Champagne Wishes

Wishes

Star light, star bright, first star I see tonight. Wish I may, wish I might, have this wish I wish tonight. When I was a little girl I used to lay out under the blanket of stars and make all kinds of wishes. I’d be like Jiminy Cricket wishing upon those stars!  I wished our family had more material possessions (which is probably a good thing we didn’t), I wished for a White Knight on a beautiful horse to come whisk me away, I wished to be older, younger, prettier, smarter, taller, thinner (some things never change), richer, more popular, more athletic, less awkward and clumsy. And every time I didn’t get one of my wishes I would think maybe I wished on the wrong star? Did I maybe not wish hard enough? Do wishes ever come true?

Then as an adult Garth Brooks came out with that song Unanswered Prayers and it finally all began to sink in and fall into place. Maybe all those things I wished for weren’t really meant to be. Maybe I was wishing for the wrong things? Maybe there was someone or something in the universe with other plans for me than the selfish ones I was wishing for. Maybe now I’m GLAD I didn’t get a lot of those things I wished for back then.

There’s nothing wrong with wishful thinking or as Robin Leach so lyrically used to sign off from Lifestyles of The Rich and Famous “Champagne Wishes and Caviar Dreams”. But sometimes we have to come back down to earth. I also as a child, used to dramatically cross my arms and nod my head thinking things would magically appear that I had been wishing for… like I Dream of Jeannie. Never happened. I still do that occasionally but usually only in a very sarcastic sense. I’d also twinkly my nose ala Samantha on Bewitched and that never worked either. Every time I’d read a story about a Genie in a bottle I’d think… “Oh, I wish I had a magic genie that could grant me wishes!” Then as I’ve gotten older I realize that it’s okay to wish for things but we shouldn’t live our lives based upon a wish.

My dad (I think it was my dad… maybe it was one of my uncles) used to say “Wish in one hand and crap in the other and see which one fills up faster.” And of course they weren’t so sweet as to use the word crap. I didn’t get that at first. I get it now. Something you have tangibly is gonna happen a lot quicker than wishing for something to happen. I liken it to the bible verse at James 2:26. I know there are many people who have many different interpretations of the bible but this states that “Faith without works is dead.” I kind of liken that to wishes in that you can wish for things all you want but unless you’re willing to do something about it to achieve whatever it is that you want, than you might as well quit wishing!

Then there’s the other side of the coin… what if you DID get everything you wished for? What then? Have you ever really gotten mad at someone one and just for a split second thought “I HATE you… I wish you were dead!” What if your wishes instantly came true? That wouldn’t be a good thing. And not so dramatic as that but what if you could have everything you wished for, would you be bored or dissatisfied with what you have because you KNEW you could have whatever you wanted? Would life somewhat lose its meaning if you had nothing to strive for or look forward to or wish for? Would you become disenchanted and stop setting any kind of goal if you knew all you had to do was wish for it?

That’s not to say I don’t still throw a penny in a wishing well or fountain as I go by and make a wish. Or if I happen to glance up at the clock and see it’s 11:11 that I don’t quickly make a silent (and sometimes silly) wish. Or that if I spill salt I don’t gather it up and throw it over my left shoulder and make a wish. Or blow the seedlings off a dry dandelion and make a wish. Or pull a wishbone and make a wish. You get the picture?

At the wishing well circa 1987

There are many things I still wish for. I guess wishing is sort of like goal setting for me. I wish I was younger (ain’t gonna happen). I wish I had a better education (I could still do something about that but it work require me to WORK at it). I wish I was smarter (I can also do something about that). I wish I was thinner (hmmmnnnn….. let’s skip that one for now). I wish we had more money in our retirement (we’re working on that). I wish I didn’t have to worry about bills every month (gives us something to work for, huh?) I wish we weren’t upside down in our house note now that the economy has tanked and gone south (I guess we in the same boat with millions of Americans there, at least we still HAVE our house). I wish I were happier with myself (I’m working on that too). I wish I could take a real extended vacation to some exotic locale (maybe someday).

I think it’s healthy to have goals (wishes) as long as we don’t stack all our hopes and dreams on them. That way if it doesn’t materialize we won’t be devastated. What are your wishes? Spin it up and come on over and link up at the Spin Cycle! Here’s wishing your reasonable wishes do come true!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Spin Cycle and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Champagne Wishes

  1. I really enjoyed reading that. Your posts are so easy and enticing. I will most definitely be popping by again. 🙂 x

  2. I think I like the fact that my wishes are pretty flightly. I don’t wish to actually change anything in my life because I feel we’ve worked hard to be where we are and if we want something else, we’ll just work towards that goal. I like the way your dad thinks, it’s completely true. You’re linked!

  3. Patty says:

    My dad says the exact same thing! I guess there is some truth to it, though it always annoyed me when he said it.

    Great spin!

  4. Ron says:

    Faaaaaaaaaabulous post, Peg!

    “I also as a child, used to dramatically cross my arms and nod my head thinking things would magically appear that I had been wishing for… like I Dream of Jeannie.”

    Meeeeee too!

    I love what your father said…..

    “Wish in one hand and crap in the other and see which one fills up faster.”

    That is soooooooo true!

    I sometimes have wishes too, but I’m at a point where I’m allowing my life to simply give me the things that are necessary for me to grow. When I was younger, I was always wishing for things because I thought they would make me happier. Now, it’s more about accepting what is present, then allowing my journey to give me things when it’s time.

    Right now, it’s all about being happy with what I have.

    Have a grrrreat weekend, dear friend!

    X

  5. Bankerchick says:

    My Grandson makes any fountain he sees a wishing well. So we get out our pennies and he gets to throw them in…mo money gramma….toss..mo money gramma…toss. He is 2 1/2 and wishes are simple…more pennies to throw into the well.

  6. CaJoh says:

    I agree with your having to do something to get what you wished for. Kind of reminds me of the line from the Rolling Stones: You can’t always get what you want… but if you try sometimes, you find, you get what you need.

  7. Gretchen says:

    I like thinking of wishes as goals. Much healthier! And I love the picture! Gorgeous.

  8. terrepruitt says:

    I wish I had a part time job that worked with my teaching Nia, but allowed me to help with the bills. But I am not only wishing for that I am working on it.

    For me when I find myself “wishing” for something, I stop to think, “Is this a wish, like wishing I could fly . . . . silly and fanciful. Or is this a dream, a goal, something I can actually work at?” Then I go from there.

    I agree with you, at least I think I do, wishing is fine and fun, but it shouldn’t rule your life and dictate your actions. When you can make a “wish” that is really a goal and you can make it come true then work on it.

  9. Kate says:

    My favorite saying is “luck” is when preparation and opportunity meet. I feel this is the same with a wish/goal.

Leave a Reply

