Puckett’s Part Two

While we were in Nashville this last time we did a lot of eating.  Eating out, eating in… just eating.  We went to several restaurants.  Either ones that
hubby wanted to go to because I’d been there and he hadn’t or ones he’d been to and wanted to go again or ones our daughter wanted us to try.

Here’s our rundown of our latest noshing in Nashville. The night that we got there we decided to go to Pucketts Grocery andRestaurant.  Pucketts (http://www.puckettsgrocery.com/) has three locations; Franklin, Leiper’s Fork, and Nashville.  I believe the one in Leiper’s Fork was the original and actually started as a grocery store and kind of morphed into a restaurant and grocery store. The one in Nashville does have actual “grocery items” for sale.  I asked the hostess if they were for decoration or sale and she said everything was for sale, so…   I believe they all have live music every night.  I know the one in Nashville does.

We were even entertained by the bank members butt crack!

We went to the one in Nashville which is located at the corner of 5th and Church in downtown.  They have $2 off appetizers every day from 3 – 6 p.m.  They also have 2 for 1 wine by the glass and draft beer during the same time frame.  #1 and I both got a glass of wine which was pretty decent.  We got there around 7 so we missed out on the special but I highly recommend the fried green beans, which we had.  They come with two different dipping sauces.  We all shared them and had more than enough for the four of us.

I had to laugh at hubby because here he was chomping at the bit to go to Pucketts.  I had raved about the shrimp and grits I had there last time.  So guess what he orders?  A BALONEY SANDWICH!  I kid you not.  I couldn’t believe it. I was like “Couldn’t you eat that at HOME?”  Of course we
never buy bologna so I guess not. Of course it wasn’t like what you’d consider a “normal” bologna sandwich either.  The firggin’ thing was the size of a steak!  It was probably at least an inch thick and hung over the sides of the bread.  Plus they smoked it with all their barbeque and I think it had sauce on it. He was in hog heaven!  Sorry, couldn’t resist that.

Inside Puckett's

Their portions are HUGE so #1 and I split the chicken fried chicken plate. They bring you two huge pieces of chicken breasts and you get two sides.  I gave both hubby and SIL part of mine and still couldn’t finish it all.  I think as a side we had roasted veggies and potatoes?  Or maybe it was squash casserole?  I know it WASN’T fried green tomatoes because she said they got those last time and they didn’t like them.  I really can’t remember, isn’t that terrible?  We ate out so much I can’t remember what my sides were!

I do know I like the little flapjack cornmeal things they give you instead of bread!  I don’t know what they are called but I know they are good.  The meal wasn’t that expensive and the food was great.  I highly recommend Puckett’s.   We were too full to eat dessert but on the way home we were treated to a beautiful sunset.

The beginning of the beautiful sunset

And it just kept getting prettier

and prettier...isn't that stunning?

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Restaurants & Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Puckett’s Part Two

  1. Ron says:

    I don’t know whether I ever told you before, but my brother visited Nashville one summer and had the time of his life. He said the people were awesome. And so was the food.

    Gorgeous shots of the sunset, Peg!

    Yes….STUNNING!

    Hope you’re having a great time in Virginia!

    X

Leave a Reply

