Praying For Monkeys

I feel I need to explain some of the stuff going on the last week or so.  I had a few posts written ahead of time and I’ve posted most of them but have not been reading other people’s blogs hardly at all and haven’t even been responding to comments on mine. 

A little bit of back story.  My brother has always been one of my heroes.  I remember when I was little, before I started elementary school I think, I fell out of a huge oak tree beside our house and fell into a wasp nest (or hornet or some kind of bee).  My older (of the two) brother took off running for the house and left me.  Monte came back and practically carried me to safety.

Monte at about 8 or 10

Another time, when I was about 4 or 5, my parents had given me a doll for Christmas that year that was called “the Sassy Walker”.  I called her Saucy Walker.  She was almost as tall as me and when you’d hold her hand and kind of pull her along she would “walk” with you.  She was my favorite doll and one of my best friends came over and was jealous of the doll and pulled her head off.   I was devastated, inconsolable over my doll.  Monte searched and searched until he bound a rubber band big enough that he could finagle it to hold her head back on.  He was my hero after that.

And just so you know what the monkey part means in my title.  My girls for some reason had a hard time saying the name Monte but they could say monkey so they have always called him Uncle Monkey.  So when I say praying for monkeys I mean their Uncle Monkey, my sweet sweet brother, Monte.

My brother about 15 years ago.

A few weeks ago Monte hurt his shoulder at work.  They think he tore his rotor cuff.  He has been in a lot of pain.  Last week the pain got so bad he finally allowed his wife to take him to the emergency room.  He was supposed to have an MRI the next day.  Their main concern at that moment was trying to get him stabilized and his heart under control.  He was in such an agitated state and in so much pain that they were afraid he was going to have a heart attack.

After several tests they diagnosed him with cancer.  In the last week we have found out he has inoperable stage 4 cancer.  It apparently started in his right lung, possibly years ago, as he has been a pretty much lifelong smoker.  It is now in his lungs, his abdomen, liver, around his kidneys, brain, lymph glands and I think adrenal glands. Bottom line… he is one sick little puppy.  He has a LONG hard fight ahead of him.  He has started radiation and chemo. 

My brother and his sweet wife

Not only does he have stage 4 cancer but his oldest step daughter does too.  She is the one I wrote about previously that I was doing the 3 day walk for.  She was diagnosed with breast cancer when she was pregnant with her last child, in her mid twenties.  She had a mastectomy and radiation and chemo and it came back.  She now has it in her lungs and brain also.  She had three children under the age of 10.  She was put in the hospital last night on the same floor as my brother due to a reaction between her medication and her chemo. Hopefully she will be getting out today. (She got to go home).

Monte's daughter and her family

I plan to stay in Virginia as long as he and his family need me here.  It’s just I feel very fortuitous that I am not working right now so that I can be there.  I can be there for him and his family and be able to carry my mom and dad back and forth a few times a week since they don’t drive long distances any more since they are getting older.  It’s about a 2 and a half hour drive from where they live to where my brother lives.  I want to be there to do whatever I can to help.

With his well loved grandchildren

The reason I even tell you all about it at all is because I need a favor from all of you.  I ask that any of you reading this PLEASE pray for my brother and his family.  If you have prayer lists at your church, please add them to it.  If you have prayer vigils, please remember them then.  If you want to pray for them personally, please do.  If you want to ask others to pray for them, please do.  We can use all the prayers we can get.  This fight will be literally the fight of his life.  I so appreciate each of you so much.  Thank you for your love, prayers and support.

If I had not made a commitment to post every day for 2011 I would be taking a break.  I will try as long as I can to keep that commitment.  Please remember my brother and his family.  Thank you again for your support and your prayers. Please pray for our “monkey”.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Praying For Monkeys

  1. terrepruitt says:

    A friend of mine is doing a Relay for life for her sister. I decided to join to support her for her sister, as plans were starting to take shape, I heard about your brother. So originally I was going to walk for my friend’s sister, but I realized that she is just one of the people I will be doing it for.

    I am doing a benefit Nia class. The class is not until April, but we will be dancing for your brother too. And now that I know about his step daughter we will be dancing for her too. So in addition to my prayers there will be even more hearts added to the thoughts of healing for your family.

    Ha! I just thought of something. I will make sure there is a song where we can make lots of monkey noises and we will do it for Uncle Monkey!!!!

    Thoughts of healing, prayers of peace, hugs and kisses to you, My Friend.

  2. Chrissy says:

    I’m so sorry that your beautiful family is going through this right now. I’m going through a tough situation as well and I’m trying to make sense of it all and figure out God’s plan.

    I’ll pray for you and your family.

    BTW, I had a Sassy Walker doll, too. God, I loved her!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks so much Chrissy! I can’t believe you had a Sassy Walker doll! I’ve NEVER heard of anyone else who had her and yes, I loved her dearly…

  3. Ron says:

    You best believe that I will sharing MUCH prayer, meditation, good thoughts and love with Uncle Monkey and his family.

    And with you too, dear friend!

    ((((((( Peg ))))))))

    You take care.

    X ya, bunches!

  4. Heather says:

    What a horrible time for you and your family. Prayers and hugs for all!

  5. suzicate says:

    Yes, we do love our Monkey with all our hearts and he is being lifted up from every corner of Virginia and several states away. See you Sunday. Love you.

  6. jenny says:

    You got it Peg!!! Will be praying for you also with all the traveling…be careful!!

  7. Oh Peggy, I am so sorry. Monte and your family are going through such a tough time. I’m so glad you are able to be there with them at this time. Of course, our prayers are with you all.

  8. Pingback: Year in Review « Square Peg in a Round Hole

  9. Dianna says:

    I think I had a Sassy Walker doll, too!

    Anyway – since I’m reading this on 12/29/11, I know that you lost your brother. My condolences to you and your family.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Dianna. Yes, it was a very hard year. I appreciate the sentiments. I guess I’m etting to that age where that becomes much more a real possibility than we like.

Leave a Reply

