Mea Culpa

First I’d like to apologize for not posting yesterday.  We have been in Philadelphia for the last few days and I had set my blog to post every morning until Monday.  My aim was to find time Saturday night or Sunday evening to post for Monday but that didn’t happen.  Hubby and I had been out all day in the freezing cold exploring Philly mostly on foot and then came back to our hotel to take a little break before we dressed and went out for our anniversary dinner.

We had decided to go to The Capital Grille and it was probably less than 10 blocks from our hotel so we just walked down (it was pretty chilly in a dress but hey, you only live once right?) to the restaurant around 6 or 6:30.  Dinner was delicious and they treated us like royalty and since it was our anniversary they gave us a free appetizer, champagne toast AND dessert!  Bad thing was that about half way through dinner something hit me like a ton of bricks and I felt so sick I thought I’d have to get better to even die!  

I’m sure it had nothing to do with our food there.  I’m thinking it was being out in the cold all day and our Georgia bones aren’t used to that kind of cold. Or maybe it was the coffee I drank earlier that I told hubby tasted burned or bad or something but I was so cold I drank it anyway!  I ate my appetizer and a couple bites of hubby’s steak and a couple bites of my chicken and seriously couldn’t eat another bite.  He graciously boxed up our desserts for us to enjoy later back at the hotel but the only thing I enjoyed after getting back was the bed and I was so sick I didn’t even enjoy that!  I barely made it back to the room before I started throwing up and a few minutes later I thought I was going to have to sit there on the toilet with the trash can on my lap because I couldn’t decide which way it was going to come out.  MISERABLE…

 Once all that calmed down I ripped off my clothes and threw on my nightgown and climbed in the bed. I don’t think it was even 8:30.  I can’t remember the last time I went to bed that early.  And once I was in the bed I couldn’t get warm.  I was so cold I was literally shaking but Hubby said I was hot to the touch so I guess I was running a high fever.  I was up several times during the night but basically slept from then until almost 7 Monday morning so there was no way I was in any shape to write or post or check anything.  We really did enjoy our dinner (before I got sick) and thinking back on it the only thing I can think it may have been was that Starbucks I got  while we were out sightseeing Sunday afternoon.  It was really bitter and tasted weird but I was so cold and drank it anyway… my bad.  I should have listened to my gut (literally) and not drank it.

I will post later this week about the rest of the trip but wanted to apologize and at least tell you about the highlight of my trip which was dinner Saturday night.  Hubby and I finally got to meet Ron from Vent.  We went to a really nice Mexican Restaurant called I think La Vez down near where he works.  We had a blast and ended up dragging out dinner to the lobby of the hotel where Ron and I sat and chatted for several hours.  I felt like I was reunited with one of my best friends rather than meeting him for the first time.  I loved every minute of it and I do have a couple of pics even though they did come out kind of dark.  Ron, you are everything and more that I thought you’d be and thanks so much for a lovely evening!

Hubby, me & Ron

Ron with his favorite candy

Not sure what I'm doing but I look kinda surprised!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Mea Culpa

  1. SuziCate says:

    Sounds like you might have had a touch of flu. Love that you brought Ron Twizzlers! Glad you all had fun.

  2. Ron says:

    “Ron, you are everything and more that I thought you’d be and thanks so much for a lovely evening!”

    Ditto to you, Peg! I had a blast meeting you! And hubby too! I felt sad when you left the store on Sunday, I wish we had had more time together. The people I work with said they LOVED meeting you.

    OMG, I’m so sorry to hear about you’re getting ill. It sounds like you had a 24-hr virus or something. I hope you’re feeling better now.

    LOVE the photos!

    And can you believe I haven’t yet torn into those Twizzlers? I’m saving them for when Christmas retail gets the best of me and I need some comfort food – HA!

    Thanks again for our “meet up” it was GRAND!

    Have a great day!

    X to you and Hubby!

  3. I’m so sorry you got sick. It sort of sounds like food poisoning to me, but whatever it was, I hope it’s gone. And I’m delighted you got to meet Ron. Feel a whole lot better soon!

  4. Ron looks like a sweetheart! And a big blessing to your husband for taking good care of you. I’ve seen John like that over the course of a night. It’s not fun for the sick or for their loved ones who try to help them. Sometimes, you just have to ride it out. Glad you’re feeling better!

    • pegbur7 says:

      I felt bad that I was sick on our anniversary so he couldn’t fully enjoy the evening with me sick. Oh well, it’s just a day. The more important part is just our lives together.

  5. Jimmy says:

    It is so cool that you and Dwight got to meet up with Ron, Cindy and I are jealous now 🙂

    Sorry that you got sick but I am glad it was a short one that was over in the time it was, I agree next time your gut speaks it’s best to listen.

  6. Pingback: Bold As Love « Square Peg in a Round Hole

  7. terrepruitt says:

    Sorry you got sick. Odd sometimes how it hits you. Glad you enjoyed what you could of dinner.

    Fun to meet friends that you first meet online. I love it!

    • pegbur7 says:

      It really was nice. I so enjoyed meeting Ron and having had a blogging relationship with him for so many months I felt like I already knew him. He really is a sweetheart!

Leave a Reply

