Tap Tap Tap On My Window

It’s time for Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop yet again.  This week I chose prompt #2.) What did they get into now? Describe a time your toddler got into something they shouldn’t have.

Where to start?  When my girls were little they got into all kinds of stuff.  I know, I know…. to gaze upon those little angelic faces you’d never dream there was ever any devilment there but boy is there!  Oops, I mean WAS there.  Yes, of course they never get into any devilment now that they are of legal age.  Okay, you can quit laughing now.  I am NOT that naïve.

I think I may have told this story before but you know with the old age I forget sometimes what I have and haven’t written about so I’ll just tell it again.

Our very first home we bought we had “custom” made.  By that I mean we met with the builder and had certain features changed and added.  Little changes that most people would never think to add.  Like our shower heads in the bathrooms were all 6’8” from the bottom of the tub.  Being an average height person, I had never ever thought about this “problem” that faces most tall people.  Considering I married quite a tall person, I soon found out.  Until we built our house, he had ever been able to stand in the shower to wash his hair!  He had to sit in the tub to wash his hair because the stream of water hit him in the belly.  At best if you turned it out sideways as far as it would go you might hit his chest.  Install them  6’8” from the shower floor and viola! He was able to stand and wash his hair.

Because we took the time to customize these features, it made the house seem more like ours and we took special pride in the work that was accomplished.  It was our first home that we bought so it took on an even greater meaning to us.  We lived about an hour away but we still made at least weekly trips to make sure they were making satisfactory progress.

Finally, the move in day arrived.  I was ecstatic!  It was everything I had dreamed of in home ownership.  We had to normal suburban family.  Two cars, two kids, two pets.  At the time that we moved in the house our kids were a little over 2 and a half and almost exactly one year old.  They loved the house too and each had their own bedroom.  #2, still being only a year old, (barely) was still in a crib and #1 had graduated to a big bed. 

My husbands mother was also staying with us when we moved.  She had come to visit after flying out to Arizona for hubby’s brother’s wedding. Hubby hadn’t seen her in close to 20 years I think.  She helped me so much with the packing and unpacking. 

The movers had left and I was hanging curtains in #1’s bedroom.  I must note here that I did not want wooden windowsills on the windows because I didn’t want to little ones running into it and bruising their temple or cheek or something.  It was just a smooth plaster finish..That afternoon I was, as I said, hanging the curtains on #1’s windows when the phone rang.  I set the hammer down and went to answer the phone. 

It was my husband calling to ask how my day was going since he hadn’t talked to me all day and we usually chatted several minutes on the phone.  As I was talking to him I became aware of this little tap tap tap through the closed door. When I’d stop talking and listen I could hear a tap and then silence until I started talking again.  This went on for several seconds and I kept wondering what the noise was. Finally it dawned on me!  OMG…. The window sill.

I  ran in #1’s bedroom and there she stood….in front of her window….. with hammer in hand….. tap tap tap…..tap tap tap…..tap tap TAP.  ALL the way down to the bare metal underneath the plaster!  Our brand new custom built home… broken before I could even get the curtains hung.  And as I rushed across the room ready to spit fire she turned around and flashed me a huge grin and waving the hammer in her chubby little fist she triumphantly declared “I hep Mommy!”

Now I ask you…. How in the world could you be mad at a face like this???

 
 

 

 

 

 

#1 after she dressed herself as "Oscar the Grouch"

 

In her Easter Bonnet

 
 

 

 

 

 

Playing ballerina. Anyone else see visions of Black Swan WAY before Natalie Portman?

 

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop, Stories About My Kids, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Tap Tap Tap On My Window

  1. Hahaha, awwwwww.. she’s so cuuuuute!

  2. Diane says:

    She was a little cutie! And here I thought only boys did stuff like this!
    Dropped in from the workshop. Have a great day! 🙂

  3. Ron says:

    “tap tap tap…..tap tap tap…..tap tap TAP. ALL the way down to the bare metal underneath the plaster! Our brand new custom built home… broken before I could even get the curtains hung.”

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! OMG, how funny!

    But you’re right….how you could be mad at a cute little face like that. These photos are so precious! LOVE the last one with her in the makeup!

    Have a wonderful Thursday, dear friend!

    X

  4. Samantha says:

    OMG … that’s one of those situations you have to breathe deep before you look at it a 2nd time. And now you have a story forever …

    I’m here from Mama Kat’s.

  5. LisaF says:

    Oh my goodness, how stinkin’ cute are these pictures! The last one is simply a treasure.

  6. suzicate says:

    Love the one with the dog bowl on her head! Definitely too cute to get mad at!

  7. NikNik says:

    I AM too cute, aren’t I?!?!? Sorry bout the window ma!

Leave a Reply

