Rallying For Relay

One week from today I will be walking in the Relay For Life to raise funds for the American Cancer Society.  This will be a special one or me for several reasons.  The main one is that I am doing this in honor of my brother Monte who lost his battle with this insidious disease on April 15 of this year.  I am also honoring several other relatives and friends who have passed from cancer.  My Uncle Bo, my Uncle Burleigh, my (foster) mother-in-law Mama Thatcher, my nephew Richard Thatcher, my cousin Kim Clark, my friends Wanda Highnote and Faye Todd and my friend Sylvia and both her parents all had cancer of some form when they died.

I have a whole slew of other relatives and friends who have either beaten it, or are still battling it including my dad, Pete, my aunts Betty, Myrtle, Shirley, and Jean, my cousin Michelle and my niece Brenda.  This doesn’t even touch on all the other lives that I know of that have been lost or affected by cancer.

I want to find a cure.  I want this disease to end.  I don’t want any other families to have to lose a loved one due to cancer.  I don’t want anyone else to have to suffer like my brother did or like his daughter still is.  It’s a nasty ugly painful disease that so often goes undetected until it’s too late.  It’s sneaky and deceitful.  I even abhor the name… not just the disease itself.  Even the name strikes fear in people’s hearts.  I’m sure hearing the words “You have cancer” strikes dread deep in your soul.

My cousin Jackie started a team a relay team called Cousins for a Cure and I am honored to be a part of that team and to be walking alongside them in next week’s relay.  I am also honored that my father will be walking the survivor’s lap as he beat his fight with renal cancer.  I am honored to be walking with him.  I am also honored that my wonderful hubby is going to be joining us in the walk, along with our youngest daughter and my sister, SuziCate and her lovely husband, Dirtman.  Oh, and I get to walk at my old high school!  Nelson County High… here we come!

Our team goal is $4,500 and as of today we have $4,488.  My goal was $200 and I have surpassed that but that doesn’t mean I’m going to quit fundraising.  Jackie told me that i/when we reach our goal of $4,500 she wants to reach for at least $5,000.  I think we can do it!  I am putting the links below to my participant center as well as those of the team, in general, as well as my hubbies, our daughters and my sister’s and her husband’s.  If you haven’t spent all of your charitable donation budget for the year yet, please consider logging on and making a donation to one of us or the team in general.  I know that I, as well as the rest of my family and teammates appreciate it greatly. 

To donate to me this is the URL: http://main.acsevents.org/site/TR/RelayForLife/RFLFY11SA?px=17795901&pg=personal&fr_id=33486

To donate to the team in general:

http://main.acsevents.org/site/TR/RelayForLife/RFLFY11SA?team_id=784766&pg=team&fr_id=33486

To donate to Hubby (Dwight):

http://main.acsevents.org/site/TR/RelayForLife/RFLFY11SA?px=21375974&pg=personal&fr_id=33486

To donate to #3 (our youngest, Erinn):

http://main.acsevents.org/site/TR/RelayForLife/RFLFY11SA?px=20907966&pg=personal&fr_id=33486

To donate to SuziCate:

http://main.acsevents.org/site/TR/RelayForLife/RFLFY11SA?px=20446151&pg=personal&fr_id=33486

To donate to Dirtman:

http://main.acsevents.org/site/TR/RelayForLife/RFLFY11SA?px=21375863&pg=personal&fr_id=33486

Or you can donate to any of my cousins and/or team mates also by logging onto the team site and just picking whoever you want to donate to or just in general.  I appreciate your time and support in this very worthy cause and I think you are all angels sent to me in the guise of friends.  Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Rallying For Relay

  1. Ron says:

    “Our team goal is $4,500 and as of today we have $4,488.”

    Woot! Woot! You GO, girl!

    I think it’s wonderful that you and your family are doing this, Peg!

    Bless you all!

    Have a fantabulous Saturday, dear friend!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Ron! I am so looking forward to doing this and getting the bonus of spending time with some of my relatives. Hope the rest of your weekend is great!

  2. terrepruitt says:

    I am walking in one today. It started because my friend’s sister died (almost one year ago). So while the team started because of Tiffany, I am walking in honor of those that have had it, have it, or have had it touch their lives and in memory of those that have died.

    Monte’s name is on my shirt. Unfortunatley, I am about to add another name to it before I get ready to go. I just learned about another friend who is dealing with breast cancer.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thank you Terre for honoring Monte too in your walk. I so appreciate it.

      I am sorry to hear about your friend and I hope everything goes well for her.

  3. terrepruitt says:

    Be sure to let us know how it goes!

Leave a Reply

