It’s a Wonderful Life!

As 2010 draws to a close and ushers in a new year I have to look back and declare it a wonderful year.  There were some sad moments but all in all, it was a very good year for our family.

 We lost my dad’s younger brother, who happened to be my favorite uncle suddenly and unexpectedly, but, even that, looking back was probably as much of a blessing as it could have been.  I have to believe that he would not have wanted to linger in sickness.  He would not have wanted to feel he was a burden to anyone (even though I know he would not have been) and had he had the choice to choose, I truly believe he would have wanted to go quickly.  I miss him terribly so I can only imagine how much my dad and mom and my aunt and cousins must miss him.  He was a great man.

 We had our youngest leave home which left us empty nesters.  She moved out on Mother’s Day, no less.  The little stinker!  It broke my heart but I have been so pleased to see her turn into such a responsible young woman. I also think she has developed a deeper appreciation for us, as her parents, than she had when she was living at home.

I was downsized from my job in January which was a HUGE burden financially but things have worked out to our advantage because of it.  We were able to modify our home loan which we only qualified for because we were now a one income household.  Had I kept my job we would not have qualified so it worked out for the best.  And hubby likes the fact that I’m off when he’s off.  Well, I’m off every day now!  It’s not easy in the job market nowadays!

Since I haven’t found a job, I can concentrate more on my writing, which I would not really have time to do if I were working full time.  I can also now choose what I want to do each day rather than have it chosen for me. I have also been able to travel a lot more this year since I haven’t been working and through that I have been able to reconnect with a lot of old friends I hadn’t seen in a long time.

I got to go to Dallas, TX for business with my great friend Angelia and in the process meet a fellow blogger, also named Angelia, from Living, Loving, Laughing and had a blast.  I got to go to Orlando for hubby’s work and meet another blogger, Tricia from Hadessah Speaks which I thoroughly enjoyed.  I got to go to Philadelphia for business (and our anniversary!) and meet yet another fellow blogger, Ron from Vent and we had the greatest time!  I have been so blessed to meet so many new friends through this crazy adventure of blogging!  Gosh, I don’t know what I’d do without you guys.

I re-found my love of writing thanks to my wonderful sister and fellow blogger, SuziCate.  If it weren’t for her love and support I’d never have even known what a blog was, much less think I was capable of writing one myself!  I am so thankful for her encouragement and love.  And I had the privilege of being able to see her not once, not twice but THREE times this year!  YAY ME!  I got to spend some quality time with her for a couple of days when I was on my “wanderlust tour”, then again in August when we kids (yeah, I know we aren’t kids by any stretch of the imagination) threw our mom and dad their 60th anniversary party and then again in October for my Uncle Bo’s celebration of his life.  The reason for the gathering was not good, but getting to see my relatives for an additional time was great.

Also during my wanderlust tour I got to see my friend Donna in South Carolina, my friend Susan in North Carolina and make a pit stop in Pitt County, NC to visit my old stomping grounds and see my old friend Scrappy who had suffered a stroke.  I got to go to Virginia and visit not only my sister but my parents, my favorite cousin and got to reconnect with an old high school friend.  We had a blast.  And on my way back home I got to visit my late friend Weldon’s widow, Janet and her new husband, Glen.  I’d say my “tour” was a success.

A little while later hubby and I got to go back to South Carolina to visit Donna and her husband (and hubby’s best friend) for a couple of days and I got to visit Biltmore and cross that off my bucket list!  Then we moseyed up to Wilmington, NC to visit my friend Susan and her hubby Todd again and enjoyed their wonderful 4th of July celebration with all the fireworks and I got to see her family (mom, dad and sister) that I hadn’t seen since Susan and I lived together eons ago (before I ever even met hubby).  Another successful trip!

I’ve gotten to see my folks 4 more times since then.  I drove up at the end of July to prepare stuff for their anniversary party, then in August for their party, again in October for my uncle’s memorial and then on our way to Philly hubby and I drove through Charlottesville so we could at least have dinner with them.  We also got to enjoy a lovely visit with my cousin Cheryl and her hubby Danny who had come down to visit us in October.

I also got to see my wonderful friend Margie a couple of times during the year.  I had met with several of my old high school friends in April or May (I can’t even remember now when it was I went up there) and she did a wonderful job doing the photography at my parent’s party and I got to see her and her wonderful husband Raymond and her grandsons again in October.  Hubby and I even got to stay with them for a night in August.  We also got to spend a night in my cousin Pam’s fabulous guest house in August so hubby could use her kitchen there to do some of the prep work for the party.  Thanks Pam and Troy for your wonderful hospitality (and Danny and Cheryl for not only letting us, but our kids stay at your house as well).

I think we got to make a couple of trips to Nashville, as well as a few trips to Savannah and even got to stay in those floating cabins on our way back from Nashville on one of our trips.  I was also able to cross riding a Segway off my bucket list on one of my trips to Savannah! 

Even though I’ve been underemployed, we have been watching what we spent and were actually able to not only pay off some major bills, but to also save a little money!  So, all in all, I’d say we had a wonderfully successful year.  We’re all relatively healthy and happy and I really don’t think I could ask for anything more. We have great kids and they have wonderful people in their lives that make them happy.  I have a wonderful family and a wonderful life.  I just hope 2011 is equally productive. 

Once again, thank you all for making 2010 a wonderful year, for sticking with me and encouraging me to keep going at times when I thought I wanted to quit.  Thanks for all the love and support and let’s hope it just keeps getting better.

I hope you all have a wonderful 2011 that’s at least as wonderful as 2010 was for me!  Happy New Year and many many more!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to It’s a Wonderful Life!

  1. Dwight says:

    Top 10 list of 2010

    10.Spending time with Danny on our tour of the BIG ATL! What a great guy he is!
    9. Cooking for Pete and Flo’s 60th wedding dinner(spending quality time with Addison and Lance) They are great Boys! Lessons in Peach cobbler!
    8.Spending a night in Troy’s guest house. It makes you feel like the rich and famous! Thank you dear friend!
    7.Playing fanstay baseball with my family(talking baseball with Rich,Doug,Nikki and #1 SIL)
    6.Cooking for Nikki’s co-workers(they are alot of fun) Feeding the dogs,now that is real fun!)
    5.Watching Erinn grow into a wonderful adult and bringing Big Ben into the family.
    4. Eating at Sara’s resturant. The best meal I have ever eaten. You made this night so special. Love u Boo!
    3.Every meal with my wonderful girls and their love ones! Having Richard spend time with us. Thank God for the Thatcher family!
    2.Every day off is now a holiday. I have gotten to spend more time with my beautiful wife and have grown to love her more.
    1.Seeing Peggy finally getting to rest. She has been giving of herself everyday for the last 29 years. She is the living example of what a mom,a wife and a person should be in life. Rest and enjoy the next part of your life. I love you so much. You could have a better husband,but I could never have a better wife. Your loving husband Dwight.

  2. Jimmy says:

    OK Peg you better hold on to this guy 🙂

    You truly have a wonderful life and I feel blessed to call you a friend.

  3. Ron says:

    Awwww…what a wonderful comment from hubby!

    You guys are so sweet!

    Sounds like you had a faaaaaabulous 2010, Peg!

    Isn’t it something how everthing works out for the best, even when we move through challenging changes?

    Brava to you for always seeing the ‘positive’ in everything!

    Thank you for your friendship this year. I’m so blessed to have met you!

    Wishing you a flawless 2011!

    ((( Peg )))

    X

  4. Peg,

    What a great year!! Loved meeting you and I hope to meet your sweet hubby in 2011!

    I think you are a treasure and an incredibly giving lady. I hope you new year is filled with travels, blessings, and lots and lots of love!!

    You deserve it.

    Happy New Year!

  5. suzicate says:

    You have had a busy year traveling all over! And Dwight is a sweetie…hope 2011 is a great year for all! Love you!

  6. LisaF says:

    Isn’t is amazing sometimes how the struggles and tragedies in our lives turn out to be blessings in disguise? Here’s to a new year of God’s blessings (sometimes disguised as problems).

  7. NikNik says:

    Wonderful post ma! and wonderful comments from the Daddy-O!

  8. terrepruitt says:

    Awww. How sweet. I love that your hubby reads and comments. Awesome. I love the love.

    I think it is really cool that you were able to “re-live” all your trips a bit in this post. What a great idea.

    I am glad you had a such a great yaer.

    Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

