Loving Me Some Loveless Cafe’

Today we went to Loveless Café for breakfast and met my cousin and her boss. We had a wonderful meal. When I first heard about Loveless I thought it had something to do with Patty Loveless since she’s a country star and it’s in Nashville but apparently it has nothing whatsoever to do with her or her family. It apparently opened over half a century ago and I’m not sure Patty Loveless is even that old!

You can order individual meals or family meals which is a set price per person, depending on which one you order. We got the more expensive version at $12.95 per person but it was well worth every penny! They bring family sized servings to the table and everyone can chow down. We had bacon and country ham, fruit, grits, gravy, hash brown casserole, scrambled eggs, the best home made biscuits and home made preserves you ever put in your mouth. They bring strawberry, peach and blackberry to the table and will also bring you apple butter if you want it. They bring you sawmill gravy for your biscuits and red eye gravy for your ham. As my hubby says, it will make your tongue slap your brain!

You can order from their website at: http://www.lovelesscafe.com/ They ship all over. They will sell you their biscuit mix but won’t give you the recipe! The last time we went they had told us that only one employee at a time knows the actual recipe to safeguard their secret. Their main biscuit maker had been with them something crazy like 30 years I think. I think she passed away last year so I’m assuming they must have had an assistant biscuit maker to take her place because they are still awesome!

They have a little country store where you can buy the preserves and coffee cups and all kinds of shirts and stuff. They also have a huge restored barn on the premises where they occasionally have concerts and stuff and they rent it out for like weddings and stuff. I know our oldest went there last year I think for a song writer’s thing where they come and perform their songs. She said it was really nice.

After our wonderful breakfast we had the crane carry us out to our car! I wish… We went to the Gaylord Opryland Hotel after that.  Since I spent the day playing tourist and then drove back to Atlanta this evening,  I am going to put the pictures of the Loveless Café in today and I will try to do the ones from Opryland Hotel tomorrow.

Enjoy Loveless!

The guy prepping the meats in the "smokehouse" next to the cafe.

#1 & her hubby waiting to be called for breakfast. With all the gliders and stuff it looks like Grandma's yard!

The shops to buy your goodies

The barn where they hold special events

Inside one of the dining rooms

The lobby with the pictures of all the stars that have eaten there

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Loving Me Some Loveless Cafe’

  1. Ron says:

    “We had bacon and country ham, fruit, grits, gravy, hash brown casserole, scrambled eggs, the best home made biscuits and home made preserves you ever put in your mouth.”

    OMG, that sounded AWESOME! I love me some country-style food – yummy!

    And the place looks so neat! I love restaurants that have a cool ambiance. It adds to the eating experience!

    Glad to hear you guys had a great time, dear friend!

    Enjoy your Monday…..X

    P.S. hope you’re feeling better.

  2. NikNik says:

    mmmmmmm… biscuits!!!!

  3. Carol says:

    So much food! I’d have to be rolled out.

  4. Dagn! That all sounds awesome, but Peg, if I can manage a piece of toast and 1/2 a banana in the morning I’m doing good. I can’t really eat until lunch time. So I hope that place is open late!

  5. Of course, I meant to type “Dang” not “Dagn” (but I could pretend it meant “Dig In”.)

  6. Spot says:

    OMG. That sounds so delicious!! If I ever make it to Nashville, that will be on the list of places to visit. I love breakfast!

    ♥Spot

  7. SuziCate says:

    Mama and Daddy are big breakfast eaters; bet they’d LOVE this place!

  8. Jimmy says:

    Sounds like my kind of place, I love a restaurant that serves family style like this, one of the best we found was just as you described in a small restaurant in Maggie Valley, NC

Leave a Reply

