Runaway Bride?

Poetry

This week I chose for Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop prompt #2.) Write a poem inspired by a picture you took last
week. Share both!

Of course I can’t just share ONE picture.  This poem needs a couple…. I give you Runaway Bride

Just starting to sprinkle as the wedding was supposed to start

A gathering of loved ones, ofrelatives and friends

A setting so beautiful, so natural unbends

An outward symbol of your dedication and love

When the skies opened up and  rains fell from above

And then the monsoon began

The runaway bride had nothing on  you

As you sprinted up the aisle and  the bridesmaid blew out her shoe

The wedding arch blew over and  the guests did run

Where did they all go?  Where was the sun?

Bridesmaids a little worse for the wear (#2 is in the middle)

The heck with the outdoors, it  was left in the lurch

As you lifted up your veil and  ran for the church

The wedding party followed in hot  pursuit

We got to see you get married and  entertainment to boot!

Poor Kelly waiting to walk down the aisle with her dads

The rains, they did fall and the guests did get wet

But you got a wedding you will  never forget

The rain did stop and our clothes  did dry

And the water now falling was the  joy from our eyes

Kelly and Greg

Congrats Kelly and Greg!

But afterwards it was beautiful!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Runaway Bride?

  1. Jessica says:

    I love this line: And the water now falling was the joy from our eyes.

    That definitely sounds like a wedding one will never forget!

  2. Ron says:

    Great photos! Great poem, Peg!

    “As you sprinted up the aisle and the bridesmaid blew out her shoe.”

    Hahahahahahahahhahah! “blew out her shoe” Love it!

    “The rain did stop and our clothes did dry

    And the water now falling was the joy from our eyes.”

    Aw…..how sweet.

    It’s funny, because I can go to anyone’s wedding (whether I know them well or not) and CRY. There is something so very emotion and touching to me about the union of love!

    Happy Thursday, dear friend….X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Ron, hubby is the same way. He cries as soon as he sees the bride! He wasn’t there with me though for this one. It was a really great wedding.

  3. First, thanks for taking the time to stop by My 3 Little Birds and leave a comment : ) This poem made me think about my wedding day. It was at the end of April and it rained all day, then the temperature dropped and the rain turned to sleet! It was awful. But we still managed to have a great time.

    • pegbur7 says:

      My oldest daughter got married outside about 3 years ago and it rained and stormed and about 20 minutes before the ceremony all the power went out in the downtown area. Thankfully our friend at the wedding worked for the power company and he called in a favor and it came back on right before the ceremony. And it stopped raining long enough for the ceremony so it was beautiful!

  4. My neighbor got married several weeks ago and it was supposed to be an outdoor wedding. I think the 45 mph winds that day discouraged that idea! It was moved inside. Rain on your wedding day is supposed to be good luck. Sure! That’s it!

  5. What a great job you did! I felt like I was dodging rain drops as I read!
    Just popped in from Mama Kat!
    Chris

  6. Hey, didn’t they say rain on your wedding day was a good thing? 🙂

  7. Spot says:

    The poem was sweet! Isn’t rain on your wedding day supposed to be good luck? It snowed on ours.

    ♥Spot

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks! I have heard it’s supposed to be but I’ve also heard that raining at your funeral is supposed to be a good sign but I’m still trying to figure out how good it can be if you’re dead? Know what I mean?

  8. snipewife says:

    Rain on your wedding day is supposed to be a good thing for the marriage. Because I got married on a blizzard I’m hoping frozen precipitation is just as lucky. Stopping by from Mama Kat’s…

Leave a Reply

