Total Eclipse Of My Heart

In case anyone can’t tell by my usual Wordless Wednesday pictures I have long been fascinated by the sky.  I love clouds, I love stars, I love the moon.  I find there is so much beauty that God has given us and most of the time all you have to do is look up to see evidence of it.

I have always been fascinated by shooting stars and I get so excited when there are meteor showers but I am almost always disappointed because I either end up sleeping through it or I don’t see anything.  But I still keep looking!

I love beautiful sunsets which I was privy to tonight.  I actually told hubby to pull over a couple of times because I wanted to get a good shot. Unfortunately I didn’t have my camera with me so I had to take them with my cell phone and he kept telling me “Just wait til we get home. It will be prettiest from right there!”  Well, it was pretty but by the time we got home it was almost over.  I got a couple of shots but nothing compared to what we saw on the way home.  That is so totally frustrating for me not to be able to capture on film what I see with my eyes. I gotta take some photography classes!

I am very excited about tonight.  I may not get any pictures but I hope to at least get a glimpse with my own eyes.  For those of you who have been on Mars or something, tonight/early tomorrow morning is the first time in 372 years that the Winter Solstice, and full lunar eclipse occur on the same night.  If I can stay awake I get to see with my own eyes something that will literally only happen once in my lifetime!  I am so stoked!  I just hope I can stay awake and if all is lined up in my universe then maybe I’ll get some pictures to prove it.

I will leave you with a picture I found of how beautifully red the moon looks during a lunar eclipse.

Courtesy of CBS news.com

And here are the few pictures that I got tonight of the beautiful sunset.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Total Eclipse Of My Heart

  1. suzicate says:

    Pretty. I love the sky, too. Dirt Man always says I put too much sky in my pics, and I say I do it on purpose! Will never forget how when we lived at the old house we and Stewart and Teresa was lay on the back of their dad’s truck and watch the sky for UFOs and he’d have me so scared that one was coming after me! Took me years to learn to enjoy the stars etc…and not just search for UFOs!

  2. Magical photos of that sunset. Unfortunately, we had a heavy cloud cover here, (plus I was asleep drugged with cough syrup and sudafed). I’ve seen eclipses of the sun, but never a total one of the moon. (Okay, nobody had who is living today!) Nice!

  3. Gorgeous pictures. Just the sort of images to hold in the mind’s eye, when drearier skies come our way. Lovely!

  4. terrepruitt says:

    Beautiful. I was awake, but I forgot to go look at it as its fullest.

    It was really cold outside and I was busy.

  5. Jimmy says:

    Amazing pictures, yes I have notices the number of pictures you take of the sky and it is impressive the beauty the Good Lord gives us when we look upward.

    Beautiful shots Peg

  6. Ron says:

    You and me both!

    I love clouds, I love the stars, I love the moon.

    Especially the moon!

    Gorgeous sunset photos, Peg! Bellissima!

    A few of the people I work with said they saw the total eclipse last night and that it was absolutely beautiful.

    Great post, dear friend!

    X

  7. LisaF says:

    Your sunset pics are lovely. It was cloudy where we were the night of the eclipse. Guess I’ll have to live long enough to see the next one! ;-D

Leave a Reply

