Happy Mother’s Day!

Since Hubby is in the restaurant business we never get to go out actually on Mother’s Day because it’s always one of the biggest days of the year for them. Instead we went out last night for a combination Mother’s Day/Cinco de Mayo Celebration.

Neither of us had eaten breakfast since we went down to the DMV and then we went straight to the movies afterwards so we didn’t eat lunch either. We ended up going to see Water For Elephants which I was Jonesing to go see since I had heard they were making the movie. I had read the book when it first came out and fell completely in love with it. I loved it so much that when it ended I wanted to cry not just because of the ending but because it was over and I had fallen so completely in love with the main characters that I wanted it to keep going. Have you ever had that happen reading a book? Maybe I’m weird but it happens to me all the time.

Anyway, I loved the movie too. I felt it very closely followed the book (for the most part) and I think that Reese Witherspoon and Robert Pattinson did an outstanding job bringing their characters to life.

After the movie we were both really hungry so we went to one of our new favorite restaurants, Blue Agave. Since it was only about 4:00 we were afternoon the lunch rush and had beat the dinner rush. I saw one of our old neighbors tonight and she said they tried to go around 6:00 and the wait was way over an hour. I had to smile at our good fortune for getting there early.

I got a medium margarita again even though I said I would get the small next time and since I hadn’t eaten it went straight to my head. I think the combination of not having eaten and just being older… it doesn’t take much for me anymore. I came home and had to take a nap!

I went to a Pampered Chef party tonight so by the time I got home hubby was home and there on the counter was a dozen roses and a bag of mini snickers (not that I need those) and a really cute card. I have such a sweet hubby. I am so lucky and I do know that and appreciate it. Thank you baby. You are the greatest!

My lovely rosesOutside of my card

 

How sweet is that?

I know this is shorter than normal but I have to run now so I can help hubby roll silverware for Mother’s Day…. There’s a price for everything! 🙂

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. Angelia Sims says:

    He is the sweetest!! What a nice surprise and beautiful flowers!! Plus? It’s really nice you are helping him with the silverware. I can’t imagine the craziness of Mother’s Day at his restaurant. 🙂 Happy Mother’s Day!

  2. Ron says:

    Awww…what a sweet guy! The flowers are gorgeous and the card is so cute!!

    And hey, those Snickers….HEAVENLY!!!!

    Thank you for mentioning the movie because I’ve not heard of it, but will be one I’ll rent just as soon as it comes out on DVD because you’ve got me very curious about it now.

    Have a glorious Mother’s Day tomorrow, dear friend!

    ((((( Peg )))))

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      It was funny about the Snickers… he offered me a mini Milky Way the other day and I said “You know I don’t like Milky Ways… I like Snickers!” So he went out and bought them for me. What a sweetie! And Water For Elephants?? You will LOVE it…Even though it’s kind of a chick flick…Hubby LOVED it. And if you are a reader you HAVE to read the book. HIGHLY recommended. Have a wonderful Saturday AND Sunday!

  3. Spot says:

    Happy Early Mother’s Day Peggy!! Dwight is fantastic and you are a lucky girl!

    Mo and I read Water for Elephants too and really loved it. I’m glad to hear you say you liked the movie and that it followed the book. I was so afraid they’d screw it up! My problem is that Reese is so much older than Rob. In the book, Marlena tells him that she married August at 17 and she’d been with him four years. That only makes her 21 and Jacob is 23. I think I’m the only person who noticed that in the book. I’m still going to see it of course!

    ♥Spot

    • pegbur7 says:

      I didn’t notice that either and for some reason after reading the book I assumed she WAS older than he was. They did kind of leave out the whole nursing home scenes but I guess in the interest of time (and not confusing people) they had to cut those. I did really like it though and I loved the book.

Leave a Reply

