The Gifts in My Life

What is the best gift you’ve ever received?

Bonus: what is the worst gift you’ve ever received?

 At the risk of sounding corny, the best gift I ever received was the gift of life. First, I am thankful for the gift of life, my own, which I owe to God and my parents. Then, I am thankful for the gift of life, my children’s, which I owe again to God and to my husband. Of course without my own gift of life I would not be able to be thankful for that of my children each of which are the best gifts I have ever received. And then for them to have turned out to be such wonderful, loving and giving women in their own rights I cannot be thankful enough. And of course without the gift of my husband, I would not have been given the privilege of being the mother of these wonderful young women. So I have been blessed over and over in my life with all these wonderful gifts and privileges.

Now, if you want to talk about material gifts, than that’s a whole nother story. I guess the best gift that I wasn’t party to or informed of beforehand, it would have to be the anniversary gift my husband gave me on our 24th anniversary. We have long ago quit buying each other expensive gifts unless it was a very special occasion. For regular anniversaries and such we actually usually either bought something together or bought something for the kids.

On our 24th anniversary hubby handed me an envelope. Inside the envelope were cruise tickets. I was flabbergasted. I usually figure out or the kids tell me beforehand so there is no surprise. This time I had absolutely no idea. I guess the shock showed on my face and in my voice. I was like “Wow! Honey, that is a really nice anniversary gift!”

His response was “Well, I thought you deserved something really nice for 25 years!”

I said “That’s really sweet… but we’ve been married 24 years.”

 Hubby: I know. It was 24 and this makes 25.

 Me: No, this makes 24.

Hubby: Well, we’re starting 25!?!

Me: Ok… I’ll go with that, but I want to know. How are you gonna top this for our actual 25th?

Needless to say he didn’t top it. In fact, I think we probably just went out to dinner and remembered the cruise! Now that we are going to be celebrating 30 this year we are thinking of either taking the whole family on a cruise or maybe to Hawaii or something and then renewing our vows while we are at it. I think that will then replace the cruise as the nicest gift.

The nicest gift I’ve received from someone else, for me personally, was on our anniversary last year our girls went together and bought me a Kindle. I would never have bought one for myself so I am very happy that they got it for me and I love it.

The best gift I received from someone that wasn’t a family member was actually given to us as a family from their family and that was the gift of themselves. When our daughter got married our friends the Greene’s went all out to help us with the wedding. I was about to lose my mind with all the planning and stuff and about 6 week or a month before the wedding my friend Judy stepped up to the plate and kind of took over the wedding planning. She helped more than she will ever know.

Our friends, taking a breather at the wedding reception.

She took charge of everything from making the chair decorations (using her own money and for which she would not let me repay her), to her husband making an arch for the ceremony to her bringing her own plants to decorate the venue, to her telling everyone where they had to be and when, at both the rehearsal dinner, the wedding and the reception. Both of her sons helped cook in the kitchen and they and their dad brought the chairs for the ceremony and set them up and even took them back down and carried them back to the rental place for us afterwards. Their daughters helped hubby decorate the cake and the tables and lit the candles during the ceremony. Anything, literally, that we needed them to do, they did. We could not have done it without them.

In fact, about 30 minutes before the outdoor ceremony there was a terrible thunderstorm and the power to the entire venue, inside and out, went out. Fortunately her husband works for the local power company and he knew who to call and it turned out that a transformer had blown nearby and since he knew who to call they had the power back on and the wedding got started almost on time. I’m telling you, a gift like that is definitely priceless.

I really can’t think of any worst gifts I’ve received. Any gift I have been given I think I have been thankful for or else it was so inconsequential that I can’t even remember which I guess is a gift in and of itself. Besides, I have been blessed with so many great gifts in my life that I don’t like to dwell on the bad. I have a wonderful family filled with people who love me and I have wonderful friends that I wouldn’t trade for anything. I was given wonderful life lessons that I may not have appreciated at the time but have all been instrumental in making me the woman that I am today. Rather than focus on the negative I will choose to use my gift of being positive and just be thankful for who I am and all I’ve been given. I am truly blessed.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Gifts in My Life

  1. Ron says:

    “On our 24th anniversary hubby handed me an envelope. Inside the envelope were cruise tickets. I was flabbergasted.”

    WOW…what a GREAT gift, Peg! I would have been flabbergasted too – how fabulous! And what a great idea you have about taking the whole family on a cruise this year for your 3oth!

    And I gotta say, that was also a great gift your friends gave you for your wedding. And how wonderful that he worked for the local power company. Let there be light!

    Have a terrific Tuesday, dear friend!

    X

  2. Happy Anniversary! This was a sweet post.

Leave a Reply

