Life Ain’t Always Beautiful

As you well know, I am a firm believer in the creedo that everything happens for a reason, even if we don’t understand at the time what the reason is. I got this email from a dear friend this morning. This I do know; I really needed this right now. With everything going on, I have been on edge and overly emotional and at the same time very reflective and pensive. This is what the email said:

Life is too short to wake up with regrets. So love the people who treat you right. Forget about the ones who don’t. Believe that everything happens for a reason. If you get a second chance, grab it with both hands. If it changes your life, let it. Nobody said life would be easy, they just promised it would be worth it. Friends are like balloons. Once you let them go, it’s almost impossible to get them back. So I’m gonna tie mine to my heart so I never lose them.

I had gotten up early this morning to take hubby to work so that we can leave to go to my brothers as soon as he gets off work. Then I heard this song on the way back home this morning by Gary Allan called “Life Ain’t Always Beautiful”.

 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0VDNMtn0t2A&NR=1&feature=fvwp

It’s basically saying that life ain’t always beautiful but it’s a beautiful ride. That sometimes happiness takes it’s time to find us. So true. It’s a beautiful song even though I’m not really sure about the video…

Then while looking for the link for that I stumbled on this other little gem by him called “Learning How To Bend”.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dvfJb10oc0M

And even though all the lyrics don’t apply to how I feel at this point in my life some of them do. Here’s part of the lyrics:

Still learning how to pray

Try to see things your way

Still learning how to pray S

till learning how to trust

So hard to open up

Still learning how to bend

How to let you in

In a world full of tears

Will conquer all our fears

Still learning how to fly

That’s pretty much how I’m feeling lately. I’m still learning. I’m a work in progress. I’m learning how to bend and to try to take things as they come despite the tears and fears and everything that assails us daily. Still learning to trust and to pray and be there every day for everyone. And to go back to the first song by him…. Life ain’t always beautiful but it’s still a beautiful ride.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Life Ain’t Always Beautiful

  1. SuziCate says:

    I love you my beautiful sister. Thank you for always being here for me. You mean the world to me. You are the shining light and the rock we need in our family.

  2. terrepruitt says:

    Life is a journey and there is a lot of learning to be done along the way.

    I know its tough for you right now, so I am thinking about you and your family and praying for you all.

    Hugs.

  3. Missy says:

    Your blog popped up in my tags. I love this song so much that I used it for part of my blog’s name. The song is and was a soul soother for me after the loss of a child. You are so right that everything happens for a reason. Just keep your chin up and think of the blessings in your life. 😉

Leave a Reply

