A Day Without Technology

Your phone, laptop and i-pad are dead. Can you make it through an entire day?

I think I could but wouldn’t want to. I do not have an i-pad so I wouldn’t miss that because I can’t miss what I don’t have, right? As for the laptop and cell phone… I HAVE done without for an entire day but did not like it at all.

 I think I have lamented several times about how uncivilized by today’s standards my home town is. Whenever I go to stay with my parents I have modern technology withdrawals. I have to drive about 15 miles to the next town’s only “coffee house” in order to even use the internet. My parents do not have a computer or know how to use one so they have no need for internet services to they have never even thought about having dial up, much less wifi.

It hasn’t been so bad since I finally learned to set my posts to post later. I used to stay up and wait until midnight or later so I could manually post my daily posts. It was the only way I knew to do it. I was so glad when I finally figured out how to set it to post later. I felt a huge burden had been lifted because I could actually write several blog posts and have them ready to post in advance.

The only thing is that now I like to check several times a day to check my comments and also to check my emails and my facebook. Of course now that my cell phone has wifi and I can check all that on my phone it doesn’t matter EXCEPT of course when I am at my parents because even the wifi on my phone needs some sort of a signal which it can’t receive out in the boondocks.

What is really weird is that sometimes I can get a cell signal enough to receive a text message but I then have to leave the house to send one back out. I hate when that happens. I do feel completely cut off from civilization when I am up there but as long as I don’t have to go more than a day or two I guess I will survive.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Day Without Technology

  1. Ron says:

    Well, I could do without a cell phone or iPad because I don’t have either.

    But, my computer?

    OMG….I hate to even think about that – YIKES!

    Unlike you, I DO stay up until midnight to post manually for the next day because Blogger does have auto-posting, but there are so many glitches that have happened, I just don’t trust it to post wihtout having something go wrong with the HTML coding.

    Yeah, I too check my comments several times a day. Especially since I moderate them.

    Hope you’re having a FAB Sunday, dear friend!

    x

  2. terrepruitt says:

    It is amazing how dependent we have become on our technology, huh? Of course, we CAN live without it, but why? When we HAVE to we will and we do, but we don’t WANT to.

    I could live without them all for a couple of days, but since I don’t have to, I won’t. Also, since I teach classes I do like to have access to my e-mails in case people have questions and I think it is good business to answer them as fast as possible. But otherwise, people understand a delayed response (especially on weekends). But I rather not make them wait.

    Glad to hear you figured out one of the tools on Word Press. That “schedule a post” is awesome. But I don’t use it often. Usually I am posting something at the last minute to stay on my “schedule”. Last night I think I posted at 11:50 pm just in the nick of time to get my Saturday post up.

  3. Spot says:

    I couldn’t do it. I’m pretty sure I’d end up curled in the fetal position on the ground screaming “WHY?”. Okay, maybe not, but it would be iffy.

    I also do everything from my phone. Unfortunately, we live in the boondocks so oftentimes I have to walk through the house til I find just the right spot with just enough service. I get so spoiled when I visit my parents or sister in the city. Lol.

    ♥Spot

  4. Lisa says:

    I could live without my cell phone, but not sure I could live without the computer! I’ve become addicted to writing and reading blogs and withdrawal from that would be very ugly.

Leave a Reply

