A Capitol Idea

I know I rag a lot on government run agencies and big companies not being customer service friendly or having good service so I have to also tell you when they do a good job. I have had a few encounters lately with driver’s licensing services that were very differing.

When I was in Virginia last week trying to help my sister in law out with things we had to go to the DMV there so she could have the titles to their vehicles transferred to her name. Let me tell you that they sure don’t make it easy for the surviving spouse.

First off we went to the county agency instead of what they called a “full service” agency so they only had two lines. Then when we finally get up to the front of the line only to be given two different forms that had to be filled out. She had to take the forms and fill them out and then back to the line. After over an hour we finally made it back to the window only to find out that since she didn’t have an original of the will with her she was going to have to come back anyway AND that she’d have to go to a full service agency. She asked if she could just fax the will back but they said they needed the original so they could make a copy of it. So we ended up wasting over an hour only for her to have to go back again. So, no… this is not the one I was praising.

We have several DMV’s around us and it’s always a challenge to decide whether to go to a more metropolitan area or a more rural area because we don’t actually have one in our town. I think we might have it where they come here once a week or at least they used to but it’s always so crowded that it’s usually easier to driver further than try to get in the one here.

A couple of years ago I had to take our youngest to the one out in Carrollton which is a newer facility and we went fairly early but still had to wait in line to get a number to wait over an hour to be waited on. We also went to the same one the year before for #2 to get hers replaced because she had lost it and it took us about 2 hours. A year or so before that we had gone to the one in Marietta and it took us a couple of hours so it’s always a challenge of where to go.

 Last year I had to go get mine renewed and forgot until the last minute so I was going into Atlanta to do something for my ex-boss so I actually went into the heart of the city on Capitol Avenue prepared to spend a couple of hours. I was in and out in about 15 minutes. I was amazed! I wasn’t sure if it was because it was early in the morning and everyone was on the way work or what but I was very happy about it.

Yesterday #2 had to get her license renewed and she was coming out to our house for lunch since it was her birthday. She told me she was planning on going to the one out in Carrollton since she was going to be out our way anyway. I remembered how quick it was going to the one downtown so I suggested she go to that one. She called me afterwards and was amazed that it took her less than thirty minutes to go from her house, get the license renewed and get back home! LESS than 30 minutes with travel time. Simply amazing!!

This morning hubby informed me that he needed to get his license renewed before his birthday next month so where did I suggest? Downtown Atlanta, baby! We hopped in the car and drove the almost 25 miles into downtown to get his license. It might have helped if I could have remembered the exact exit number to take. No biggie. We got there no problem and parked and went in. We told the young gentleman at the front desk that he needed to renew his license so he handed him the application and a number (A044) and told him to fill out the form. I went to the bathroom and came out and told hubby “I think you’re next!” He was like “I don’t think so.” About that time the automated voice said “Now serving A044 at window #1”.

Are you kidding me? He literally had just finished filling out the form. In fact he hadn’t even finished it because he didn’t realize that he was supposed to sign the back. And to top the quickness the lady at window number one was very friendly and helpful. When we walked up hubby asked her how she was and she said “sleepy”. Hubby thought she said sick and said “They make you come to work when you’re sick?” She was like “Are you kidding? You could have one eyeball hanging out and they’d tell you to stick a bandaid on it and get on in!”

She had a great sense of humor and she and hubby bantered back and forth for a few minutes and we were out of there in about 10 minutes! All the way into Atlanta, getting a license renewed and back to D’Vegas in less than an hour! A-MAZING! Kudos to the Capitol Avenue DMV and the nice lady at line #1.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A Capitol Idea

  1. SuziCate says:

    Good to know their are efficient DMVs around! Most of my experiences have been frustrating. However, hubs discovered that you can look each center up online and it will tell you how long of a wait at each one.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Ours usually are too. This one has been the exception! I was just surprised that the one from downtown Atlanta would be the easiest to get through!

  2. Ron says:

    “She was like “Are you kidding? You could have one eyeball hanging out and they’d tell you to stick a bandaid on it and get on in!”

    Bwhahahahahahahahaha! Hilarious!

    OMG, this is one of the reasons why I am so happy not to have a car anymore. I would ALWAYS wait until the last minute to renew my tags and then end up having to stand in line with 5,000 other people on my day off.

    Glad to hear you’re experience was quick and efficient!

    Have a FAB Friday, dear friend!

    X

  3. Personally, I hate the DMV. I always have a bad time there. Maybe I should try the one you went to. Glad you got it all taken care of.
    -FringeGirl

  4. Spot says:

    Yay for good customer service!! The one in the town closest to us is pretty quick and when I took the kids to get new stickers for their vehicles, the lady was very nice. She even gave me a “good parenting” high five because the kids were paying for their own stickers. Lol.

    ♥Spot

  5. terrepruitt says:

    The DMVs that I have been to around here take appointments and that helps soooo much. There is still a bit of a wait, but most of the time it is rather painless. And even though I have an electronic gadget that can entertain me, I still don’t like sitting around waiting to be called. Ya know? So I love the invention of DMV appointmnets.

Leave a Reply

