Mind Readers

If you could read minds for a day, would you?

This is a tough one.  I’m not sure I’d want to.  It on the one hand would be nice to know what people really think about you but on the other hand, if it wasn’t nice it would just hurt my feelings.  I have a problem with self esteem and I’m not sure my psyche could take it if people thought really bad things about me.  And it would be even worse if they said something nice to my face but then I “heard” them think something totally different.

I have long had people tell me I shouldn’t care what other people think and I probably shouldn’t but I can’t help it.  I guess I want people to like me and that’s my form of acceptance. 

Over the years I have tried to develop a “tougher hide” if you will but so far it’s still tender.  You’d think after years and years of having people outright say mean and nasty things to me that I’d be over it but I’m not. 

Being a large woman is in and of itself hard enough.  Having people (sometimes complete strangers) remind you of that on pretty much a daily basis, is even harder.  It’s not that you don’t realize you’re heavy you just don’t need people to constantly say anything about it.  Lots of people don’t realize that just because you are heavy it doesn’t mean you are lazy.  It doesn’t mean you eat constantly.  It doesn’t mean you overeat on a daily basis.  It doesn’t mean you don’t exercise.  Sometimes it’s just the way you are.  Some people do pretty much everything they can in order NOT to be heavy and yet they still are.  I know this was going way off course from the original topic but I just wanted to get across that reading those kinds of thoughts going through people’s minds would not be a good thing for me.

So unless there was a filter that filtered out mean and hurtful thoughts (which would pretty much defeat the purpose) then I guess the answer is no, I don’t want to be able to read minds.  I have a hard enough time with what people say to my face and usually what they think is much worse.  How about you?

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Mind Readers

  1. terrepruitt says:

    I don’t believe this is ever a good idea. Just think about what YOU think about people. Even if you would NEVER say it. Sometimes you can’t help it. Things just pop into your head, a funny joke that is only amusing left UNSAID, a rude comment that just pops into your head, maybe an unpleasant reply to a questions because you are tired or busy, maybe you think of something that someone else said and you would NEVER repeat it but it pops into your head. No, not a good idea—EVER. People are people—feelings can’t be helped and sometimes thoughts can’t be helped. It it is the not saying things that that keeps this world going.

    Think about it, right, confidence would be ruined. If someone told me something that I promised I wouldn’t tell. Even if it had NOTHING to do with you, but when you mention that person I think of what they told me and then all of a sudden you know. No . . . mind reading needs to stay a thing of science fiction!!!!!!

  2. jenny says:

    All I have to say is “no way” would I care to know what people are thinking and “Amen” to the rest!!

  3. Ron says:

    Nope!

    But more so, because I wouldn’t want anyone to be able to read all the crazy thoughts in MY mind – HA!

    Have a faaaaaaaaabulous Saturday, dear friend!

    ((((( Peg )))))

    X

  4. Gadzukes! I wouldn’t want anybody to read my mind even for an hour! It frequently goes places it shouldn’t. Now, fortunately I have filters as we all do. I don’t think I’d say anything “hurtful” to anyone, but I might think it.

    On the other hand, I wouldn’t want to read anyone else’s mind either. You are walking down the street with your husband and a gorgeous girl gets out of a car. Do you really want to know what goes through his mind? Hah! Me neither!

  5. SuziCate says:

    For your information, you are BEAUTIFUL just the way you are, INSIDE AND OUT! I love you!

Leave a Reply

