few weeks or maybe even all summer but he had to do something he called a “hard start” and he said it was much harder on the unit and we’d eventually need a new one.

As I walked into the kitchen hubby was coming in the back door and he started to say something and I could tell by the look on his face what he meant.  I said “I heard it”.  We keep the thermostat set on 78 but in the heat that was still in the air within a couple of minutes it was already up to
80 in the house.  Unfortunately, last year when I painted the window trim I didn’t think ahead and I think I kind of painted the windows shut because we couldn’t get a single window open!  We couldn’t leave the doors open because Chorizo would go running out.  We did the only thing we could which was make sure all the ceiling fans were running and pull the floor fan out of the garage.

Let me tell you, with the ceiling fan going full force and the fan at the bottom of the bed on high it was STILL miserable.  When we woke up BEFORE 6 A.M. it was already 84 degrees inside the house.  It was actually cooler outside early this morning than it was in the house.  It was a miserable night.  I tossed and turned and did a slow burn.  It’s funny because my mom and I were just talking about this the other day.  I
always joked around and said “I don’t sweat, I glisten!” but, it’s actually kind of true.  And my mother is the same way.   Maybe it’s some weird genetic anomaly or some defect or symptom of some disease or something but I don’t really sweat like most normal people sweat.  I get HOT… furiously so, but I don’t really perspire.  My skin will get clammy and I’ll feel like I’m gonna pass out sometimes or burn from the inside out if I get
overheated.  My mom said her doctor told her that her body just internalizes the heat and keeps it inside.  Maybe that’s what mine does too.  All I know is I was MISERABLE!

This morning I found the screen that goes in the front storm door (the one that got broken and the replacement glass hasn’t come in yet) and had to pry the frame that holds the glass out of the door to try to put the screen in.  Of course I had glass fall out of what was left of the frame and cut my toe, but not bad, even though it’s SUPPOSED to be safety glass and then I glanced up and realize that wasps had built a nest right on the inside of the storm door between it and the front door.  I guess when you don’t use a door for a few weeks they take quick advantage of the inactivity to find a “safe” place to build a nest.  Not so safe when I knocked that sucker down and squished it!  Sorry all you insect lovers out there.  I do NOT want wasps in my house and they were starting to stir.  I finally got them all outside I think, but, I couldn’t get the screen to stay in the door so I just propped it in there for the time being.  Of course about half a minute after I propped it in there Poe came running through the screen (I guess he didn’t see the screen there) and knocked it back out.  Silly cat!

Thankfully Tim lives close by and I contacted his staff last night (thank God for FaceBook) and advised her of our misery.  Megan assured me that he’d make us the first stop since he lives right around the corner.  Bless his heart he was true to his word.  He was here a little after 8 and got it going again but assured me that it is gonna go. It’s just a matter of time. And with new government regulations they can’t use the kind of Freon anymore after this year so I guess we need to bite the bullet and replace the entire system.  I can’t see just fixing the system temporarily and spending about $2,000 when we can replace the entire system for less than twice that and be more energy efficient and a better unit.  Plus if we just replace the outside this year and it goes out again next year they won’t be able to fix it because of the regulations and the whole thing will have been for naught and we may as well set that $2,000 on fire!  Oh, the joys of home ownership!

At least he got it running for now. Thank you Megan! THANK YOU TIM! You guys are life savers.  Potate’s is the BOMB!  Even though he said he can’t guarantee how long it will last, but, at least it’s running and hopefully I won’t have to spend another miserable sweaty night trying not to melt into a puddle in our bed.  I used to have a waterbed…but this is NOT what I remember it being like!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Cowboys and Indians and Aliens, OH MY!

  1. Angelia Sims says:

    I was a big Shield fan. Glad to see him in a big movie – that’s awesome! Now your AC? Holy Heat! That stinks! I mean it’s great Tim temporarily fixed it, so you wouldn’t like DIE. This heat is scary! We are on the 35th day in a row of over hundred degrees days. The last 4 days we have broken the record high. It’s insane. It’s HOT!

    Stay cool my friend!!!

    • pegbur7 says:

      I loved The Shield. I didn’t realize until about halfway through the series that Walton was from here! It’s just cool to find out something like that. The AC actually was damaged during that big storm in April that knocked out our TV too…he’s just been getting it temporarily fixed until we can afford to replace the whole system!

  2. Ron says:

    ” but soon found out that Walt went to the same high school as my older two daughters. So, he’s a product of Lithia Springs High School. After I found that out I have sort of been following his career. It always does my heart good to see a “hometown boy” make it good.”

    Oh….how COOL, Peg! Bravo ! Isn’t it wonderful to see someone on the movie screen who you know????

    OMG….I started sweating just from reading this post because as you already know, me and heat don’t mix, especially when I sleep. I need to have it VERY cold to sleep well. It’s been SO hot and humid here lately, however this weekend it’s suppose to calm down a bit. I am so over summer!

    I’m so glad that Tim was at least able to get the A/C going again. Yaaaaaaaaay Tim! Hopefully it will last through the rest of the summer.

    Have a wonderful and cool weekend, dear friend!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      We can hope it does but it’s not looking too promising. It’s also pulling a lot more power the way it’s been rigged…. but at least it’s working!

  3. BankerChick says:

    We are heading back to Mo in 2 weeks and hope the weather breaks a little. Fall should be breaking thru before too long. I hate the heat too. Plan to visit Santa Barbara and the grandsons during the worst of summer after we get back there permanently.

  4. terrepruitt says:

    I haven’t seen Cowboys and Aliens yet, but I want to.

    Sweating is one of the ways our body cools off. I must have got your sweat genes because I sweat if I THINK about being hot. I SWEAT! I don’t perspire, I don’t glisten, I don’t shimmer. I don’t sweat like a pig–because they don’t sweat. I sweat like a horse on a long run! I am very grateful that I don’t get foaming. That is why I don’t like humid because I am already wet and sweaty I don’t need the humid to make it worse.

    I cannot imagine being in that heat with no air and no windows open. It is a wonder you survived! So glad you have an A/C connection and got it going again.

  5. terrepruitt says:

    WHAT? THIRTY FIVE DAYS of OVER 100? Yeah, that is why I live in CA. We have had spectacular weather. Last night I was outside at about 8:00 and I put on a jacket! And I rejoiced as I did so!!!!

  6. Spot says:

    I loved that movie!! And Mr. Coggins was hysterical in his part! “Don’t forget your gun- you always were my favorite.” LMAO!

    Ugh. I would not be able to survive without my air. I have my air on and a fan at the foot of my bed this summer. I hate heat!

    Not sweating is very hard on your body. You should try salt tablets, for some reason they help with that. I know that’s what they gave Mike last year when he was having trouble with the heat after the accident.

    Glad it got fixed!

    ♥Spot

    • pegbur7 says:

      I loved that part too! He really did do a good job.

      The not sweating thing is kind of funny because I’d never told anyone and then in the space of 24 hours I find out that not only do me and my mom have the same problem but so does my little sister! Weird huh?

Leave a Reply

