Road Trip

Describe the best road trip you’ve ever taken. Bonus: If you’re feeling all glass half empty, the worst road trip. Or describe a road trip you’d like to take and why you want to take it.

This is very appropriate since #3 and I are preparing to take a road trip right now.  We are leaving this afternoon heading for Virginia to see my brother in the hospital.  We are going to pick up my mom and dad along the way so we can take them with us.  It will be 7 or 8 hours in the car today and about 2 or 3 each way to see him tomorrow and then another 7 or 8 back the next day.  Not my favorite kind of road trip but necessary.

We have taken many a road trip in our day. Especially when I lived in New Orleans and my family lived in Virginia. Talk about a long trip. Almost 24 hours in the car. And I made it a couple of times by myself. Once with my injured brother in law and my oldest who was a baby at the time. I remember vividly that by the time I got to NC I was sticking my hand in the cooler beside me in the van and wiping my face with COLD wet water to stay awake and stopping several times at Waffle Houses to get a cup of coffee to stay awake through the night.

Guess I must be having a glass half empty day because the only ones standing out at the moment are the ones that are memorable because they were bad….

Or the time that I think I wrote about before that I had driven from NC to VA on a Friday night just to be prepared to leave the next morning to drive to Mississippi to see my sister with my parents and as soon as I got to my parents we literally took my stuff from my car and put it in my parents van and left. And sometime in the wee hours of the next morning (I was supposed to be my dad’s co-pilot) I had to lay down in the back because I was falling asleep and my dad asked me a question about an exit and in my incoherent state I guess I told him to go ahead and exit and we ended up in pretty much downtown Atlanta in the projects. NOT a good idea. My dad was furious with me.

Or the time we got the call from my husband’s ex step mother to tell him his dad was in the hospital in New York so we packed the car and he and I and #3 pretty much drove through the night to Burlington, Vermont. His dad was in the hospital right across the lake, river or whatever the heck that body of water that it was. I’ve never seen so much snow in my life. Thank God Hubby was driving because I couldn’t even see the road. It was horrible. A couple of times you literally could not see the road for the snow. It was that drifty kind of stuff that makes you feel like you’re in a Munch painting! A couple of times I was really afraid the road was closed and we just didn’t know it because we drove for it seemed like hours and never say another vehicle or any house lights. I think we were the only idiots stupid enough to be out in that weather.

I almost  felt like we were in a bad episode of the Twilight Zone. Seriously, every time we stopped to ask how far something was we always got the exact same answer “A couple of hours”. Nothing was ever in miles…always a couple of hours. And a couple of hours later it was still a couple of hours. Endless.

I remember that the snow in Burlington was scraped and piled up along the road and the snow drifts were so high that you couldn’t see the stores and restaurants from the road. You had to pull into the parking lots (and only one entrance per block or so was cleared) to see what it was you were looking for! I’ve never seen that much snow before and don’t care to again. But… I do have to give them credit that the roads were cleared! I remember it was SO cold IN the car with the heaters ON that I took a credit card and could scrape the ice off the inside of the windows. And we had to take a ferry from where we were staying in Vermont to the hospital in New York (maybe it was Lake Champlaign?) and as the ferry was cutting through the water (ICE) you could see it freezing behind the ferry and it crossed the lake. Weirdest thing ever.

This was at our hotel in Vermont

But on the positive side I did get to see my first ever in the wild moose sighting. Instead of deer crossing signs there were moose crossing signs! And as we were leaving, there in a field, standing majestically, was my one and only inthewild moose! And #3 and I got to go to the Ben and Jerry’s factory and those Vermont Teddy Bears.

I think this was outside the Teddy Bear Factory in Vermont.

There was also the time when my oldest two were still toddlers and I was driving to VA with them and had given them M&M’s and Skittles to keep them occupied. Yeah, I know… not my brightest idea ever. Anyway, they were fighting with each other. Literally hanging upside from their seats pulling each others hair, etc., when suddenly one of them blurts out “I don’t feel so good!” and you guessed it… my entire back carpet of my van, which was already a multi hued blue and cream carpet was joined by “all the colors of the rainbow” AND chocolate. Not a pretty mixture. Kind of like liquid chocolate covered Skittles!

Of course we were between exits and when we finally found one there was only one gas station that had one of the filthiest bathrooms I’d ever seen. And those continuous roll towels that looked like it had been reused at least a dozen times. I think I had to go in and buy a box of tissues because that was all they had in the line of paper products. You ever try to clean up two toddler’s and 2 bags each of pre-chewed liquefied M&M’s and Skittles with tissues? Because when one got sick the other got sick from watching the first one! Not a trip I want to repeat.

So, to get off the vomit train and clear that smell let’s talk about a road trip I’d LIKE to take. I hope in the next year or so for hubby and I to be able to take a couple of weeks off and drive out west. I’ve never been to the Grand Canyon. I’ve never seen the Black Hills of the Dakotas. I’ve never been to Washington State or Oregon or Wyoming. Hubby’s brother lives in Arizona and we haven’t been out to see them since our trip out when he got married. I’d love to take a leisurely drive out that way.

Maybe we could stop somewhere along the way to see something I’ve never seen. Then go see my BIL and his lovely wife, then maybe go see my nephew in Wyoming and maybe even head out further and see my cousin in Oregon. Along the way I’d like to stop and see all those landmarks I’ve never seen. I want to see Mt. Rushmore, The Snake River Canyon and maybe even the ocean from the perspective of Washington State. One day soon I hope we can do that.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Road Trip

  1. Great post! The Grand Canyon is beautiful. If you check out my road trip post you’ll see a great shot (if I do say so myself). Lovely images with the little ones and vomit. I could almost smell the unpleasantness as I was reading!

  2. Carol says:

    If you go to the Black Hills, there is a tour that leaves from Deadwood – it’s an all day thing, but you see things you might not otherwise. We went when we were there in 2009 and loved it!

  3. I like a good road trip, but not having to push for time and miles. Alex and I do a meandering trip usually. It takes us a while traveling with Honey and Harry and that’s a good thing.

  4. Ron says:

    I love a good road trip, especially if I can share the driving with someone. That’s one of the things kinda miss about not having a car.

    Have a GREAT road trip to Virgina. Drive careful, dear friend.

    Hope you’re brother is okay.

    X

  5. Alaina says:

    A road trip and a wild moose siting? Sounds like fun to me!

Leave a Reply

