Now We’re Cooking!

Food

Food… I think I could write volumes about food.  I love food.  I love to eat food.  I love to smell food.  I love to taste food.  I DON’T necessarily love to COOK food.  I think that stems from my lack of confidence in my cooking abilities.  Of course being married to someone who went to chef school might have something to do with that lack of confidence.

It’s horrible to admit but I actually kind of like it when I find something that I can cook that my kids like more than the way my husband cooks it.  Must be from the years of him telling me how to make stuff.  I for a while just kind of stopped cooking altogether.

I think that’s why I cook Italian a lot.  The kids seem to like whatever I cook Italian better than what hubby does.  The kids will eat it and it makes me feel good.  I think he gets a little jealous but he shouldn’t be because EVERYTHING else who cooks is better.  I think he should just let me have my one little thing, right?

And there are some things that my mom cooks that no one seems to be able to do better.  Her fried chicken and Charlie bread are two things that I have never seen anyone duplicate.  Hubby gets close on the fried chicken and I might get close on the Charlie Bread but we can’t equal hers.  My kids love her roast beef and veggies too.  Hubby has been trying to equal that for years but isn’t quite there.

There are LOTS of things that hubby cooks that no one can touch.  His macaroni and cheese and his peach cobbler are the bomb.  I tell people all the time that I married him for his cobbler and mac n’ cheese.  They don’t believe me.  You know that movie line “You had me at hello”?  Well, he had me at mac n’ cheese and cobbler.  He actually made them for our wedding rehearsal dinner!

His cream puffs are to die for!  They are so good that the first time he made them I swore he bought them at a professional bakery.  I could not believe anyone could make something that tasty and fantastic at their house!  They are my mom’s favorite too.  I think she could eat a half dozen at one sitting.  I’m not kidding!  All of his desserts are mouth watering.  Red velvet cake, carrot cake, Boston crème cake, pecan pie, anything you can imagine I think he could probably make.

The biggest “problem” is that when hubby gets something on his mind that he wants to “perfect” he will make it over and over and over.  I know.  I’m horrible to complain.  But please, just ask my kids about the summer of chicken and dumplings.  They were literally BEGGING… “no more chicken and dumplings….PLEASE!”  And once I remember him throwing away I think it was 6 chocolate pies because he left out an ingredient in the end that made them “shinier”… had nothing to do with the taste.  They would have tasted wonderful, they just would not have had that
sheen to them when you cut them.  And when he was perfecting his meringue I think he made a couple of pies every couple of days.  Our neighbors used to ask if they could just go through our garbage for his throwaways!

I have to confess that this past week I’ve had a little obsession of my own.  My mother and father gave me squash and cucumbers when I was up there a couple of weeks ago.  I made the squash at the beginning of the week and I told my mom I made it and she asked me if I made “squash patties” with the left overs.  Say huh?

I’d never heard of  squash patties.  My mom gave me the recipe and I made them that same evening.  Good googa mooga they were some of the most scrumptious things I’ve ever put in my mouth!  Probably not the healthiest things in the world since they were fried, not once but twice but they sure were good!  They are reminiscent of hush puppies but made with squash!  I would give you the recipe right here and now except I had scrawled it on the back of a letter and I left it on the counter and I’m thinking someone thought it was trash and threw it out!  When I find it I
will share it.

This post was brought to you by Sprite’s Keeper and the Spin Cycle with the topic of FOOD.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Spin Cycle, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Now We’re Cooking!

  1. terrepruitt says:

    I bet you cook wonderfully. You just might think you don’t because you are in hubby’s shadow, but as you said he went to school to learn how to cook.

    I like to cook. I don’t do anything fancy or experiement because unlike your hubby, I cannot throw food out. So I don’t experiement because I don’t want to feel the need to throw food out. Ekkkk!

    I cook stuff I know we will like.

    I have been lucky the last two nights my hubby cooked for us. “Taco salad” which is REALLY just salad with “taco” meat and chips in it. When I told someone what we put in our Taco salad they laughed saying, “Broccoli in taco salad? Green peppers? Pickles?” So it is not really a TACO salad. And tonight the best grilled pork . . . . . oooooooooo. Yum.

    I don’t think it is horrible to admit that you like it when you find something you can cook that my kids like more than the way your husband cooks it. It is a nice feeling to cook something well and to have people like it.

    Keep on cookin’! 🙂

  2. SuziCate says:

    You make awesom ziti and hully gully…you’re a great cook!

  3. BankerChick says:

    I have stopped cooking and baking the past few years, but Mr Bankerchick did not really learn to cook in the interim. We kind of foraged for ourselves. I told him I would teach him how to cook as I take up the cooking pan again. I had to lookup Charlie Bread, I have made it before we just didn’t call it Charlie Bread…yum. One time my dad decided to ‘perfect’ chicken and dumplings and I can’t eat them still. My father in law made the best fried chicken and no one in the family has perfected that yet and since we don’t do alot of fried, we aren’t likely to do that.

  4. Ron says:

    ” I love food. I love to eat food. I love to smell food. I love to taste food. I DON’T necessarily love to COOK food.”

    You took the words right out of my mouth, Peg!

    LOVE food, but don’t like to cook. And that’s horrible, considering I’m Italian and most Italian’s LOVE to cook. Both my father and brother were/are wonderful cooks. In fact, my brother is a chief. Somehow I was void the ‘cooking gene’ HA!

    Hey, those squash patties sound yummy. I love squash!

    Have a super Sunday, dear friend!

    X

  5. I am so glad I’ve already eaten dinner because, I am already envisioning squash patties, yum! You’re linked!

  6. Michele says:

    Must have the squash patties recipe. I make them but I don’t double fry them. So, now I need your mom’s recipe.

    Can I come to your house for dinner…or lunch…or breakfast?

  7. Jan says:

    One more request for the squash patties…did you say Friday? OH, GOOD. 🙂

  8. Great post, Peg ^_^. I can’t believe your hubby made chocolate pies and then threw them out – he could have given them to the neighbors!!! But I guess he’s a true perfectionist :P.

    I also think that you shouldn’t diss your own cooking. It maybe different than the chef’s, but if you find joy in cooking, you should do it whether or not he makes things “better” than you do! Different doesn’t always mean better!

  9. Patty says:

    MMmmmm…your spin totally made me hungry!

  10. Even though it’s so early, you’ve got me drooling incessantly! 🙂 I agree – your hubby should let you ‘have’ your moment to shine on the things you cook that the kids like better – it’s only fair! 😉 And I’m looking forward to your Squash Patty recipe! 🙂

    Spin: Cooking Passion Started at a Very Early Age

  11. VandyJ says:

    I’ve come to loving cooking, but it has been a process. I can do really well with a recipe guide. My hubby on the other hand can just throw stuff together and make magic in the kitchen. Good thing for me he doesn’t cook often, so there is no competition at all between us.

    • pegbur7 says:

      My hubby is the same way. He can throw stuff together that tastes unbelievable. I throw stuff together and it TASTES like someone threw it together an dit LOOKS like someone threw UP! 😦

  12. CaJoh says:

    I sometimes wish I could take a culinary class. There is so much that I don’t know about cooking.

Leave a Reply

