Lessons That Should Be Learned

Lessons Learned

 

Time for Mama Kat’s and this week I chose prompt #1) Something students these days should know.

Where to start?  There are so many thing the kids in this disposable society need to learn in my humble opinion.  Let’s start with spelling.  In our day and age of Twitter and Text Messaging people (I am also guilty of this) have gotten so used to using acronyms that they have forgotten how to spell!  All the OMG and LMAO and ROFL and TTYL, etc., are admittedly timesavers but in the long run, kids are forgetting how to spell, how to write letters and even how to talk on the phone properly.  Lot of them don’t even know how to carry on a conversation in person anymore.

Being face to face with someone has become so intimidating that kids would rather use the impersonality of texting or tweeting.  I admit that texting is sometimes easier if you just need a few words answer and if I find myself sending back and forth too many times I usually hang it up and call.  I would rather actually talk to someone since you can’t really hear the emotion of a person by merely reading their words.  Subtleties and nuance of language get lost in translation and the art of sarcasm is sometimes mistaken as rudeness or anger.  I would much rather hear the actual anger in someone’s voice than to mistakenly assume someone is angry when they are merely teasing or being sarcastic. 

I also think the art of letter writing is something that is important to know and many have completely given up on how to use salutations and how to close a letter in written form.  I think it always such a treat to receive a letter in the mail and nowadays the kids have no clue how to do that.  They also don’t know how to start a verbal conversation without just jumping right to the point.  The niceties and subtleties of greeting another person have been replaced with jumping right into a conversation and the subtle art of closing a conversation have long become a thing of the past.

So that is my soapbox for now.  What do you think kids in school nowadays need to learn that maybe they haven’t?

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Lessons That Should Be Learned

  1. snipewife says:

    I think writing in general is lacking. I am beyond frustrated that my children cannot string together sentences to make paragraphs. Why? Because up until 5th grade when they have an actual writing exam one or two word answers and the occasional sentence have only been required. I was writing stories of my own well before 5th grade. No, not everyone aspires to be a writer but would not believe the headache of trying to get them to write their science reports. Stopping by from Mama Kat’s…

    • pegbur7 says:

      That is so true. I was privileged that my children attended a school that put a lot of emphasis on writing and each year the PTA would sponsor a program where every child would write their own “book” and the volunteers would bind them and cover them for the children. We still have most of them at the house.

      Thanks for stopping by.

  2. I agree with all your points here, but my favorite is “Being face to face with someone has become so intimidating that kids would rather use the impersonality of texting or tweeting” The world NEEDS people with people skills. They are not automatic, easy or comfortable to learn. And they aren’t all developed in kindergarten. Parents really need to help kids with social skill building throughout their youth. It’s very important.

    • pegbur7 says:

      My husband and I were at Disney a couple of years ago and a group of young teenagers was in line in front of us and they were texting each other in line rather than talking and they were standing right next to each other!

      Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Jessica says:

    I do think that kids today are losing the skill of being able to talk to people in person. With text and email that is going away.

  4. Minivan Mama says:

    So true! If I were to add something for kids to learn, it would be the value of money and how to budget it.

  5. Jen says:

    I completely agree with the OMG’s, and other acronyms! Bad spelling and grammar is one of my pet peeves, seriously, use spell check at LEAST!

    • pegbur7 says:

      I so feel you. Whenever I am reading a book and come upon a spelling error I am always thinking “Who the heck proof read this book?” Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Jennifer says:

    I think our society in general has given up many beautiful things for the sake of convenience. As a result, our students isolate themselves in the worlds of iPods and text messaging. We don’t know what a book feels like between our fingers because we read off of computer screens, if we even have the attention span to read. We find comfort in Facebook and Twitter instead of spending time with friends in person. I could go on and on, so I’ll stop now! 🙂

    Visiting from Mama Kat’s! I picked the same topic this week. 🙂

  7. NikNik says:

    I fear that my future children will not have the pure joys of reading books, libraries, etc. that yall taught us. Between Kindles, Google, IPods, video games, I fear that they will not know the feeling of staying up late with a flashlight furiously turning pages to find out what happens next. I also think that the lack of reading and books is a major contributing factor to the inability to complete a sentence. So scary to think about…

  8. terrepruitt says:

    Q: What do you think kids in school nowadays need to learn that maybe they haven’t?

    A: R-E-S-P-E-C-T, common sense, common courtesy, that one needs to earn rewards and not just receive them because they are alive, basic math, how to budget and spend only what you actually HAVE and not rely on credit . . . oh, I could go on and on, but they actually don’t have time to learn stuff because they are texting and FBing and have to learn all the stuff the government says they have to learn. But the world is changing so I am sure it will adapt to the skills or lack of skills that the following generations have.

  9. Ron says:

    “I would rather actually talk to someone since you can’t really hear the emotion of a person by merely reading their words.”

    BRAVA! I’m with you, Peg!!!!!

    I don’t even have a cell phone, therefore have never even texted.

    The two things that really concern me about the generation of kids today, is their lack of communication skills and their lack of personality. Many kids today seem to be void of personality. And I think much of that has to do with technology and how it seems to distance them from actually sitting down face to face and having a conversation; having eye to eye contact and using their emotions to communicate.

    Excellent post!

    Hope you had a great day, dear friend!

    X

  10. Anne says:

    So true! I love letters but can’t remember the last time I ever received one.

  11. I used to get so mad at Sydney for misspelling words by text. I was convinced she couldn’t spell and would flunk English. Then, she gave me a story she wrote. The kid barely reads books. I was floored. Great story too.

    But I agree! The face-to-face social skills are lacking and my child refuses to apply in person for a job. She tells me, “It’s all done on-line, mom.” Which is exactly why she doesn’t have a job. Lol.

  12. Pingback: Crash « Square Peg in a Round Hole

Leave a Reply

