Beauty or Brains?

Would you rather be super intelligent or extremely good looking? Bonus: What if you could be both, but not at the same time?

If I HAD to choose one or the other I think I’d rather be intelligent. Unless that meant that to be intelligent you had to be UGLY. I think a lot of times being extremely good looking might help you get your foot in the door but it won’t necessarily keep it there. If you’re as dumb as a box of rocks, I think people will eventually tire of you no matter how good looking you are. By the same token if you are narcissistic that’s an automatic turn off (for me anyway) too. People will put up with a homely person who knows it quicker than a gorgeous person in love with themselves. That gets old real fast.

I think if you’re super intelligent, that also has its drawbacks. I think that is true whether you are gorgeous or homely. On the one hand you’d get bored trying to have conversations with people who are less than intelligent and you’d have a hard time even having people to associate with if you are an unattractive genius.

Have you ever watched that show True Beauty? I think finding a good combination of the two is the best way to be. Intelligent but not Mensa level and attractive enough not to scare people off. I’d rather be average in both ways any day. Our middle daughter is extremely intelligent and once made the comment (innocently, not at all in a mean way) that she considered her dad and I to be of average intelligence. I asked her where she thought she got those smarts? She is also extremely beautiful. She somehow lucked out and got the full bag of chips on both parts. But Mother Nature has to compensate somewhere so she was also cursed with less common sense or street smarts than the average person.

I sometimes feel like things that ordinary average people think of on a daily basis just don’t cross their minds. Or maybe they just have so much intelligence cramming their brains that there was no space left for common sense! She used to do some really strange (to me) things growing up that I think would have been a given had she not been SO smart.

A prime example was when she first started driving she was always running out of gas or almost running out of gas and her only explanation was that she would just forget to look at the gas gauge. She actually asked me to buy her NEON ORANGE stickers to put on her rearview mirror that read CHECK GAS so that she would notice it and check the gauge.

One weekend she spent the night at one of her friend’s houses. She had probably only had her car a few weeks and I never even thought of the fact that she had not yet had to put gas in it herself. The couple of times she needed gas her dad or I happened to have the car and filled the tank up for her. So, she spent the night with her friend on Saturday night and bright and early Sunday morning my cell phone rings and we had the following conversation:

 #2: Mom, I think there is something wrong with my car!

Me: What do you mean? What is it doing?

 #2: Nothing! It just stopped going.

Me: What do you mean it just stopped going?

#2: Well, I was driving down the road and it just stopped….

Me: Was it bucking or spitting or making noise or what?

#2: No, it just kind of stopped….

Me: Where are you?

#2: I got it off to the side of the road in front of the elementary school.

I get up and throw my clothes on and head to pick her up. On the way it dawned on me that she might have ran out of gas so we I got there I asked her if she thought she was out of gas and she said “Possibly”. I asked her what she meant by possibly and her answer was:

#2: Well, I noticed on the way there last night that the light (gas gauge light) was on so I stopped at the gas station but I couldn’t figure out how to get the gas cap off and someone pulled up behind me to get gas so I just got in my car and drove off.

 Me: Why didn’t you ask the person behind you if they could help you figure it out?

#2: Well, I didn’t want to look STUPID!

Me: How stupid do you look now sitting on the side of the road, out of gas?

#2: No one else knows it’s because I’m out of gas…. I guess it must have made sense to her. Seriously, I think sometimes that extremely intelligent people grossly over think things or make them way more difficult than they need to be. Maybe their brains are just wired way differently than those of us of average intelligence?

I tend to prefer to blend into the background rather than standout so I guess if I HAD to choose one it would be to be intelligent because then people wouldn’t necessarily notice unless I chose to reveal it. If you’re just drop dead gorgeous everyone who can see would notice it. I think I’d be uncomfortable with people staring at me all the time.

So how about you? Which would YOU choose?

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Stupid Stuff We've Done, Stories About My Kids and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Beauty or Brains?

  1. Ron says:

    I would choose intelligence.

    However, ‘common sense’ intelligence.

    I honestly don’t think I’m intelligent when it comes to being ‘school smart’ because I can’t learn that way. I’m more ‘street smart.’ I enjoy teaching myself by researching things on my own (through trial and error). I learn and retain things better that way.

    Fab post, Peg! Hope you’re enjoying a great Saturday!

    X

  2. I can be both? I’ll take them! I suffer from very ordinary in both beauty and intelligence. I guess it’s not so bad. At least I am in good company. 😉

    Your daughter kinda sounds like my son.
    -FringeGirl

  3. suzicate says:

    She does have brains and beauty…and still love her even if she runs out of gas!

  4. Pingback: The 600! « Square Peg in a Round Hole

Leave a Reply

