Twists of Fate

Our Living Out Loud topic  for this month is all about the what if’s in life.  Is there such a thing as destiny? How large of a role does fate play in our lives or is it just the name we give for the magic of how things come about?  Have you ever looked back and realized how close you came to not getting where you are now?

Tell us about how strong a part fate has played in your life. Have you dodged any bullets (actual or metaphorical)? I’m not a big Robert Frost fan, but what was the road you took that was less traveled by?

I don’t know if its fate, kismet, duplicity, serendipity, destiny or whatever you want to call it but I have always strongly felt that everything happens for a reason.  Whether that is working in fate’s hands or in God’s grand scheme of things or however you want to look at it, there is still a reason that everything happens.

I am not saying that I think everything is predestined.  I think we all still have free will and we can always change the course of fate if you will but I feel that certain things are supposed to happen and if we don’t interfere with them they will happen.  Sometimes we may circumvent those things from happening at a specific time but if they truly were “meant to be” then a way will be found to make them happen.

I’m sure that with me meeting my husband there were probably times that we crossed each other’s paths before we actually met and even though I was “stalking” him, the timing just wasn’t right.  I do think about that.  If I hadn’t moved to Louisiana to work for my brother I’d have never met him.  And if I’d not gone to Morrision’s Cafeteria to eat with my brother and his wife on that night I finally “found him” again, I might have given up hope but it just so happened he walked out on the line right before we came in.  If he had waited just a couple of minutes longer I’d have missed seeing him.  But who’s to say I wouldn’t have run into him later.

And last year when I got laid off from my job.  At first I was very upset and worried and angry.  Then it worked out that because I got laid off, we then qualified for a mortgage reduction (which we sorely needed) which would not have been possible had I still been working.  And had I still been working I would not have been able to take the time to be up here in Virginia with my family where I feel I’m needed.  And since I don’t have a job I am able to stay up here as long as I need to be here.

Our latest couple of happenings have been concerning our vehicles.  We were out looking at used vehicles to replace our van.  Hubby wanted a truck in a bad way.  We were looking at trucks and then I, on the spur of the moment, said “Let’s run by VW”.  We went by and found a great deal on a used Jetta for my husband.  My car was getting a lot of miles on it too so every time we went out of town we were having to rent a vehicle because Hubby didn’t want me travel in mine alone.  We told our salesman to keep us in mind if they got a good deal on a newer trade in.

He kept to his promise and called us with the great deal we got on our current vehicle.  He called us just a couple of weeks before we found out my brother was sick. We had just gotten the car the week or so before and had we not gotten the car we would not have been able to drive up here without having to rent a car and it was too expensive to rent a car for this length of time and had I flown I still would have needed to rent a car so that I’d have a vehicle at my disposal while I was here.

Again, everything fell into place.  I have no doubt that the reason we got such a great deal on this vehicle and that it happened at the time that it did because “someone” already knew what was in the works and that I’d need to be able to be free to travel here and I’d also need to have a vehicle to get here with.  So whatever you want to call it… fate or destiny, I’m here where I need to be and everything fell into place at the time it needed to so that I would be here.  You have to able to see that there is a greater plan at work and something much larger than ourselves making it all happen.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Living Out Loud, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Twists of Fate

  1. terrepruitt says:

    I also believe exactly as you said “there is a greater plan at work and something much larger than ourselves making it all happen.”

  2. Dwight says:

    Yes I know that it was fate that push us together. I know that it was fate to have 3 beautiful girls. I know it was fate to become a good husband and a great father. I know that it is fate that my life is fuller and richer than any man. If this my “greater plan” please thank the author. I know that I am blessed and loved. Dwight

  3. For me my ‘something much larger than myself’ is God. I do believe He works in my life to bring things together for my good and His glory.

    Good post and Happy Weekend!
    -FringeGirl

  4. Ron says:

    I couldn’t agree with you more, Peg….

    “I am not saying that I think everything is predestined. I think we all still have free will and we can always change the course of fate if you will but I feel that certain things are supposed to happen and if we don’t interfere with them they will happen.”

    I too believe we have a free will and can change the course of fate. However, I also believe in destiny because certain things will happen for good reason.

    “You have to able to see that there is a greater plan at work and something much larger than ourselves making it all happen.”

    Amen!

    Fab post, dear friend! Have a wonderful weekend!

    (((( Peg )))

    X

  5. Pingback: … in a Bottle » Blog Archive » Recap of Living Out Loud volume 26: Tempting fate

Leave a Reply

