Sing a Song

When you’re feeling down, what music cheers you up? Bonus: why do you think this music has that effect? What music do you prefer when you’re very happy?

 Have you ever seen the movie Benny and Joon? I don’t know why but I have loved that movie since I first saw it. It’s kind of depressing in parts but also makes you feel good in parts but the song that I always associated with that movie and that never fails to put me in a mood to dance and jump around (you might not want to be around for that) is The Proclaimer’s singing “To Be With You” also known as “500 Miles”.

As soon as I hear those first few words…. When I wake up, well I know I’m gonna be, I’m gonna be the man that wakes up next to you.” I can feel the adrenaline start pumping and by the time it gets to the chorus “And I would walk 500 miles and I would walk 500 more, just to be that man who walked 1000 miles to fall down at your door”. Of course I can’t even type the words without singing them in my head, which means I’m really torturing myself. Good thing I’m not singing out loud or the neighbors might call the cops thinking I’m getting killed or something.

As an added bonus, for some reason I get visions of Johnny Depp sitting in a tree singing outside my window too. What’s not to like about that?

But seriously, I could be in the worst mood in the world and I can hear that song and it cheers me right up. Here. Give it a listen and see if it doesn’t cheer you up:

S0 And I have to admit that despite my overexposure and utter disgust when I was a kid of my father’s taste in music I have to apologize to him now because I have become quite the country music fan. I used to be a rock and roll kinda gal and for the last several years, even though I still listen to all different kinds of music (except usually hard rap) I listen to country music most of the time in my car. I guess it’s my go to music when I’m in just about any mood. One of my favorite guaranteed to put me in a good mood country songs is “I’ve Got Friends in Low Places” by Garth Brooks.

I tried to find it on YouTube for you but couldn’t so…. I’m not sure if it reminds me of some of the friends I’ve had over the years or what but it just puts me in a rip roaring good mood. And it kinds lets you thumb your nose at all those exes you’ve ever been upset with.

And my other favorite country song is by David Alan Coe and its called “You Never Even Called Me By My Name”. I remember when the girls were little we used to go to this steak house down in Fayetteville, GA and every hour all the waitresses would stop what they were doing and the cooks would come out of the kitchen and they would sing this song. I found this clip on YouTube but my speaker on my laptap is malfunctioning so I hope it’s the right version.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vAOVRkSCWmg              

I also love the ending of it because he says that the song was written by his friend Steve Goodman and that his friend had called him and told him that he had written the perfect country and western song and he said he called him back and said he had NOT written the perfect country and western song because he hadn’t said anything about momma or trains, or trucks, or prison or getting drunk. So he added another verse and it went: I was drunk the day my momma got out of prison and I went to pick her up in the rain, but before I could get to the station in my pickup truck, she got run over by a damned old train. And then he went into the chorus of: Well, I’ll hang around as long as you will let me And I never minded standing in the rain. But you don’t have to call me darlin’ darlin’ You never even called me by my name. I don’t know if I like them so much because they are so corny or because of the music or what but I do love those stupid country music songs. And now I have them alternately playing through my head like bad karaoke. They’re just looping around in there playing havoc in the empty fields of my brain.

Sorry that I have to end this so weirdly but I think I need to go give myself a lobotomy or a brain enema or something. Make it stop.… After I walk my 500 miles and stand in the rain, drunk, waiting for mama to get out of prison.  Just as long as you call me by my name, I don’t want to miss dinner.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sing a Song

  1. Ron says:

    OMG, I didn’t think anyone on this planet remembered the movie, Benny and Joon – what a wonderful story it was. I love ANYTHING Johnny Depp is in.

    Isn’t music great, Peg? It’s one of the most powerful mood enhancers.

    I’ve also grown to enjoy country music. Martina McBride and Bonnie Raitt are a few of my favorite vocal artists.

    I think for me, anything MOTOWN cheers me up and makes me feel happy – and wanna DANCE!

    Hope you’re having a great Sunday, dear friend!

    X

  2. terrepruitt says:

    This got me thinking. I don’t think to listen to music when I’m feeling down. I don’t feel down often so when I do, I think I am getting a cold or I need to drink water. So when I am feeling down, I drink water. I am more the listen to music when I am happy type. So when I am feeling happy I think, “OOoooooo, what can I sing along with/dance to/whatever . . . ”

    I think it is great to have music that cheers you up. Also, like the picture you posted about . . . . music that makes you happy, pictures that make you happy. Anything that makes you happy is nice.

    HUGS to you.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I don’t necessarily turn on music if I’m sad to cheer me, but, if I’m sad and happen to be listening to the radio per se and one of those songs comes on, it always cheers me up and even if I’m in a good mood, it makes it better!

  3. NikNik says:

    I love that song from Benny and Joon too!

Leave a Reply

