Pin That Tail

Trouble

I was five years old when my babysister, SuziCate (The Water Witchs‘ Daughter), was born.  I remember being so excited when my mom was
going to the hospital to have her and I made sure my mom and dad knew that theybetter bring me home a babysister.  I told them if they didn’t get a
 baby sister that I would accept a monkey as a substitute.  Who woulda ever thunk that I’d get both?  Sorry, Suzi, you know I couldn’t resist that!

I thought she was the most beautiful and perfect baby sister ever created (still do!) and would spend as much time as I could watching her and just trying to be near her.  Right after she was born our mother was hospitalized due to some complications from surgery right after her birth and
 almost died.  I’m not sure how long she was in the hospital but it seemed like forever to my five year old self.  During the time she was hospitalized we (all six kids) stayed with my aunt who had four kids of her own, including one that was only about 3 or 4 months old.

When my mom was finally back home and we were back home and all my older brothers and sisters had gone back to school from summer vacation I spent my time trying to stay out of trouble and out of  the way.  I tried my darndest to be the best little “Mommy’s Helper” EVER.  I was so glad for her to be home that I couldn’t stand the thought of her being “sick” again and having to go back to the hospital.

I’m not sure how much time had passed but I’m pretty sure my sister was only a few months old and it must not have been the dead of winter yet because I remember that my parents were outside in the driveway talking to someone near my dad’s truck.  They didn’t have on jackets so it couldn’t
 have been too cold.  Everyone else was at school and I was alone in the house with SuziCate.  She had been asleep when my parents went outside and something awakened her (I was probably “looking” at her a little too loudly… with my hands…).  She started crying so I put my hand through the slats of the crib to try to comfort and quiet her but she wouldn’t stop crying.

I finally got the bright idea that she must need her diaper changed.  Mind you that this was WAY before disposable diapers.  It was the cloth diapers that had to be folded and had to be fastened with those HUGE pins.  I somehow got her out of the crib or maybe I got in the crib with her.  I’m not really sure about that part.  I do remember that I was trying my best to change her.  I managed to get the soiled diaper off of her and the clean one underneath and around her but somehow I couldn’t get the diaper fastened and she kept crying louder and louder and louder.

I was trying so hard to get the stupid diaper on her that I didn’t even notice my mom come in the room.  The next thing I know I’m getting yanked up
by the seat of my pants and spanked within an inch of my life!  I couldn’t figure out for the life of me why  was getting yelled at and spanked for trying to be a good helper to my mommy.  I was so confused and she kept yelling at me for trying to “hurt the baby”.  I couldn’t make her understand that I wasn’t hurting her, I was helping her.

I didn’t realize until years later that the reason she kept screaming worse and worse was because I was trying to pin the diaper to her… not around her.  No wonder I couldn’t get that diaper to stay on!  Maybe that was why my mom thought I was trying to stab her to death with a diaper pin!

Who could ever want to hurt this little cutie?

SuziCate as a baby.

Poor SuziCate!  I guess she still loves me despite my murderous rampage.   Death by diaper change.  That’s a new one for the books.

This post has been in response to Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop and prompt #1) Write about a time you got in BIG trouble as a kid.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop, Tales from my youth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Pin That Tail

  1. Melissa says:

    Oh my land! You were trying to be a good big sister and it turns out you were trying to stab her to death, haha. 😉 These things happen. I’m sure many other older siblings have been in trouble for the same thing.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Yes, my older sister got in trouble for trying to pick me up out of the crib and my mom thought she was trying to strangle me! Maybe our mom was just a tad dramatic? Thanks for stopping by!

  2. suzicate says:

    So that’s why all those scars came from! Mystery solved! You’ve always been a big helper, and I thank you. Love you bunches!

  3. Ron says:

    “I told them if they didn’t get a
    baby sister that I would accept a monkey as a substitute. Who woulda ever thunk that I’d get both? Sorry, Suzi, you know I couldn’t resist that!”

    HAHAHAHAHAAHAHA! OMG, how cute!!!!

    And I can tell just from reading this post, that you love Suzi dearly! How sweet that you tried to change her diaper!!!

    Reminds me of watching my mother changing my younger brothers diaper and checking with her index finger, that she didn’t accidentally stick him on his waist with the pin! OMG, do you remember REAL cloth diapers?? Now, we have Pampers!

    Fun post, Peg!

    X

    P.S. BTW, I’m really enjoying the book you gave me when you came to Philly, “Atlanta: Then and Now” – it’s wonderful!

  4. Aw, Peg, this is so adorable and sad at the same time :(. I think it’s so sweet that your little five year old self was trying to pin the diaper correctly and just didn’t know how!

  5. Spot says:

    Best. Story. Ever. Poor little you and poor little Suzicate.

    “Death by Diaper Pin” Bwahahaha. I love it!

    ♥Spot

  6. Paulette says:

    Yikes! All the way round, yikes! Hopefully, no one scarred for life by this adventure in being helpful.

Leave a Reply

