Semper Fi, Chief!

I have to take a moment to brag on our police chief, Chris Womack. He posted on his FaceBook status today how he’s on the board for the Boys and Girls Club here in town and how he’s co-chair of their spaghetti supper which is one of their biggest fundraisers. I can’t tell you how that simple status update takes me back in time.

First Hubby and I used to chair the annual Spaghetti Supper they used to have at the elementary school where all three of our girls went. Every year we would get almost every item if not ALL items donated and get the teachers and parents to cook and serve so that every penny we raised was completely profit. It didn’t usually raise more than $1,000 but that’s $1,000 that they wouldn’t have had! I worked for weeks getting different restaurants to donate different items for the supper and we always had such a great time working it. Hubby and myself and a couple other sets of parents and a few teachers and their husbands faithfully worked it each year.

The school wasn’t that big so we got to know a lot of the parents and even though we may not keep in constant touch with them I still consider them friends and when I happen to run into them it’s just like old times. In fact I saw a couple of the teachers at the wedding we catered a couple of weeks ago and we picked up right where we left off. They taught our kids, they worked alongside us to raise money for the school and I’ll never forget the connection we had.

And what brings this whole thing full circle for me is that way back then, when our older two girls were in elementary school they had this program called DARE. I’m not even sure if it still exists anymore since we no longer have kids who are school age, but, it was a program designed to teach kids about the dangers of drugs and drug abuse. They used to take rookie police officers straight out of the police academy and pretty much their first assignment was as the school’s dare officer.

And guess who their dare officer was? A young rookie by the name of Chris Womack! And now Chris just so happens to be our chief of police for our city. It warms my heart every time I see a police car go by with his name engraved on the back “Chris Womack, Chief of Police”. I can’t tell you how old that makes me feel either! But it does make me feel good that the young police officer that taught our kids about staying off drugs is now locking up those drug dealers and making sure our streets are safe. I sleep better at night knowing that Chris is in charge of our little city. And I think it sends a great message to the youth of today. That if you work hard, and do right, you CAN achieve your dreams. That doing the right thing DOES pay off. That there’s something noble and good about being a good guy and that sometimes, maybe if you follow your heart, that the good guy DOES come out on top. And he always posts a positive status update and he’s always so positive and upbeat no matter what. It’s good to see people like that. Comgratulations, Chris! I couldn’t be more proud of you and for you and I’m proud that YOU represent our city. Semper Fi Chief!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Semper Fi, Chief!

  1. BankerChick says:

    Now that was a lovely tribute to your police chief. You must live in a smaller area to be looking at the police chief’s facebook. I long for that, It will happen soon for us.

    • pegbur7 says:

      The city has about 80,000 I think and about 120,000 in the county. We’ve known him since he was straight out of the academy just about and he knows all our kids. He’s a very nice man and ery approachable. We’re very lucky to have him for our chief. We love living here. We’ve been here almost 25 years!

  2. I agree with BankerChick. What a great tribute! We had DARE as kids and I still see the t-shirts running around these days so chances are good, it still exists. 🙂

    • pegbur7 says:

      I think it’s a great program and so is the Boys and Girls Club. I think it’s wonderful that he’s so involved in the community. It’s not just a job for him.

  3. Ron says:

    What an AWESOME story and tribute to fine man, Peg!

    “And I think it sends a great message to the youth of today. That if you work hard, and do right, you CAN achieve your dreams. That doing the right thing DOES pay off. That there’s something noble and good about being a good guy and that sometimes, maybe if you follow your heart, that the good guy DOES come out on top.”

    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay! See, it DOES pay off!

    You GO, Chris Womack, Chief of Police!

    Thanks for sharing, dear friend! Very inspiring!

    Have a super day……X

  4. Spot says:

    They do still have DARE programs, at least around here. Funny how life is one big circle! What a great story and what great memories you have! I think life can be measured in the wonderful memories we have.

    ♥Spot

  5. terrepruitt says:

    How cool. That is so cool that you knew the rookie who is now chief. As already said, great tribute!

  6. Chris Womack says:

    Together we Stand, United we Serve! Thank you for the kind words, I am a blessed man, God is Great! I love Douglasville, she has been and continues to be very supportive of our efforts to make this a great city for all. I laced up my first pair of combat boots for the United States Marine corp when I was 17, and in a few days I will be a pair of 4’s. I have learned you can’t make everyone happy reguardless of how much yoou would like to. Sometimes you are gonna get knocked down but you have to get back up and fight the good fight. Thank you for allowing me the opportunity to serve our beautiful city in such an important role.
    Semper Fi,
    Your humble servant,
    Chief Chris Womack

    • pegbur7 says:

      Chris, We are honored to have YOU serve US. You know how both hubby and I feel about you and we are honored to say “we knew you when”. You have done an admirable job of “leading” us and we couldn’t be more proud of you and for you. You are a great man and we knew that way back when you were a Dare officer. You’ve come a long way Chief!

      I am also thrilled that you found my blog post, read it and responded to it!

Leave a Reply

