One Man’s Trash…

I have always heard that one man’s trash is another man’s treasure. That translates literally sometimes. I was talking with my mom the other day and we were laughing over just such an incident.

You see, in the county where my mom and dad live it is very rural. There really is no such thing as garbage service. Years ago when we were growing up you’d just dump your trash wherever. There were kind of unofficial dumps and then there were really unofficial dumps. Over the years they have gotten a little more sophisticated. They set up dumpsters in strategic locations throughout the county.

Yeah, it kinda makes for a mess to have to haul your own garbage around, especially if you don’t have a truck but they make do. My parents happen to have a wood burning stove which they use to burn most of their paper. They also have a barrel with a mesh top out in the field that they use to occasionally burn larger paper or cardboard items or other things that are able to be incinerated. Everything else goes to the dump site.

They now have a larger centralized location with multiple dumpsters and recycle “dumpsters” and such. Before they had this facility they had an unwritten “rule” where if you were getting rid of something that you thought someone else might want or could use, then you’d either sit it on the steps of the dumpster or in a box outside the dumpster. That way when someone who might be in need came to dump their stuff and they saw whatever item they might need there they could take it.

Once my dad came home all excited and told my mom he had found her a nice pair of shoes, In fact he was pretty sure they were her size and they looked a lot like the kind she always bought for herself. She asked where he got them from and he told her that believe it or not, someone had left them on the steps to the dumpster! She said that yes, it was pretty hard to believe since she had left them there herself that very morning! He had brought her home her own shoes she was trying to leave for some other needy soul! She just didn’t realize that my dad was going to think she was that needy soul.

The kicker to the story is that the whole process got repeated a few weeks later when she tried to get rid of them again. You guessed it…. he brought them home a second time from the dump! Someone really didn’t want her to get rid of those shoes!

Speaking of someone’s trash…. The other day hubby and I were driving down the road and this is what we saw on the side of the road:

Yes, that is a tire on the side of the road, propped up beside a mattress....

I actually made him go back so we could take a picture. Of course me being the witty person that I am, I immediately turned to him and said “I’m tired!” He cracked up. I’m so glad we can still amuse each other. Even if no one else gets my weird sense of humor I know he does!

Then of course we go on the the scenario of how in the heck does that happen? Do you think someone was changing their tire and just happened to have a mattress with them and said “Hey! I’m tired from changing this tire… guess I’ll take a nap!” Or do you think they purposely pulled over next to the mattress to change their tire, just in case they did get tired? Or did someone see that the mattress was already there and then just throw the tire out because there was already something there? Am I the only one that sits up at night and wonders these weird things?

 Ok…. All this brain power and I really am tired. Gotta recycle an old picture because now it’s time to re-tire!

Mural on the side of a tire store in Fayetteville

Sorry… just had to throw that in. I’ll leave now….

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Stupid Stuff We've Done, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to One Man’s Trash…

  1. suzicate says:

    You are nuts! But I’m not “tired” of you!

  2. Ron says:

    “She said that yes, it was pretty hard to believe since she had left them there herself that very morning! He had brought her home her own shoes…..”

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAA! OMG, that made me HOWL!

    Actually, I really like the idea of the unwritten “rule” where if you were getting rid of something that you thought someone else might want or could use, then you’d either sit it on the steps of the dumpster or in a box outside the dumpster.

    Early recycling!

    “All this brain power and I really am tired. Gotta recycle an old picture because now it’s time to re-tire!”

    HAHAHAHAHAHAAHAHA! Too funny, Peg!

    Hope you’re having a FAB Saturday!

    X

Leave a Reply

