Sunday Stroll in Philly

I can’t believe it’s been a week since we were in Philly.  We really enjoyed it even though it was COLD as all get out.  We had valeted our car when we got there and pretty much walked or took a cab everywhere we went once we got there.  We had gotten up Sunday morning but weren’t in any big hurry since we were on no one’s time table but our own. 

Hubby was sweet enough to be get me a Starbucks.  Which reminds me of the Starbucks story from Saturday morning.  Hubby does not drink coffee so him going out in the freezing cold made it that much sweeter.  I asked him to get me a BIG one or maybe even two since we didn’t have a coffee maker in the room.  He came back with two mediums.  When I asked if that was the biggest they had (because it didn’t look like a venti to me) he said “Yeah, I guess so.  I asked for a large and I looked at the sign so I asked for a GRAND since that’s large, right?”  I had to explain to him that to me, Starbucks is a little confused since their small is called a tall and their grande is really just a medium?  So, I forgive him because it took me a long time to figure out that a large is venti and I drink coffee all the time.  At least he didn’t make me go out in the cold and get it myself!

We had decided to walk over to the Art Museum since that is where the Rocky Statue is and that is the ONE thing hubby had requested other than the Philly Cheesesteak.  We had gotten directions from our friend who shall remain nameless (since I don’t want you to think badly of Ron ~ LOL) and he had said to go out the front door of the hotel and turn right and go down to John F Kennedy Blvd (or was it Parkway?) and take a left and just keep walking until we saw the steps.  He said we should also ask directions from someone else just to make sure he was right so I can’t blame him.  We asked the doorman at the hotel and he said go right until we got to Ben Franklin Parkway and take a left.  We walked about a block and then I asked hubby which directions we should follow and he said since our friend grew up there we should follow his directions.  Besides, apparently the two streets weren’t THAT far apart and if it was the wrong one, all we would have to do is turn right and go a few more blocks and we’d be there!  Right?  Made perfect sense to me.

I thought this was a cool looking church

We got to John F Kennedy first and there was a police officer blocking traffic (driving traffic) going straight anyway so we turned left.  There were a lot of cops around blocking all the cross streets.  We found out later that they were filming a movie.  We walked right by but didn’t see anyone famous. At least not that we recognized anyway.  We unfortunately were walking against the wind which is really not a good idea in butt cold Philly windy blustery weather but we pressed on.  We walked about 10 blocks and we could see columns in front of the building but no steps but thought maybe they were on the side or something.  We crossed the river and a BIG highway only to end up at the Amtrak station! 

Hubby is looking like he's not too sure about where we are headed

NOWwe know this is the Amtrak Station

The river - as we crossed BACK over it! Pretty arch though...

Beings that I am NOT a man, I asked directions.  I asked a gentle if he could tell us how to get there and he told us it was on Ben Franklin Parkway and we couldn’t miss it (hmmmmnnnnn heard that one before?) BUT, unfortunately it was one of those situations where you can’t get there from here.  Since to walk in what seemed like the direction of Ben Franklin at that point just took you to the interstate we had to walk back down almost to where we turned (within 3 blocks) and then turn left and walk another gazillion blocks.  It would not have been a bad walk had it not been SO frigging cold.  But it was not a totally lost cause because that little trek was where we got the pics of the disappearing building as I like to call it.

My first shot of the disappearing building.

We finally got to the Art Museum and passed a few interesting buildings along the way.  In front of the Science Museum was the first (I think) aluminum plane.  Wasn’t that big but it’s all cool as long as I don’t have to ride in it! 

St. clement's Episcopal Church - I just thought it looked cool

The plane outside the Science Museum

Finally - Art Museum

We finally got there and hubby got to have his picture taken with the Rocky Statue.  He was like a little kid!  He was so cute.  He made sure I took one with the camera and my cell phone so he could send it to the guys he works with.  I even got him a Rocky T shirt and ha the shirt guy take a picture of both of us together with Rocky.  Hubby couldn’t get over how big the statue was.

Hubby and Rocky!

 

Me, hubby and Rocky

After that cold frigid blustery freezing (did I use enough words to describe the cold?) trek there we decided to take a cab to the next part of our adventure which I will continue later in the week.

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Just Stupid Stuff We've Done and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Sunday Stroll in Philly

  1. suzicate says:

    Cool city…love that bridge!

  2. Jimmy says:

    You both had quite the trip it appears, the disappearing building is pretty impressive but not near as impressive as Dwight and Rocky 🙂

  3. Looks like an amazing trip, Peg. The cold can be so daunting though on the east coast.

    • pegbur7 says:

      Linda it was colder than cold. I had forgotten my gloves and I went to the drug store on the corner and they only had kid’s sized gloves (I even tried them on but my big hands wouldn’t fit) and thank God Ron had an extra pair that he gave me! He was a life saver!

  4. Ron says:

    “We crossed the river and a BIG highway only to end up at the Amtrak station!”

    Oh, you poor guys!

    I will NEVER make that directional mistake again.

    *hopefully*

    I am the WORST when it comes to directions. I should probably carry a GPS navigator in pocket at all times – HA!

    LOVE the photos of hubby in front of Rocky!

    You GO, ROCKY!

    Great photos, Peg! They really show the wonderful architecture of this city.

    Have a wonderful Monday!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      Oh, Ron… we had such a fabulous time. I had to rag you about that misstep in the directions…LOL. It was all good though we got to see a lot more of the city that way! And if you had’t given me those gloves I fear we never would have made it! Thanks again. You are such a doll!

  5. That disappearing building is kind of freaky! Great photos!

  6. LisaF says:

    I’ve never been to Philly and have enjoyed your guided tour! It looks like a fabulous place–especially the art museum. I hope to see more of the country now that there aren’t any kids at home.

  7. Carol says:

    Always when I go somewhere new, I must go past it, turn around and go back. The only time I had a sense of direction that worked was in Seoul, so Kat and I decided I have a South Korean sense of direction. I am glad you made it to the museum, however, and that hubby got his picture taken with Rocky.

  8. terrepruitt says:

    Getting “lost” and wandering around is usually an adventure, but it is not fun when it is so cold.

    • pegbur7 says:

      We were chilled to the bone! I’m so glad Ron gave me his extra gloves because I had left mine at home! I thought my nose and ears were going to fall off!

      • terrepruitt says:

        Oh that is so nice of Ron!

        We had friends do that for us once. We were strolling around and ran into them and hubby didn’t have a scarf and the guy gave him one (he had just bought it! Said it had been a two for one deal). It was so nice!

      • pegbur7 says:

        He really is a sweet guy. I had walked over to the drugstore on the corner and they only had kids gloves which of course wouldn’t fit on my big hands!

Leave a Reply

