Isle of Hope

Last week while we were eating at Sandfly Barbeque hubby of course called the owner over and we talked to her at length.  I asked about the Forrest Gump museum and she informed us she didn’t know about any museum but that you couldn’t really get down to the house where it was actually filmed because it is a private residence.

She did however tell us if we had time that it would behoove us to drive down to the marina at the Isle of Hope and then drive the length of it and turn around and drive back.  She pointed us in the general direction and told us we couldn’t miss it.  She also informed us that was where all Savannah’s doctors and lawyers lived (along with old money, I am assuming).

She was correct. It was lovely and I’m glad we took the time to drive down there.  There were lots of old BIG plantation type houses built on an inlet.  Each had their own private piers across the road from their houses.  Some were in better repair than others.  Some were supplied with boats, some with yachts, some with naught.

I couldn’t imagine waking up each morning and looking out my front door and window at that view!   With my love of the water, I wouldn’t mind
trying!  It was just beautiful with all the old trees and Spanish moss water lapping at the shore.  I could just imagine sitting out there in the
evening with a glass of wine or a might margarita and a book.  I could actually see myself taking a cot down there and sleeping in one of those little boat house/gazebo thingees.  The sound of the water I think would lull me to sleep.  Although the fear of snakes an alligators might prohibit me  unless I’d had a LOT of that wine or margarita and then I wouldn’t care if I got eaten!

I’m gonna post these pics in no particular order and I have no clue who owns any of the houses or what dock/pier goes to what house.  I just think it’s all gorgeous.  Enjoy the visual vacation!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Isle of Hope

  1. terrepruitt says:

    You are right it is gorgeous.

    I could get used to that view! And for me I would be looking at it through a window because although I love the LOOK, I do not like the Georgia heat and humidity.

    Thank you so much for sharing such beautiful views!

  2. SuziCate says:

    Beautiful, love that spanish moss hanging over the water and piers!

  3. Ron says:

    Faaaaaaaaaaabulous pictorial tour of Savannah, Peg!

    These homes are stunning! Both grand and warm!

    Seeing all that beautiful spanish moss made me think of my time in Florida!

    Great post, my friend!

    Have a wonderful Monday…..X

  4. Stunning area, Peg. I would love to see it, but the heat and humidity would do me in. Plus, I can feel the mosquito bites just looking at the water!

  5. Lisa says:

    Lovely homes oozing with Southern charm. I guess one would get used to the humidity if they lived there year round, but it can sure get steamy. I’ve always loved the idea of living in the South…maybe someday.

  6. Bankerchick says:

    I am not sure I could live in the South again. Florida was just too much for a California gal. Heat and humidity, ugh!

  7. I love looking at houses like these. I have a dream of living in one of these one day and actually appreciating it – I know that a lot of people who own houses don’t appreciate them for being so incredible and take them for granted, and I don’t think I’d be able to do that, having lived in apartments all my life.

Leave a Reply

