Why, YES… I AM Awesome!

Today is a very momentous day for me.  First today is #3’s birthday.  She is 20 years old!  I no longer have any teenagers!  I feel old!  Happy Birthday Baby Boo!

It seems like just yesterday when she was this little baby!

But no longer being a teen doesn't mean she can't act like a kid!

 

 

Secondly, today just happens to be my 500th post!  WOO HOO!  I had no clue when I started this almost a year and a half ago that I’d still be doing this. Although probably the only one who has read it from the beginning is probably my sister (besides my husband and kids). I’d  like to take this time to thank everyone who has been reading my blog and supporting me in this endeavor.   So to celebrate that I am going to combine my thanks with an acceptance speech of sorts!  I was blessed to be awarded an awesome award a few weeks ago from Lisa at Peripheral Perceptions : http://www.peripheralperceptions.org/.   No, seriously, it is an AWESOME award. In fact, it’s SO awesome it’s called The Awesome Award!  Woohoo!  I am honored that you thought of me Lisa and I think you are JUST as awesome.  I’m not sure what the criteria was for accepting or passing this award on so at the end of this post I am just  going to direct you to some of my favorite bloggers (also as a thank you for standing by me).

I was also tagged twice in the same week by two awesome bloggers.  First by Princess Spot from over at What Passes for Sane on a Crazy Day and then later from Heather over at Welch Happenings.  Heather had also been tagged by Spot!  Their tagging entailed answering a couple of questions and tagging others.  I will answer the questions to the best of my ability and then I’m going to do like Heather and instead of tagging anyone to participate I’m just going to direct you to some of my favorite blogs.  When you get a chance go and check them out.   Some of them have more than one blog and they are all worth checking out!

Now for the QUESTIONS!

If you could go back in time and relive one moment, what would it be?  I think it would be when I got married.  We do plan to sort of relive it this winter when we plan to renew our vows but to actually relive that moment, when we were both so young and innocent and not
nearly as jaded as we are in our “old age” would be awesome.  I would like to relive it just for the fact that I didn’t take the time to really enjoy the moment as I should have.  I took it for granted and I wish I hadn’t.  It was simple and beautiful and I wish I had just enjoyed it more.

If you could go back in time and change one thing, what would it be?  I’m going to go out and join the party and say that I wouldn’t change anything either.  I’m in the same boat with Spot and Heather in feeling that everything that I have gone through in my life, good or bad, has led me to this exact spot where I am right now and altering any single thing would have set my whole life on a different course.  I’m not so sure that it might not have been worse or better than it is now but I am certainly happy so I wouldn’t change a thing.  I often think maybe I would have saved more or gone to school or planned better for our future but all those struggles and all those things that happened, happened for a reason and altering any one of them means I would not be the person I am today and believe it or not?  I LIKE me!  I wouldn’t change places with anyone.

What movie/TV character do you most resemble in personality?  As weird this combination sounds, I think if you combine Olivia Walton on the Waltons, Roseanne Barr on Roseanne, and Patricia Heaton’s character “Frankie” on The Middle, that would be me.  I think that I have a  warped sense of humor like Roseanne at times, I love my kids and am fiercely protective of them like Olivia Walton (Plus they are from my
hometown and I AM a country girl) And for some odd reason, I can just see myself in Frankie.  Hubby and I often look at each other when we are watching that show and say “Does this show for some odd reason remind you of us?”  Yeah, I am a weird concoction to say the least.

If you could push one person off a cliff and get away with it, who would it be?  Again, to join the crowd… no one.  I’ve often fantasized about what I would love to do to “the man I wish I’d never met”, but, I wouldn’t even do that to him.  As much as I have hated him and what he did to me in the past, what he did to me, in a way, made me who I am today.  And even if I could “get away with it”, I’d never really because I could never live with myself knowing I had purposely taken another person’s life.  It’s one thing if you happen to accidently cause someone’s death but to purposely end someone’s life and to do it with malice aforethought is not my style.  I would not want something like that on my conscience.

Name one habit you want to change in yourself.  As much as I hate it about myself, I still tend to make snap judgements about people sometimes based on sometimes unreliable first impressions.  I am working hard to change that.  I have found many times I have thought one thing about a person based on a short initial contact, and disliked said person because of it, only to find out later, after getting to know them, that they are not like that at all.  Yes, I am human and my first impression is not always correct.  Forgive me while I work out the kinks!

Describe yourself in one word.   I would hope that one word would be REAL.  I try hard to be true to myself and be the kind of person that my kids can be proud of. I try not to pretend to be someone I am not.  I am who I am and if people don’t like me or don’t accept me for who I am… well, sorry.  That’s just me.  There are many other words I hope to be known as but I think real describes me “real good”.  Sorry, that Walton’s Mountain has
to come out sometimes!

Describe the person who named you in this meme in one word.  Sweet!  I have never met any of the three ladies I mentioned above in person but from reading their blogs they all seem sweet.  I know they also seem kind and they are all very talented.  I hope to one day meet each of them in person to verify that sweet part about them all.

Why do you blog? (In one sentence):  To provide a written history of our crazy family and all our shenanigans for my children and hopefully future generations.

And the people I’m blog tagging are:  As I mentioned at the beginning, I am not “tagging” anyone in the sense that they are obligated or commanded to “play along”.  If they want to answer the questions it would be great but if they don’t that’s all good too.  Either way, I just wanted to give a shout out to all the following bloggers because I think they are all AWESOME!  Please visit them too (if you don’t already) because I really think you will like them.

Lisa from Peripheral Perceptions (www.peripheralperceptions.org)

Princess Spot from What Passes For Sane on a Crazy Day (http://networkedblogs.com/ij4ZD)

Heather from Welch Happenings (http://www.welchhappenings.blogspot.com)

SuziCate from The Water Witch’s Daughter (http://suzicate.wordpress.com)

Ron from Vent (http://triloquist.blogspot.com)

Angelia from Living, Loving, Laughing (http://youthinkyoucanblog.wordpress.com)

Linda from The Good, The Bad, The Worse (http://thegoodthebadtheworse.blogspot.com)

Jen from Sprite’s Keeper (http://www.spriteskeeper.com/my_weblog)

Fred from The Fred Effect (http://thefredeffect.com)

Dan from Single Dad Laughing (www.danoah.com)

Jimmy from Jimmy’s Opinion (http://jimmysopinion.blogspot.com)

Terre from Terre Pruitt’s Blog (http://terrepruitt.com)

Thank you all for being such awesome bloggers and putting up with me too. I so enjoy reading each of you even if I don’t get by every day, I do read you faithfully!  For those of you who DON’T read these awesome bloggers…. You don’t know what you’re missing!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Why, YES… I AM Awesome!

  1. Angelia Sims says:

    So, if I’ve read them all (well….maybe missed a few), I’ve read 500 posts? WoooW!!

    You are Awesome! Thank-you for writing and keeping us entertained and being the incredible person you are.

    Happy Birthday to number 3!

  2. Happy birthday to your daughter, Peg :D.

    And I loved the answers to your questions. You are an awesome blogger, and I’m so glad you’ve reached your 500th post and are going to continue onward! I enjoy reading your stuff a lot, since your family is so different from mine in so many ways, but so great. You also have a great knack for telling your anecdotes in a way that’s both funny and heartwarming, and I enjoy them a lot.

  3. Spot says:

    Happy Birthday #3!!

    Thanks for all the kind words Peg! I’ve read your blog from the beginning (the guest post on Suzicate’s blog) and am a true fan. I also know personally that you are way sweeter with a husband who’s also a sweetie. I will never forget the support and comfort you offered to our family last year.

    Congrats on your 500th post- you ARE truly awesome!
    ♥Spot

  4. Ron says:

    First of all, HAPPY BIRTHDAY to you daughter Peg! She’s BEAUTIFUL!

    Second, CONGRATS on your 500th post! Woot! Woot! You GO, girl!

    Third, CONGRATS on receiveing this award, because you deserve it – you’re AWESOME!!!!

    Loved all your answers to these guestions. I would have to say exactly the same for your answer on #2!

    Thank you for the shout out, dear friend!

    ((((( Peg )))))

    Happy Memorial Day to you and your family!

    X

  5. Great answers Peg, and thanks for the shout out! And Happy Birthday to your gorgeous daughter! And 500 posts! Wow, you go girl!!!

  6. terrepruitt says:

    Wow! Twenty. Wow. Happy birthday to #3.

    And congrats on 500. WOW! That is awesome. A true accomplishment!

    I think some of those questions were tough. 🙂

    Thank you so much for the shout out. I am very happy, very honored, and oh-so humbled. Thank you.

  7. SuziCate says:

    500 posts…wow…congrats! And yes you are awesome. thank you.

  8. LisaF says:

    Congrats on a milestone birthday AND on a milestone post! My baby turned 23 last December and I still can’t believe it. And a big THANK YOU for the shout out. 🙂 You are so very kind.

  9. LisaF says:

    Oh, and BTW, there wasn’t any requirements for the Awesome Blogger pupper I gave you. Completely string-free…just because. 🙂

Leave a Reply

