Home Grown

Last week when I was in Virginia my mom and dad gave me two big bags of squash from their garden.  I finally cooked them today and made hubby so happy.  Even #3 said she couldn’t wait to eat some of them.  I cooked them like my mom does (except not until they are brown) with lots of onions and butter.  They were delicious if I do say so myself.  They also gave me some cucumbers that I sliced up.  I love summer not for the heat but for the fresh vegetables they provide.

I guess this is as good a time as any to give you an update on our little “garden”.  I keep meaning to re-pot the tomatoes and peppers but haven’t gotten around to it yet.  The tomato plants have grown but I think they need to be separated.  They haven’t produced any “fruitage” yet but
the cherry tomato plant has yielded one ripe tomato and I still have two green ones on the vine.

The pepper plants for some reason, we woke up the other morning and most of the leaves were down in the dirt.  I don’t know if they got blown off by the wind or some animal pulled them off or what.  They have flowered but we haven’t gotten any peppers yet except from the jalapeno plants.
We’ve pulled one off and have three more growing.

The spices weren’t doing too well at first but they have started growing a lot lately.  The cat nip had actually all been pulled out of the dirt by the cats and I just pushed them back in the dirt as best I could with my fingers and now it’s grown a lot.  I really expected to see it dead in the pot
when I got back from Virginia but it’s actually grown some.

The cucumber and squash plants we did transplant.  We made a little “bed” at the top of the hill at the edge of the yard and transplanted them up there.  One of the cucumber plants died but we do have a small cucumber growing on one of the other plants.  We have blooms on the cantelope
plant but no melons growing yet.  The yellow squash has been blooming and we have “harvested” one crook neck squash and yesterday I pulled a zucchini off one of those plants.  They are blooming too.

I feel like “Farmer Brown” checking on my little guys out there.  Our hoses and stuff haven’t been cooperating.  We bought a new garden hose and multi function attachment which broke after about a week.  We took it back and now the hose broke!  I guess I need to take that back now.  I can’t wait til I can actually eat a cantelope from my own little garden.

My tiny little cucumber

Our jalapeno

My cherry tomatoes

my spices

My squash

My zucchini

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Home Grown

  1. SuziCate says:

    See, all those years working in the garden as kids paid off for you! My thumb is still black!

  2. Ron says:

    “They also gave me some cucumbers that I sliced up.”

    OMG….I ADORE cucumbers! In fact, that’s one of the things I enjoy about summer, eating cucumbers. I just recent purchased the small Perisan cucumbers and LOVE them. Perfect size to throw in a salad!

    WOW….your garden looks faaaaaabulous, Peg! I so wish I had a green thumb.

    Hey, do you think you could email me one of those cucumbers?

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

    Have supa’ day, dear friend!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      That’s the funny thing Ron! Usually everything I touch dies! I have been pleasantly surprised so far. Although I went out this morning and something had torn all my little cherry tomatoes off the vine and they were laying on the ground beside the plant! Didn’t eat them, just tore them off… go figure. I did pick my cucumber this morning and noticed I have another one growing! I am so excited about it.

  3. I would love to start my own garden, but it would need to be somewhere untouched by our dogs. If Harry can lift his leg against it, I won’t eat it.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Our daughter’s dog only goes out on a leash and doesn’t go near the garden enough and h’es not tall enough to tinkle on them either! I don’t blame you though… that kinda makes me leery,…. I wonder where the cats have been?

  4. Lisa says:

    Our garden is struggling…first with the rain and now with the heat! Oh yeah, and the deer discovered our corn. 😦

    • pegbur7 says:

      Ours sturggled at first with the drought and then the rain (too much too soon) and now the heat again. It’s been above 95 I think for weeks now!

  5. terrepruitt says:

    We have squirrels that eat anything in our yard. 🙂 Have you seen them?

    Yay for you. I love homegrown fruits and veggies!

Leave a Reply

