Home Remedies

Describe the wackiest but most useful advice you’ve ever received.

This is actually advice my husband received from my dad.  I thought it sounded wacky but it apparently works.  I don’t suffer from arthritis.  At least not to the point where it’s debilitating.  My husband, due to the numerous surgeries  on his knees, does.

Apparently he was discussing this with my dad last year and my dad commented that he needed some gin and raisins.  My husband didn’t put much store in it at the time but appropriately filed it away in his little mental filing cabinet.  When the pain started getting really bad again he asked my dad about it again.

My dad told him to take a glass jar and fill it with raisins and then cover the raisins with enough gin to completely cover them and let them sit at least overnight for the gin to soak into the raisins.  Then to eat three teaspoons of them a day.  Hubby started doing it (even though he does not drink or like the taste of alcohol…the look on his face eating them is priceless) and admitted that the arthritis got better. 

He has also noticed that when he stops taking them for a while it will come back but when he starts taking them again that it gets better again.  Who knew?  I’m not sure whether it’s some chemical reaction between the gin and raisins or what but it does work.

And now his (my father’s) doctor is eating them too so he must realize it works too!  Through trial and error we have surmised that the golden raisins taste better than the dark raisins and that the “name brand” raisins taste better than the store brand or no name type raisins.  We also found out that the difference in taste in using cheap gin and a good brand like Tanqueray is well worth the extra expense.

So if you suffer from arthritis or rheumatism, you might want to try some gin and raisins, amazingly it does work for my husband and my dad swears by it.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Home Remedies

  1. Ron says:

    WOW…that’s amazing, Peg!

    I truly believe in these natural-type remedies.

    I’m wondering if this would work with pain in general, or just arthritis and rheumatism?

    Have a super Sunday, dear friend!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      I’ll have to ask my dad but I think it’s just the arthritis/rheumetism….although if you ate enough of them you probably wouldn’t care about any other pain! LOL

  2. SuziCate says:

    It does work but it has to be golden raisins. If you google it, I believe all the posts say eat nine raisins so we joke Daddy and tell him the reason his pain is gone is because he’s drunk! One of the googles (when I did my post about it a year ago) mentioned that Hillary Clinton does it and swears by it. Glad it works for Dwight, too. I tried it but couldn’t get past the taste.

  3. Amazing! Pretty good gin, but I love Bombay Sapphire.

  4. LisaF says:

    Not exactly a home remedy, but my MIL swears by the sign of the moon to potty train and break babies of the pacifier. After MONTHS of no gains, I tried potty training by the moon sign…and she was right!

  5. terrepruitt says:

    See this is the kind of stuff I am talking about. Some people would look at this and say “Placebo.” But to me if it works then it really isn’t a placebo. It is not as if there is a clinical trial going on.

    This is one of those whacky things that work! Thanks for sharing.

    I’ll have to remember this and the moon tip.

Leave a Reply

