Happy Valentine’s Day!

Happy Valentine’s Day Everyone!   Valentine’s Day in our house is usually pretty low key.  Considering almost everyone in our household has always been in the hospitality industry and I think it’s probably the busiest day of the year for restaurants (maybe behind Mother’s Day) I am usually home alone on Valentine’s Day.  This year is no different.  Hubby will probably not be home until midnight or later and he will most likely leave at the butt crack of dawn and I will hopefully be asleep.

So…This year hubby came home on Friday night early and surprised me with a dozen roses!  I really was surprised.  I had no idea he would bring me anything for Valentine’s Day PERIOD…. But to bring me roses early when I wouldn’t expect it was just sweet. 

My beautiful flowers

Another view of my beautiful flowers

And he brought me a card that was very sweet.  Very mushy and very loving.  He’s still got it even if we have been married a bazillion years!

My beautiful card

I'm gonna admit this made me tear up (okay CRY!)

On top of that he came home from working all day and made me dinner!  And champagne!  I know I AM spoiled rotten.  I had no idea he had that planned either.  He brought home steaks so we had a nice steak dinner at home.  Since he works in a restaurant he would rather eat at home and since he’s a better cook than I am I have no problem “letting” him do the cooking.

our champagne

I also have no problem acknowledging how lucky and blessed I am to have him as a partner in life.  He pretty much lets me do whatever I want (within reason).  And as long as we can afford it he lets (or doesn’t complain) me buy pretty much whatever I want.

Last week we started the week as the owners of three Volkswagons.  Hubby and I both drive Jettas and our youngest has a beetle.  None of our cars is new.  We’re not that type of people that have to have fancy new cars to show off.  Another man’s trash is sometimes our treasure.  We keep our cars until they fall apart or quit running.  I think all of our cars were almost 10 years old or older. 

That’s why when our friendly local VW dealership salesman called to let me know that they had gotten in a lease car that we might be interested in.  Keep in mind that we weren’t really in the market for a new (new to me anyway) car.  But the more he told me about the car, the more interested I was.  We went down and took a look at the car and let’s just say I fell in love with it. 

My new baby

 

Side view of my baby

He told me it was a 2008 Jetta and only had a little over 13,000 miles on it. And it had heated seats to keep our tushies warm in the cold weather!   Best part is they ended up selling it to us for $13,500!   SOLD!  So in a week’s time (actually two days) I got a new car, a dozen red roses AND I got dinner made for me.  Yes, ladies, you can be jealous.  I KNOW how fortunate I am and NO you can’t have him!  But you CAN have a happy Valentine’s Day.

Happy Valentine's Day Baby! I love you!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Happy Valentine’s Day!

  1. eri says:

    Remember your favorite saying, we always end up dating boys just like daddy? Well ben got me the same card! Happy vday to the best parents in the world! I love you!

  2. Dwight says:

    I try to measure up to you everyday. More than once, in our marriage, I have been told what a great person you are! You are the standard, as a life partner, I try to be daily. The influence you have on our daughters and who they have become only shows the world what kind of mother and person you are each and everyday! Knowing that I married “up” into this world keeps me treating you the way you should be treated. Lost without purpose would be putting it mildly,if I had not found you. Nor would I be the person I am today.You have enriched my life since the day we met. I know that you could have a better looking husband,or one with more money,or a family with a better background. I know this to be true. I know that you married for love.

    Without end…,

    Rain on my roof
    tickles the darkness
    and

    whispers in my ear

    to
    remind me
    of

    the time

    you
    walked barefoot across

    my soul.

    Dwight Burke 1973

    You are my heart and soul….. love

    Dwight Burke Feb 14,2011

  3. Alaina says:

    Aw, what a sweet husband and what a wonderful Valentine’s Day!

  4. Ron says:

    OMG, I got a mushy reading this post, Peg!

    Not only are the flowers exquisite, but the sentiment in the card is so touching. You can tell a great deal of thought went into it.

    What a guy!

    HAPPY VALENTINE’S DAY to you and hubby!

    X

    P.S. LOVE your new baby. It’s so sharp-looking!

  5. Truly, you have Valentines Day every day of the year!

  6. suzicate says:

    I know that girl beneath the roses…I have that pic in my living room, too! You two are perfect for each other. Happy Valentines Day to you both today and every day!

  7. Spot says:

    Awww…what a sweet post! I have long believed (well okay about six or seven months) that you guys are a wonderful couple, wonderful people who are perfect for each other. This post proves it.

    That poem from Dwight made me tear up. How cute is that?

    ♥Spot

  8. You definitely have a wonderful man! One in a million! Happy V Day!

  9. Jimmy says:

    And after you go and give Ron a ride you will have to drop by SoCal and take Cindy and I for one 🙂

    What a wonderful week you have had Peg, you both are blessed to have one another as good people deserve each other, you have a good man and he has a wonderful lady.

    Happy Valentines Day you two

  10. LOVE THE CAR! Sweeetttt! Man, can’t wait to see you rolling into to town.
    You do have wonderful man, you are both so deserving. I am so glad you had that special time and night together.

  11. NikNik says:

    My friends have always told me how lucky I am to have parents that are so in love! you guys are too darn cute!

Leave a Reply

