Will You Remember Me?

What do you want to be remembered for?

This was one of the recent topics put out there for postaday2011.  I find this a very interesting topic.  I could go funny and say what a friend of mine once said.  She said she was going to have engraved on her tombstone “I told you I was sick!” 

Well, I don’t really want to be known for being sick in life or in death.  I don’t consider myself a whiner and would hate to be remembered as such.  I’d rather be remembered for something positive.  I don’t want to be famous and I don’t need anything grandiose.  When I’m gone I’d just like people to have positive thoughts come to their mind when they remember me. 

I want to be remembered as a good person, a good wife and a good mother.  I know I haven’t always been the best wife in the world but I try to be.  There are times when I could have been a much better wife but I do try.  I love my husband with all my heart and hope that he thinks I have been a good wife to him.  I hope that he always knows that I have always tried even though there have been times I considered myself a failure as a wife.

I have always tried to be the best mom possible.  There were times I considered I was a failure at that too.  The times I forgot important events in their lives, like the time #2 was being honored at the Board of Education and I completely forgot.  Yeah, I deserved the worst mom award for that one.  The times I lost my temper with them and yelled or worse spanked them.  Spanking them if they deserved it I don’t regret but then times I have spanked them unwarranted, like when I spanked #2 for something #1 did because she said #2 did it.  Yeah, worst mom award again. Poor #2… that’s twice for her.  Or when we got #1 out of bed at 1 in the morning (on a school night) to accuse her of taking drugs because we found a crystallized Tic Tac in her back pack? Or when I missed when #3’s cheerleading squad won the regional championship because I was in Virginia attending a concert with my cousin?  Yeah, they were all times I should have gotten worst mom award.

But I look now at what wonderful mature young women they have turned out to be and I know I did something right.  I know I couldn’t have always been the worst mom in the world or there is no way they could have turned out to be the excellent human beings they are.  They are smart, confident, compassionate and loving of others.   They are meaningful members of society so I must have done something right.  I want to be remembered as a good mom.

I want to be remembered as a good person.  I don’t purposely hurt anyone else.  I try to make a conscious effort to help others.  There have been times that I know I have hurt people but not because I was trying to.  I’m not perfect and I don’t want to be remembered as such.  I’m imperfect and have many flaws but that doesn’t mean I’m not a good person.  I think I do my part as a meaningful part of society and I think I contribute to the greater good.  I try to make the right choices and not harm others.  I give to charity.  I try not to purposely bring harm.  So I want to be remembered as a good person.

I don’t think that’s a lot to ask.  I don’t want to be famous, or an actress or singer, or philanthropist or public speaker or famous athlete or anything like that.  I just want people to know I’ve done the best I can and that I am a good wife, a good mom and a good person.  How do YOU want to be remembered?  And how will you remember me?

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Will You Remember Me?

  1. jenny says:

    I will probably go first Peg, but if not, I promise to remember you as a good friend and who could not see you as a good mom…look at those 3 beautiful and successful daughters. I just hope mine remember me…lol

    • pegbur7 says:

      You are too funny Jenny. Of course and they will remember you as a great mom and wonderful friend and mentor. You have been there for your kids every step of the way, no matter what.

  2. SuziCate says:

    Of course, you will be remembered as a good person with a heart of gold. We are human, so we err, but it is also human to forgive as none of us are perfect…your goodness outweighs any slight mistake you’ve ever made!

  3. susan sheppard says:

    I can honestly say I am one of the blessed people on the planet. I have a broad spectrum of girlfriends, you being one of the longest best girlfriends I have. You are more than a mom, wife,or friend. You are Peggy, my best friend that I love no matter what,who, or where she is in life. Because you are you. Loving,caring,always ready to step up to any plate, no matter what. That is why you are my friend.I’ve known you since you were 18 years and look at how far our friendship has come.How could that not be a blessing to have a friend that loves you no matter what you do or become.Always there, still loving, caring and smiling. That’s you Peg…

    • pegbur7 says:

      You made me cry girl! But you are right that You have known me since I was pretty wet behind the ears. We have been through an awful lot together. And I will always be here for you just like I know you will always be there for me! I love you with all my heart girl and you know if you EVER need me all you have to do is call and I’ll be there ASAP. I so appreciate your kind words.

  4. Ron says:

    Even though I’m not a parent, I somehow know that it’s not an easy calling. In fact, I think it’s probably one of the most challenging, but rewarding. A parent always wants to do what’s good for their children, but sometimes that means being stern. It’s like a balancing act of guiding, but also allowing your children to make their own choices at times, even though their choice may not always be the best.

    So, I say BRAVA to you for being the wonderful parent that you are. It’s quite evident that you are a caring, loving, and compassionate person.

    And yes, dear friend…you will ALWAYS be remembered as a good person. And a great friend!

    ALWAYS!

    Have a terrific Tuesday, Peg!

    X

  5. I think as parents we always magnify the things we could have done better. There’s no training manual for us when the first “blessing” arrives so we do the best we can. Imperfect system, but when you love your child, that outweighs so many other things.

    I am sure people will remember you for who and what you really are: a loving and caring delight.

  6. You are heartfelt, encouraging, and honest. The proof is in your doting husband, and beautiful daughters. You will definitely be remembered as a good person!

  7. Oh, Peg, what a beautiful post… I think that, ultimately, the things you strive to be remembered for are actually the most meaningful and important. So, yeah, we all remember Michael Jackson for being The King of Pop – but most of the people who know OF him have never met him and don’t know what he was like as a person. I think that when it comes down to our cores, the most important thing we should all strive for is to be remembered with love by those people who we loved in our lifetimes.

  8. This was actually a Spin Cycle topic I kept putting off since it seemed like it could be morbid. But you made it lovely.

  9. terrepruitt says:

    I don’t really think about how I will be remembered. This was a topic of another friend’s blog and I still don’t think about it.

    I guess like anyone, I would like to be thought of in a positive light, but I am more concerned with living true to myself than about what people will think of me when I am dead. I don’t have kids so I won’t have a legacy to pass on.

    OH! You know what I HAVE thought about lately? I pray everytime I leave the house that I DON’T die because it is such a mess. I have had that fear lately. I have not been able to clean and straighten since I injured my toe. So I fear that someone will be left cleaning up this mess and wondering why I didn’t do it myself. But other than that, I think I won’t care so much in my dead state.

    I think of you as a loving sister, mother, wife, friend . . . and funny blogger.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Thanks Terre. I hope I am remembered well. But then again. I’ll be dead so who cares? Right? I just hope I didn’t screw up too bad with my kids.

      • terrepruitt says:

        I think that for me I am more concerned with what is going on while I am here to be concerned about when I am gone. But I also think that if I had kids that would be different.

        I also think it is really odd with kids because two children can grow up in the same house but one can end up with a lot of issues so as a parent all you can do is the best you can do. And your kids sound so awesome.

      • pegbur7 says:

        Thanks Terre. I think my kids are awesome too! Of course they’ve had their moments, but, all in all they are great.

        As for growing up in the same household but so different, Suzi and I talk about that all the time. Our two older sisters are so far different from us that you’d never know we were all four sisters except to look at us!

  10. LisaF says:

    Although we’ve never met in person, I think your words speak volumes about what kind of person you are. And blessed are those who know you. I’d like to be remembered as someone who genuinely cared about family and friends.

Leave a Reply

