Memorable Interview

Share a story about a memorable job interview

I’ve had several memorable interviewees in my time.  Like the gentleman that I think I told you about that worked at the animal shelter with me who couldn’t read or write yet the DMV gave him a license? Well when he interviewed he convinced them to let him take his application home to fill out and the person who filled it out for them was so “smart” that they signed their own name to the application! Yep, they still hired him.

And then there was the young lady who came in to interview just last year when I worked at the country club who left her baby IN the car with the windows rolled up while she had her interview and then went around to meet all the new employees.  Yeah, I didn’t hire her.  I figured if she was not concerned enough that she’d leave her kid in the car then she would care much about her job.

And then there were the memorable ones where I was the one being interviewed.  Back in the late 70’s I lived in North Carolina and worked for a really mean, cruel and nasty man.   I lived by myself and really needed a job but was getting really tired of literally having to run around my desk to get away from his nasty advances.  Way back then there was no such thing as sexual harassment.  You put up with it or you got another job.

I got an interview with company and went in at the end of the day to interview with the president of the company.  The interview itself went fairly well I thought.  He took me around the business and showed me around.  His “secretary” was very snotty to me and I really didn’t like the way she looked at me.  She seemed very reluctant to leave at the close of business.

After everyone left he offered me a job and then had me follow him upstairs to his “private office” where he proceeded to offer me something to drink to the tune of a beer or mixed drink. Then he pulled out a joint, lit it and offered it to me.  I declined (I was thinking it was a trick where he’d then say, nope you’re not gonna work for me because you smoke pot!) and he shrugged and then pulled a vial and mirror out of his desk and asked if I preferred cocaine instead?

Yeah, that’s an interview I don’t think I’ll ever forget…

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Memorable Interview

  1. SuziCate says:

    All I can say to that one is WOW!

  2. Ron says:

    “where he proceeded to offer me something to drink to the tune of a beer or mixed drink. Then he pulled out a joint, lit it and offered it to me.”

    “he shrugged and then pulled a vial and mirror out of his desk and asked if I preferred cocaine instead?”

    OMG, Peg….I’m sitting here with my mouth wide open; going, “I CAN’T BELIEVE IT?!?!?!”

    Yeah, I don’t think I would ever forget that one either – holy cow!!!!!!

    Wishing a MARVI Monday, dear friend!

    X

  3. Gah! Those are terrible! Thank goodness I never went through anything like that.

  4. NikNik says:

    My second interview ever (Logan’s) the manager asked me to tell him a joke. The only one I could think of had a screaming punch-line. He loved it and said it was the first time anyone had ever yelled at him in an interview. Needless to say, my lovely sense of humor got me the job 😉

  5. LisaF says:

    Ahh, the 70s. Nothing quite like it. I’d have loved to have seen your face!

Leave a Reply

