Cabin Fever?

How do you stay entertained when you are snowed in?

Ironic that this would be on the postaday2011 the other day since that is exactly what has been our case for almost the last week.  It was supposed to start snowing last Sunday after 9 and it started around 7 or 7:30 I think.  By the time it was 9:00 we had a nice little blanket of show a couple of inches deep.  We went to bed around midnight with a thick blanket of snow and it starting to turn to ice.

Before we took our little trek or shoveled the Dickens out of the street.

We woke up Monday to an incredibly crunchy snow.  Hubby decided to see how bad the “main” roads were so we put on our coats and scarves and boots and slip slided our way to the front of the subdivision.  It was incredibly beautiful but it was also incredibly treacherous.  We made it to Yeager Road at the front of our subdivision and realized only a couple of vehicles had ventured past that point.  We found out later that both of our neighbors had left Sunday night when it first started snowing so that they wouldn’t get snowed in and they could be accessible to their jobs.  Thankfully hubby was on vacation and didn’t have to worry about it because he’d have done the same thing. 

Our "clubhouse" in the snow

Hubby braving the snow

The only prints on the whole street are my footprints.

After we returned home from our little trek hubby proceeded to buy himself cooking (even though we had massive amounts of food already in the house) and I proceeded to busy myself catching up on my TV and movie watching with the family and getting acquainted with my new Kindle.  I actually got it set up and got several books downloaded to it, including the newest David Sedaris collection of short stories called Squirrel Seeks Chipmunk.  I love David Sedaris and Augusten Burroughs.  They are my favorite authors.  Last year the kids got me tickets to go see David Sedaris live in Nashville and he was talking about his new book coming out and read some excerpts from it and he called it a “bestiary” and said it was like fairy tales for adults.  I’ve only read a few of the stories but they are really cute.  Not really like anything I’ve read of his before but it is still funny.

My new toy from my babies

The squirrel and chipmunk from my first download!

 

Then Tuesday we spent a couple of hours (or at least it seemed like a couple of hours) breaking up ice on the street and shoveling it so that #1 and SIL could get out of here and start their trek back to Nashville.  Turns out that SIL forgot his laptop and he needs it for his lab work so we agreed to meet them not too far up the road to get it to him.  Trust me.  That couple of mile trek was nerve wracking.  I was glad to get home and glad to hear from #1 a couple of hours later to find out that they were safe for the night in Kennesaw.  Hubby and I spent the rest of the night quietly at home.  I think I’ve picked up on yesterday’s post with the rest of our snowed in week, so, to keep from boring you anymore, that’s how I keep myself busy when I’m snowed in.  Since we still had electricity and our TV service and internet it wasn’t bad since the only difference was that we couldn’t leave the house.   It was pretty much business as usual except all at home.  How do YOU keep yourself amused when you are snowed in?

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Cabin Fever?

  1. Ron says:

    Oh Peg, I’m sitting here looking at these photos of your beautiful home; thinking to myself….well, if I were to ever be snowed in somewhere I would love it to be there!

    Sitting there amongst all that fluffy snow, it looks heavenly!

    Oooo….and are you lovin’ your new Kindle? Someone I work with got one this year for Christmas and he brought it in show me – it’s AWESOME!

    If I’m ever snowed in, it’s watching movies that would keep me amused and entertained. Especially older movies in black and white.

    Hope you’re have spectacular Sunday, Peg!

    Stay warm and Kindlin’!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Only problem is that looks are sometimes deceiving. It looks ice and fluffy but it’s actually pretty crunchy! We had that layer of ice on top of the snow so lots of it still hasn’t even melted YET.

      Yes, I’m loving the Kindle. While I was at the dentist the other day I kept it in my lap so I could read it while they were “waiting” for stuff to happen! Hope you had a great weekend.

  2. Carol says:

    How do I keep myself amused? By reading your blog of course. And by knitting. And scrapbooking. And blogging. And reading, but I read on my Nook. Aren’t e-readers wonderful devices?

  3. Snow is so pretty, (out the window), but so cold and ice! Don’t even get me started on how much I hate ice! Still, reading, watching movies, taking naps, playing a game of gin all work fine for me to not get too bored.

  4. I would love to know. I never seem to have a problem being “bored”. Snow/ice doesn’t stay longer than a day, so I haven’t had to find out.

    It does look sooo pretty! Glad you had electricity and no problems with that. 🙂

    • pegbur7 says:

      Yes, I’m thankful our cables leading to the houses are all underground once you’re inside our subdivision so if it goes out, it has to be something outside the neighborhood and pretty major.

Leave a Reply

