Fear Is Not My Friend

Fear

This week for Mama Kat’s I chose prompt #4.) What battle are you fighting? Write a poem overcoming.

Muddied thoughts swirl in my mind

Like a vortex threatening to suck me down

Pulling me under with no life preserver

Drowning in a sea of sorrow

Helplessness an unwelcome guest

Grappling to wrestle me down

The weight of my own fears

Threatens to suffocate me

Tears constantly teeter

Behind my tightly closed eyelids

But escape their flimsy prison

To trickle down my face and mock my trembling lips

Death, sickness, melancholy and fear,

All swirl in my head

Seduce me with their promises

And leave me jilted and broken hearted

I build a façade of happiness

 To beat back the fear

Put one foot in front of the other

And stay strong for all those I hold dear

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Fear Is Not My Friend

  1. suzicate says:

    I’m right there with you, my sister. I love you.

  2. Ron says:

    I know how you feel, Peg.

    I too have felt this fear.

    Sharing a great BIG supportive hug with you….

    ((((((( Peg ))))))

    Love ya, dear friend

    X

  3. One foot in front of another is the best way to start.

  4. Spot says:

    Beautiful and heartfelt. I’m so sorry you’re going through this right now. Wish I could hug you in person, but know at least that my thoughts are with you.

    ♥Spot

  5. Jessica says:

    This was a beautiful poem and I hope you continue to stay strong in your battle.

  6. NikNik says:

    Beautifully written Mama! Love you

Leave a Reply

