Home Grown

The other day, my friend, Ron, from over at Vent, posted about how he’s a plant killer.  I agreed because I always have said I have two brown thumbs.  This always kind of surprises me because we grew up helping out with my families gardens. 

Our nearest neighbors were my grandparents, who lived about a mile back “in the woods” from us and my aunt Jenny and her family who lived about a quarter mile away “as the crow flies”.  I remember when we were growing up always either being in the garden helping pick stuff or weed or plant stuff.

I also remember as a teen one of my least favorite things was having to “weed” our garden.  Once I even unearthed a snake who happened to be laying eggs.  Of course I didn’t realize she was laying eggs when I chopped her head off with the hoe because only her head was sticking out and I had reached down to pick up what I thought was a piece of hose sticking out of the ground when I saw her eyes.  It freaked me out so badly that I grabbed the hoe that was laying there and chopped before I had a chance to think.  Once I had done the deed I unearthed her to find the eggs and one was actually in the process of coming out of her.

I happened to be in the 10th grade which is when you took biology so I put the eggs and some of the dirt in a box and took them to Mr. White our teacher as a project so that he could try to “hatch” them.  He wasn’t able to hatch them but bringing them to him did earn me some brownie points with him even if the whole incident made my dad mad at me.  He wasn’t mad that I took the eggs to the biology teacher that actually made him a little less mad.  He was mad that I had killed the snake to begin with.  He gave me his usual lecture about how black snakes are the best snakes to have around because they keep other snakes and critters away from the garden and if I’d had any sense at all I’d have left it alone.  I had tried to explain that I didn’t know it was a black snake at the time and I had reacted on instinct which of course to him was bad instinct.

I think maybe my brown thumb started after that.  It must have been the trauma from that which caused any dirt I seem to touch to turn to the most inhospitable earth around.  I kill anything.  I try and I try but nothing seems to grow.  We tried to grow a garden a few years ago but not with much success.  We got a few veggies but nothing compared to what I should have.  The next year we halfheartedly planted a few things and got even less so we gave up.

This year when #2 came out for lunch on her birthday she brought us some little tomato plant seedlings that she had started.  It was maybe a dozen little seedlings to I decided why not?  I went to Home Depot to buy some potting soil and a pot to plant them in and ended up spending almost $100 on multiple bags of potting soil, planters and plants.  Last time we planted we planted at the top of the hill in our backyard and I figured maybe the dirt there just wasn’t good enough plus it’s so frigging far to either carry water up there or pull the hose up there so I figured  I we got the planters we could just leave everything down on our patio.

Not sure if anything will “take” or not.  I may end up killing it all but at least we are trying.  We already had three big clay pots and a couple of long rectangle planters so I just bought a few more of the long rectangle ones.  I planted herbs in the clay pots. I planted oregano, parsley and basil in those.  Then I planted the tomato plants our daughter gave us plus the cherry tomato plant I bought.  I also planted yellow and zucchini squash, cucumbers, cantelope, and several different kinds of peppers. Oh, and I didn’t forget the kitties… I even planted a smaller rectangle planter of catnip for them!  I guess we will have to wait and see if they actually grow or I I wasted $100 unless the other critters around our house beat us to them.

ParsleyBasil

 

Oregano

 

Peppers and squash

 

Zucchini on the left, Lala guarding the catnip on the right!

 

Cucumbers and Cantelope

 

Tomatoes

 

Poe getting "nippy" of the catnip

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Home Grown

  1. SuziCate says:

    I think V inherited Daddy’s green thumb and the rest of us inherited Mama’s ability to kill anything that once was green!

  2. Jenny says:

    I am the same way….my dad had the most beautiful garden but I gave up. I even bought artificial flowers to put in my pots on the porch!!!lol

  3. Ron says:

    Okay, now judging from these photos I would say you have a VERY green thumb, Peg!

    AMAZING!

    Trust me, I couldn’t even get the seeds to grow!

    I LOVE the photo of Poe getting ‘nippy’ of the catnip. FLAWLESS!

    Have great day, dear friend! And I can’t wait to see how these plants continue to grow.

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      You can say that because what you didn’t know is I didn’t start them from seeds but small plants. This is only about a week after I transplanted them from their containers I bought them in so I guess I sort of cheated but at least they haven’t died so far!

  4. My grandmother had a green thumb and grew almost anything. My mom was so so with it and had a few rosebushes. My thumb is completely black. The only reason my office plant survives is because I gave it to someone else!

  5. terrepruitt says:

    My husband is like his mom. They can grow anything. She has the most beautiful roses. She had a great yard. But it takes time and my hubby does not have time right now and there really isn’t any reason for me to try. I have brought home plants from work before and said they are dead, but I wanted the pot and he has said, “It’s not dead.” I have lauged and he has brought them back. I believe his “secret” is his voice. I believe that plants respond to his voice. And he does talk to them. But who knows.

    I am so excited to see your bounty. I can’t wait!!!!!!

  6. Spot says:

    I have always said I had a black thumb. Seriously, I can kill an Aloe Vera plant. And my mother has always had a green thumb. I think I don’t because I always hated having to help water the garden. But, believe it or not, I’m actually good at tomatoes and peppers. I do them in containers on the deck and then make homemade salsa. I always do at least one thing of cherry tomatoes and we just eat those off the vine when we walk by. Lol.

    Good luck with your lovely container garden this year!!

    ♥Spot

  7. NikNik says:

    Make sure you keep the basil trimmed back. It will turn into a bush and start killing anything around it!

Leave a Reply

