Living and Laughing in Texas

Online Friends

This week for Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop I chose prompt #5.) That one time you met your online friend in real life (was it everything you thought it would be?)

I know I wrote about this before but I’ll recap it again.  I just started writing my blog in January.  In February my friend Ange’, her friend Juanita and I went to Dallas, Texas for a conference.  We were going to be there for 3 or 4 days and I had just started reading Angelia Sims Hardy’s  blog Loving Living Laughing a few weeks before but I could tell but her writing that she was the kind of personality I would get along with.  When I found out we were going to Dallas I sent her a message to see if she might want to meet.  Our trip was pretty spur of the moment.  Thankfully Angelia said yes!

We got to Dallas on Thursday morning and had a seminar that night and then went to a Karaoke bar that night.  My friend Ange’ wanted to sing but I am NOT a singer so I said NO WAY!  She had just about convinced me to do it when everyone decided it was time to leave.  I (as well as everyone else I’m sure) was very thankful for them to say it was time to go. 

On Friday night after our seminars all day Angelia had agreed to meet us at our hotel and we’d go out for dinner and drinks.  She came to meet us and at our first face to face meeting I felt like I had know her forever!  She is such a sweet and easygoing person.  We had driven down in my friend Ange’s car which was smaller than Angelia’s (ironically they both spell their names Angelia) plus since she was from there we decided to let Angelia drive.

Me and Angelia

We went to a really neat Mexican restaurant called Uncle Julio’s I think.  There was a little bit of a wait but not too long and then we had yummy margaritas and great food.  Afterwards we decided to go BACK to the Karaoke bar we had gone to the night before and Angelia was a good sport and drove us there.  We had a great time talking and listening to everyone else until I let (yes, it was completely THEIR fault) them talk me into singing a song with Ange’.  I had thought that Angelia and Juanita were going to sing with us but they didn’t.  Angelia had to document my embarrassment with her new camera!  Juanita just got to sit at the table embarrassed that she was with us! 

Me between the Angelias

Ange', me and Juanita

I'm hiding behind the unknown lady who decied to join us for our song

Despite being completely embarrassed I did have a great time.  I know myself well enough to know that I am NOT a singer and had no business up there.  Did you ever watch that movie with Julia Roberts and Cameron Diaz called My Best Friend’s Wedding?  (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LTSBUUpoqRQ)  You know the scene where she sings karaoke and might I add, awfully?  Yeah, well she sang better than me!  I’m glad that Angelia only had photographic evidence and NOT audio!  You should be glad too.

That was the only time we got to spend together but I think we had a great time and I can’t wait to see her again.

I also had the privilege of meeting Trisha (from Hadessah Speaks) but she no longer blogs.  We met her when we went to Orlando in October.  Hubby and I had lunch with her.  It was really nice meeting her too.  I did enjoy her blog and feel badly that she felt that she had to stop.  I do have a couple of pictures of meeting her.  Hopefully I’ll get to see her again if we go back to Orlando next year.

Trisha and me at lunch

As we're leaving lunch (you can see hubby in the reflection in the glass)

 

In December we plan to go to Philly for our anniversary and I am looking forward to meeting Ron from Vent for dinner or drinks.  I love Ron’s humor and I already feel like I’ve known him forever and I know we are going to hit it off.  I’ll be sure to take pics so I can share when I get back. 

Me holding my baby sister SuziCate Summer 1963 (told you I'd known her her whole life!)

Me (on the right) and my beautiful and fabulous sister SuziCate.Summer 2010. Picture was taken by my incredibly gifted friend Margie Hatcher.

So far that’s all the bloggers that I have met in person, except of course for my lovely sister, SuziCate.  We had a picture taken in August that we said was just for our blogs.  I can’t leave her out since she got me started blogging although I have known her for her whole life… literally.  How about YOU? Have you ever met any of your online buddies?  How did it turn out for you?

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Mama Kat's Writer's Workshop, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Living and Laughing in Texas

  1. We haven’t met any of our blogger friends in real life but would like to some day. We used the prompt “10 Reasons I Don’t Drink Coffee”: http://zemeks.blogspot.com/2010/11/10-reasons-why-i-dont-drink-coffee.html

  2. The girl that was dancing and singing with y’all.. ….too, too funny. I could barely get pics. Lol. The DJ asked if I was a pro. Ha. I’ll say again, you sang great! Ange’ had an excellent voice and you blended well together. The evidence is in your dancing fan. 🙂

    Can’t wait to see you again!! Xoxo.

  3. susan sheppard says:

    Peg u are such the cut-up. You gals are the bomb.love u lots.

  4. Paula Kiger says:

    I enjoyed your story! What a gift to meet these people — I never miss an opportunity locally to go to a Tweetup if I don’t have a conflict – when you tweet (and other social media) with people who are only five miles away from you, it’s ridiculous not to look them in the eye once in a while!!

    • pegbur7 says:

      I don’t tweet so I have no idea what a Tweetup is but I’m assuming it’s where you meet people you tweet or who follow you? Sounds like it would be fun! I love meeting new people.

  5. Ron says:

    Meeting other bloggers in person is like meeting a celebrity – I get all excited and giddy!

    The 3 I’ve meet so far have been such a fantastic experience. They were everything their blogs expressed themselves to be.

    And of course…I CAN’T WAIT to meet you!!!!!

    Soooooooo looking forward to it, Peg!!!!

    Have a terrific Thursday, dear friend!

    X

    • pegbur7 says:

      I CAN’T WAIT EITHER!!! I know we are gonna have a great time no matter what we do. I know hubby wants to go to some corner that has the two most famous philly cheese steak places? One is called Pats? Do you know where that is?

  6. Paige says:

    Looks like fun! I like Angelia’s blog, too!

  7. terrepruitt says:

    Yes. I’ve met online people. One was a friend of my husband’s, but I had never met her. I started reading and commenting on her blog. Then we met. It was awesome. Her and her husband are great company.

    I’ve met more Twitter people than bloggers. We tweet then meet at Tweetups. A Tweetup is just like a “Meetup”. It is just a time to meet up with people. Often the people are on Twitter and you tweet with them already or you meet them there and then start following them. There are all kinds of Tweetups, but around here there is a trio who organizes them and they have turned them into duel purpose meeting. We meet AND donate to a local charity every month.

    So I meet a lot of people I get to know online. It is fun.

    I understand the excitement of meeting an online friend. It is so cool.

  8. SuziCate says:

    I would love to meet Angelia…I know she has to be as sweet in person as online! I might get to meet one of my friends next year in Utah…exciting to think about it.

  9. I’ve had the opportunities to meet several other bloggers, each time a great one! It’s so wonderful to put a face to a name, but kind of unnerving too! 🙂

  10. Isn’t it great when you meet the people you seem to have just a sweet and loving connection with, but haven’t ever seen their face? It looks like you had a blast!

  11. ElizOF says:

    Peg Girl,
    You have been busy meeting up with bloggers. I am so impressed! Your stories were a lot of fun and I can’t believe you even connected with two Angelia’s — fortuitous!
    I wrote on the same topic about meeting a Triiibes friend and I appreciated your kind comments. :-0)
    Stopping by to follow up and comment back on your visit to my Positive Kismet blogger blog… Thank you!
    Have a great weekend ahead!
    Best,
    Elizabeth

    • pegbur7 says:

      I know… isn’t it cool to actually KNOW two people named Angelia and then to have them together at the same time. We did have a blast! Thanks for stopping by!

  12. datGurl! says:

    your family is so warm and squishy lookin’…that so nice.

    your gurls are gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

