Have a Coke and a Smile

World of Coke - beautiful even in the dreary rain

After we left the Georgia Aquarium we headed across the lawn to the “new” World of Coke.  I say new because it used to be housed in a building down near Underground Atlanta.  It was a pretty cool multilevel building but then a couple of years ago they built this new building across from the Aquarium to house all things Coca Cola.

Looking out toward World of Coke from the Aquarium

Hubby trying to take Pemberton's cup from him

Now its Cheryl's turn

All four of us in front of the international Coke bottles

In fact, according to their website: http://www.worldofcoca-cola.com/

“The World of Coca-Cola at Pemberton Place celebrated its Grand Opening on May 24, 2007.  It’s the only place where you can explore the complete story—past, present and future—of the world’s best-known brand.

With 60,000 square feet for you to explore, the World of Coca-Cola features more than 1,200 artifacts from around the world that, until now, have never been displayed to the public before.

Around every corner you’ll experience something new and inviting.  You’ll see great interactive exhibits such as a thrilling, multi-sensory 4-D movie (3D glasses with moving seats) and a fully functioning bottling line.  You can even give our 7-foot Coca-Cola Polar Bear a big hug!  And of course, a World of Coca­Cola favorite—the tasting experience, will give you a refreshing opportunity to sample over 60 different products from around the world.  All this and much more make the World of Coca­Cola a unique and must-see Atlanta experience!  A visit of the entire attraction is estimated to last an average of 90 minutes.”

For those of you who don’t know it, Coca Cola was created/invented in Atlanta in 1886 by John S. Pemberton, a pharmacist.  It was originally used medicinally.  Originally the only way you could get it was it had to be “mixed” at the soda fountains of pharmacies.  I found this tidbit very interesting:  Pemberton’s 1886 Coca-Cola recipe contained a highly addictive stimulant extracted from coca leaves. (The same thing used to make cocaine) That recipe was replaced in 1905 with one more similar to the modern beverage, which is distributed in 200 countries worldwide. You can read more about this at: Pemberton, John S – nutrition, body, health http://www.faqs.org/nutrition/Biographies/Pemberton-John-S.html#ixzz14YPI7eNu

Coke artifacts

More Coke Memorabilia

We got to see a cute little 4D movie, yes, I said 4D…. it is more “interactive” than your “run of the mill” 3D and it was really cute.  We got to listen to the guide explain the Coke artifacts including billboards and some of the first Coke machines.  She kept telling everyone to make sure they tried the Beverley beverage from Italy.  I was smart enough that I have been down that road before and I KNEW not to try it.

This was the young girl who told everyone to try the Beverly

They have a whole room set up with a screen that has commercials from around the world and through the years that is very interesting.  I didn’t go see it this time but I have seen it in the past and it’s quite entertaining.

Being silly

Acting even sillier

 

Bottling the coke

The robot they use to package the bottles

Hubby was mesmerized again but this time by the robot

They have a little mini assembly line set up where you can watch the process of bottling Coca Cola.  It really is interesting.  We got to take our pictures with the 7 foot Coke Polar Bear.  And at the end of your tour through the museum you get to sample Coke products from all over the world.  Seriously, I had no idea that they had that many different Coke Beverages.  And if you ever get to come to World of Coke, I’m gonna tell it to you straight.  I don’t care WHAT that girl tells you…. DON’T try the Beverley from Italy.  The best I can equate it to would be eating a persimmon.  It’s very bitter and tastes awful.  Apparently they like it in Italy though.  My cousin was getting ready to try it and I very sarcastically said “Yeah, go ahead and try it if you’re so brave!”  And she did.  Then she wanted to kick my butt.   Then she wanted to go find the little girl who told her to try it and kick her butt too!  I told her I thought that she knew I was being sarcastic.  Apparently not!  Then Danny came over and I told him NOT to try it and he immediately tried it.  Here’s his face after he tried it:

I don't think he liked how Beverly tasted

Here’s me laughing my butt off at him after he tried it:

I tried to warn him so it was funny when he did it anyway!

Right before you leave the tour you get to take one of the bottles of Coke that they bottle there in the building.  I think it’s like one of those 6 oz bottles.  Pretty cool.  Then of course you have to wade through the gift shop before you can exit.  But if you want it they have about every piece of merchandise you can think of with some sort of Coke logo on it.  PJ’s and glasses and coffee cups and tank tops and shorts and shirts and jackets and chairs and key chains and just about anything you could possibly want or need. 

So if you come to Atlanta, this is another item you can add to your list of things to do.  And it’s almost next door to the Olympic Rings Fountain which is pretty cool.  We were gonna walk over there after but about the time that we got done in the World of Coke the bottom fell out of the sky and we had to wait about 15 minutes to make a run for it across the lawn to the parking deck.  Of course I wasn’t doing too much running.  I had on slide sandals (it was hot that day) and they got wet of course so my feet kept slipping around in them so I took them off and walked barefoot to the parking deck which probably wasn’t real smart (might be why I have a cold now?) but if I hadn’t I think I would have ended up hurting myself worse by sliding around in my shoes.

Trying to get out of the rain

Then we were off to our next adventure…. Rush hour traffic in downtown Atlanta!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Have a Coke and a Smile

  1. Alaina says:

    Oh, when I lived down in Alabama as a kid, we went to the museum, but I think it was the one by the underground mall, because I recall going there, too. I loved the place where you could try all the different types of coke from all over the world. Do they still shoot the coke in a fountain through the air, too?

    Memories 🙂 Thanks for posting this!

    • pegbur7 says:

      No, sadly they don’t. That was the old one and I thought that was so cool. The new building doesn’t have it. that was one of the first things I said to hubby after the tasting room “Where is the fountain that shoots the coke?” LOL funny things we remember.

  2. Ron says:

    Faaaaaabulous post, Peg!

    So informative and FUN!

    I’m not a huge soda drinker (only when I have a burger and fries), but when I do…it HAS to be a coke, not Pepsi. I love drinking it with a lemon wedge squeezed in it. Yummmy!

    Really enjoyed your photos. Especially the first two – I ADORE gray, rainy days in a city. It’s make everything look so mysterious!

    Happy Tuesday, dear friend!

    X

  3. I am a diet coke crack head. I love the stuff. This looks like an amazing thing to see.

    • pegbur7 says:

      I am telling you Linda, some time when Alex comes in for business you need to come with him. You and I can do the whole tourist thing while our hubbies work!

  4. jenny says:

    You know, hubby worked for coca-cola for 13 years. We have so many collector coke bottles and cans it’s rediculous!! He was so dedicated we could not even buy another brand. Sooo, if he he really pissed me off, I would buy a can and leave it on the counter.lol

  5. SuziCate says:

    I enjoyed this Coke post even though I prefer Pepsi…I was an avid Coke drinker until they pulled that classic stunt and I switched, but when they brought it back I was already hooked!

    • pegbur7 says:

      It’s hard to change once you acquire a taste for something. I remember whenI was a die hard Dr. Pepper drinker and people would try to clip me a Mr. Pibb and tell me it was the same thing. Most definitely not! I could tell the difference.

  6. terrepruitt says:

    In Epcot they have a place where you can taste soda from around the world. I don’t remember if it is Coke sponsored, but I do remember tasting some very nasty stuff. You could tell the nasty stuff because the area around the dispenser was all wet from others spitting it out.

    I don’t drink soda, but if I did it would be Mexican Coke because our coke has HFCS in it and Mexico’s doesn’t.

    I didn’t realize Atlanta has so much great stuff. I need to remember all of this if I ever get out there! Thanks for educating me on the great stuff in Atlanta!

    • pegbur7 says:

      Atlanta has oodles of stuff. Fun stuff and historic stuff. You’d need more than a week to really see everything. We have lots of museums. Right now the High Museum of Art has a Salvador Dali collection that’s here until January and I really want to go see that. We also have the Carter Center and the Martin Luther King Center for Change and it’s home to Margaret Mitchell and the Wren’s Nest. I guess I’ll need to go to all that stuff so I can write about it. Maybe I could get a job at the AJC as like a visitor’s guide to Atlanta! LOL

  7. Carol says:

    Very interesting. For years I was a Pepsi drinker but then I switched to Coke.

    And I’ll take one of each. No, actually, I’ll take one coke and 2 or 3 smiles. Thank you.

  8. LisaF says:

    It looks like a fascinating trip, filled with great slices of Americana. The company is certainly a world icon, regardless of whether you prefer Coke or Pepsi!

  9. Jimmy says:

    OK now when we come to Atlanta Cindy is going to love seeing this one 🙂

    • pegbur7 says:

      It’s really cool and when you go to the Aquarium you can get a Pemberton Place Pass for like $2 more and get to see both the Aquarium and the World of Coke. Just don’t try the Beverly! 😉

  10. I want to go there!! I love COKE (and rum).
    🙂

    My brother has one of those old glass bottle coke vending machines in his house. It’s from my great Aunt’s Chevy dealership. I’ve never seen another one until this post. It’s the red one. How cool!!

    • pegbur7 says:

      That is so cool that he has one. The little store near my parents have an old coke chest type of cooler. It’s one thing I always loved doing was going in and getting one of those little glass bottles out of there.

Leave a Reply

