Full Circle

Born into chaos

Raised in strife

Drama and upheaval

 Became my way of life

Lonely and confused

For friendship I yearned

But I wasn’t one of them

Not good enough I learned

Times were hard

When your family is dirt poor

Others seemed to have everything

And I wanted more

I wanted to feel love

That was always unconditional

I wanted what others had

A family, traditional

I stood among chaos

The noise and confusion

 But I felt alone

Family – an illusion

I finally found love

And friendship and trust

People who accepted me

As my dreams went bust

But people around me

Didn’t always agree

That the “friends” that I chose

Were quite right for me

Truth of the matter

Was they weren’t right for them

So I gave up on those friends

I went out on a limb

I tried to find others

While I made my way known

I didn’t need them anymore

For now I was grown

But life comes full circle

And those friends that I tossed

Are the ones who pick me up

When I’m most feeling lost

Some I have lost

Through life and through death

But those who remain

 Make me feel blessed

I rose from the dirt

Like a Phoenix from ashes

I doctored my bruises

My cuts and my gashes

I found that with others

I don’t need to agree

 But my family and my friends

Still mean everything to me

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Full Circle

  1. This is sooo good. A poem through thick and thin. A moving story within the rhymes. Loved this!

  2. suzicate says:

    Stunning, heartfelt words. Beautiful.

  3. Ron says:

    BRAVA!

    What a freakin’ FABULOUS poem, Peg! You are so talented!

    And as Suzi shared….

    “Stunning, heartfelt words. Beautiful.”

    Happy Monday, dear friend!

    (((( Peg ))))

    X

  4. Funny how those circles always seem to bring you back. Great poem!

  5. easylifestyles says:

    I love poetry and I really enjoy reading your blog. Thanks for sharing this post. Feel free to stop by sometime.

    Raining Purple Rain

  6. terrepruitt says:

    Oh, wow, nice. Great that your friends picked you back up.

  7. LisaF says:

    This is such a wonderful poem. Full of truth and insight. Nicely done! We are all blessed by the friends we make in our life.

Leave a Reply

