Shelter From The Storm

Write about something you used to believe, but don’t anymore.

Bonus: What changed?  

When I was a little girl I always thought that you HAD to be quiet during a thunderstorm because making noise would attract lightening and increase your chances of getting struck.  It’s not that I actually ever remember anyone uttering those words.  What I remember is that every time we had a thunderstorm when we were little kids, our mom used to make us go to bed and cover our heads.  I guess I always assumed that it was because lightening would strike us if we poked our little heads out.

I think the truth of the matter was that thunderstorms made our mom nervous and having 4 or 5 or 6 little kids running around the house screaming and playing and making lots of noise just made her all the more nervous.  The only way to make us be quiet was to make us believe that the lightening was going to get us if we weren’t quiet. 

I also remember lightening coming in a window once when we were little and forming a little ball of light on the floor before it went out the window.  At least I think I remember that.  I either remember it or was told about it so many times growing up that it has etched a vivid picture in my head so crystal clear that it is as if I did witness it.

Having that many kids that close together had to be terrifying enough but when we were loud and obnoxious which I am sure we were most of the time, it had to exacerbate the tension my mother felt, especially during thunderstorms which terrified her.  I remember many an afternoon during the summer laying under a blanket sweating like a pig just praying that the storm would pass so that I could get out from under the safety of that stupid blanket.  Sometimes I’d try to hold the blanket up with my arms in between claps of thunder because at the time I was thinking it was the thunder that hurt you, not the lightening.  I didn’t understand the whole concept other than thunderstorms meant run for the safety of your bed and hide under as many quilts as you could stand without suffering from a heat stroke.

I’m not exactly sure how old I was when I found out that you don’t have to hide in your bed during a storm.  I’m sure it was before I was in high school and certainly before I started working.  Can’t you just see trying to explain THAT one to your boss?  “Sir, I’m sorry but I have to leave for the day because it’s storming and I have to go home and go to bed so I don’t get struck by lightening!”  Or better yet… just bring a blanket to work and when it starts storming sit at your desk covered head to foot by quilts… yeah, that’s the ticket!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Tales from my youth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Shelter From The Storm

  1. suzicate says:

    It took me forever to get over my storm fear! I remember well those days of sweating under the quilts!

  2. Ron says:

    “Sir, I’m sorry but I have to leave for the day because it’s storming and I have to go home and go to bed so I don’t get struck by lightening!” Or better yet… just bring a blanket to work and when it starts storming sit at your desk covered head to foot by quilts… yeah, that’s the ticket!”

    OMG, Peg….that made me HOWL!!!!!

    And funny you posted this today, because I was just talking to someone at work yesterday about the sound of thunder and the flash of lightening.

    My mother always loved a good lightening/thunderstorm, So when we were kids, she used to tell us not to be afraid because it was only the angels in the heavens BOWLING!

    HA!

    Fun post, dear friend!

    Have a super weekend…..X

    • pegbur7 says:

      I’ve as an adult always loved the way lightening looks as it streaks across the sky. I just can’t help still wanting to grab a quilt! LOL I hope you have a wonderful weekend.

  3. terrepruitt says:

    Makes sense to me. Your mom is actually pretty smart to have realized that she needed to have you kids controlled in order to relieve her anxiety.

    This reminds me of the drills we used to have when I was in school. We used to practice hiding under our desks when the alarm sounded because we were told we would be safe from a nuclear attack if we were under our desks. Yeah, uh-huh, that’s right. So . . . it sounds as if we really were taught that just so we would be programmed to go under our desks if a bomb was coming so that there wouldn’t be mass panic and confusion. This practice would allow authorities easy control and possibly record keeping.

    Do you remember the day/time/moment (whichever) when you realized that hiding didn’t help? Did you laugh?

Leave a Reply

