Things My Mama Taught Me

This week for Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop I chose prompt #2) Things my mother taught me.

My mother taught me to always be nice

To listen closely and always think twice

 Before I spoke or said a word

It’s better to listen than to be heard

My mother taught me to always play fair

Be nice to others and don’t pull their hair

 Share what I have and even what I don’t

Be kind and loving when others won’t

My mother taught me to do what’s right

Always wear a smile that’s sunny and bright

 Neither lazy nor a complainer be

Don’t take what you don’t need even if it’s free

My mother taught me it’s better to give

And by the Golden Rule to live

Leave more for others than you take for yourself

Take care of others but take care of your health

My mother taught me the value of love

How important it is to pray to God above

The value of family is worth more than gold

Who else will you have when you grow old?

My mother taught me all that I know

She taught me to love and to trust and to grow

And above all else to treat others fairly

Or else what you reap will sustain you barely

My mother taught me many things

That the love that you give equals what it brings

My mother, a woman of beauty and grace

There is no other that can ever take her place.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Things My Mama Taught Me

  1. terrepruitt says:

    Awwwwww. So nice. What a wonderful tribute to your mom.

  2. SuziCate says:

    Absolutely beautiful!!!!!!!!

  3. Beautiful woman! She taught you well. Excellent tribute. It flows wonderfully. 🙂

  4. Jenners says:

    What a lovely poem — you did your mom proud! And I love seeing both the pictures of her. Great job!

    Visiting from Mama Kats.

  5. Sugar Mama says:

    Beautiful poem… thank you for sharing!

  6. So sweet! Your mom is a beautiful woman.
    -FringeGirl

  7. Ron says:

    What an AWESOME tribute to your mother, Peg!

    And it was so wonderful reading all that she taught you because there’s a few in this list that I needed to be reminded of.

    What lovely woman your mother is!

    Just like you!

    X

  8. misty says:

    Such a sweet tribute! Great job!

  9. Rhea says:

    This is a beautiful post. I love how you can write poetry.

  10. NikNik says:

    Beautiful pictures and a lovely poem!

  11. “Don’t take what you don’t need even if it’s free” The wisdom of this cannot be over rated. So, so true. I don’t always do this, however.

  12. LisaF says:

    Wonderful lessons learned. Moms are so smart. (us included). To see what else mom taught us, look up my Friday funny on 3.11. 😉

  13. Beautiful~ Sounds like a great mother ;o)

  14. Jill says:

    Wow. I’m going to copy this and save it as a reminder for when I have kids. Your mom sounds like she really covered all the bases – I hope I’m that good! (Found you through Mama Kat)

Leave a Reply

