Spin a Reunion

Reunion

I’ve been thinking about reunions and how to spin this subject for the resurrection of The Spin Cycle.  And before I forget, Jen, THANK YOU so much
for bringing back the Spin Cycle.  My Fridays haven’t quite seemed the same since you abandoned us!

I thought about writing about how I’m trying to organize our 35th high school reunion for the fall. Yes, I said 35!  I know how old I am!  I keep thinking about all the people who will be missing from this next reunion.

I started to write about how some of my girl friends and I have been planning to have a girls weekend out and how we
can never quite seem to get it together.  It’s always a lack of time or a lack of money or both.  Maybe one day.

But I kept coming back to families and reunions.  How hard it is to get all of us together.  I’m not even talking about the aunts and uncles and cousins… I’m just talking immediate family.  How 3 years ago we had a family reunion over the Fourth of July weekend the month before my oldest daughter got married and how despite all our planning we still had one sibling missing so our family portraits weren’t complete.

I kept coming back to my mom and dad’s 60th anniversary party last summer and how thankful I am that ALL six of us got to be there together.  Yes,
the first time all the siblings were together in years for a family portrait.  And how bittersweet it is now since we will never again have all six of us together again.  Little did we know then how short the time we had left all together.  Little did we know that less than a year later our dear sweet brother, Monte, would be diagnosed with cancer and then less than 2 months later lose that horrible battle.

Looking back, I wish I had spent less time in the kitchen and more time actually talking with my siblings and other relatives.  But I am so thankful that
because of circumstances (no job) I was able to spend the majority of my brother’s last couple of months helping out him and his family.  I was able to spend some quality time with him, some of that time, even though in silence, I was able to just sit there with him, maybe holding his hand, maybe just enjoying the sun or the river together.  I felt so privileged to spend that time with him.

Me, Monte and his grandaughter Faith

I am so thankful that we were able to have my wonderful and talented friend from high school, Margie from Hatcher Portrait Design come to my parent’s anniversary party (even though it was her own anniversary) and capture the day in photographs and so thankful that we have our final family portrait to cherish.

Our whole family laast August.
All six siblings for the last time together.

I am looking forward to July 2 when we are planning on having a celebration of my brother’s life.  The remaining siblings along with our parents and various other members of our family and friends plan to gather and share food and memories in his honor.  No family gathering will ever be the same.  Not just because he won’t be there because I’m sure in the past there might have been others that he wasn’t at but, THIS one and all subsequent ones I know he CAN’T be at and that is a HUGE difference.  I miss my brother tremendously and cherish in memory the times we got to spend together.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Spin Cycle and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Spin a Reunion

  1. SuziCate says:

    You know it’s way too early in the morning to make me cry, but you did it anyway. Love you!

  2. So sweet, it’s wonderful that you were able to get a portrait of everyone together. (But can someone tell me why men never smile in pictures? I am constantly complaining at John for not engaging his facial muscles when it’s most necessary.)
    You’re linked!

  3. What a lovely picture of all of you… And I think a celebration of your brother’s life will be beautiful – I hope you guys really get to do it.

  4. CaJoh says:

    Thank you for sharing this. So often we forget how fleeting life can be. Just reminds me to relish any time I have with my family any time that I can.

    Great Spin!

  5. Krystal says:

    Wow… beautiful and warm – hopefully you get to accomplish it because it will be so wonderful, I can only imagine – and yeah, thanks for starting the water works…

  6. Ron says:

    Beautiful reunion post, Peg.

    And like Suzi shared….it brought tears to my eyes.

    Your July 3rd family reunion celebration sounds wonderful.

    Love all your photos. Especially the one of you and your brother.

    (((( Peg ))))

    Have a wonderful holiday weekend, dear friend!

    X

  7. NikNik says:

    That just got me all teary eyed at work! Love you mama!

  8. I’m so sorry for the loss of your brother – you are so right that we need to cherish all of our moments together, because you just never know. I’m so glad all the kids were able to be there for your parents anniversary – and that family portrait? Perfection. And now I have to go wipe the tears from my eyes… 🙂 ((HUGZ!!))

    SC: Reunions – Love ’em or Hate ’em?

  9. Kate says:

    Photographs last forever, they’re great treasures. You’ll have these for years to come!

  10. Ellie Belen says:

    I cherish every family get-together we have, because the five of us are all one year apart. So to say we are close would be an understatement. When one doesn’t make it with his/her family, we still have lots of fun, but it always feels like a piece of our family puzzle is missing. It never feels complete. I’m glad you were able to be together once more for that beautiful family picture.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks so much. I know it will never be the same. It will always feel incomplete. I will cherish any remaining ones we are able to have.

Leave a Reply

