Squash Patties

Food

I posted the other day on my entry for the Spin Cycle about trying my mother’s recipe for squash patties and had several people say they would like it so I guess this is my second Spin Cycle entry for this same topic.  I am going to share the squash patty recipe.

I guess first I need to share how my mom makes her fried squash because it’s the leftovers from that which is used in the squash patty recipe.

To make the fried squash you first wash and chop yellow squash.  Straight or crooked neck doesn’t matter.  I’m not sure how many I used in my  “mess” of squash but it filled my largest Tupperware bowl after it had been washed and sliced.  If the squash are pretty big I will take the slices and either halve or slice them.

Then take a large onion and chop/dice it.  I used Vidalia the last time I made it.  I love Vidalia onions but any large onion should do.  To hurry the cooking process along you can take the onion and squash and put them together in a LARGE Tupperware bowl along with a half stick of butter/margarine and cook it covered in the microwave on high for about 9 or 10 minutes.  That is really to just cook it down enough for it to fit in the frying pan!

Transfer the whole mess into a LARGE skillet and fry the hell out of it!  Oh, first melt the other half of the stick of butter/margarine in the frying pan before you add the squash/onion.  See?  I TOLD you it wasn’t exactly healthy ut dang it tastes like heaven in a frying pan!   add salt, pepper, a little garlic to mine and cover it and fry it for  LONG time.  Stir occasionally.  My mom fries her until it is almost burned.  It tastes REALLY good.  I let mine get mushy.  Enjoy it the first day just like that…. Then the  NEXT day use the leftovers for squash patties.

Draining on the paper towel

THE  SQUASH PATTIES!!

To  make the squash patties, take 2 to 2 ½ cups of the leftover squash to start your  recipe.  Make sure your squash is mashed  or mushy enough to not be too big to hold together.  You will add the following:

1  egg, beaten

¼ cup  flour

¾ cup  corn meal

½ cup  of milk or buttermilk (whichever you have or prefer)

½ cup  of medium cheddar cheese (you could vary this with whatever cheese you have I  guess)

I  also added a couple dashes of hot sauce because hubby loves hot sauce.  I also put a little cumin in mine the last  time I made them because my family likes spicy.

If  you didn’t start with the fried squash you can cook enough squash and onion to  equal 2 to 2 ½ cups either boiled in a little water or cooked in the  microwave.  This will cut down on the fat  content but will also cut down the yumminess of the end result!

Combine  all of the ingredients and drop by the tablespoonful into about an inch of hot  grease in a frying pan.  Cook on each  side until golden brown.  Remove with  slotted spatula and drain on paper towels.  I’m sure you could also use a deep fryer.  I just don’t have one!  Enjoy.

The end result!

Let me know if you try them and what you think!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Spin Cycle, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Squash Patties

  1. Oh, that looks sinful. As sinful as the fried pickles South Dakota Cowgirl posted. I am in such trouble this weekend!
    You’re linked!

  2. Ron says:

    Yummy! Yummy! Yummy!

    My mouth is watering reading this recipe!

    “Oh, first melt the other half of the stick of butter/margarine in the frying pan before you add the squash/onion. See? I TOLD you it wasn’t exactly healthy ut dang it tastes like heaven in a frying pan!”

    Oh, who cares about it being healthy, right? To me, there’s nothing like the taste of REAL butter. Besides, if used moderately, real butter is so much better for you than margarine.

    Love the end result photo! I tried scratching and sniffing it, and it smelled faaaaaaaaaabulous!

    Thanks for sharing the recipe, dear friend!

    Have a FABU day and weekend!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      You crack me up. I’m glad the scratch and sniff worked for you! Didn;t they smell scrumptious??? I can attest tjat tjeu were if I do say so myself!

  3. MamaBadger says:

    We make something similar with zucchini. My little guys call them “burgers” and will eat them cold, straight from the fridge. Mmmmm.

  4. SuziCate says:

    She gave me that recipe last year, but haven’t tried it because it is so fattening. (She told me that Cindy gave it to her.) I have a feeling I’d love them and then I’d be in trouble!

  5. Katie says:

    Wow, it sounds so good, but not good for you. The bankerchicks avoid fried food. But we wouldn’t be rude it someone served it too us.

  6. NikNik says:

    I don’t even make the squash anymore because I felt so guilty after eating it! But i might have to make it one more time so I can try this!

  7. Pseudo says:

    Yum. This week is killing me, all I want to do is cook and eat. These look and sound amazing.

Leave a Reply

