The BIG 3 0 0!

I can’t believe it. This is my 300th post! 300! It definitely doesn’t seem like it’s been that long. I never thought when I first started blogging almost a year ago that I could think of 300 things to blog about. I even more in no way thought that anyone else would want to read anything that I had written, especially after 300 posts.
I have so many things swirling around in my head to write about but I wanted 300 to be something special. I definitely know I couldn’t think of 300 things about me that anyone would want to know. I can’t even keep my own interest that long! So, I think I’d like to use this post to highlight and thank those who have made my time spent posting these 300 posts so special to me. I hope I can remember those that I want to and I hope I don’t leave anyone out or hurt anyone’s feelings. These are not going to be in any particular order. Just as I come to them.
The first people I need to thank, non bloggers, are of course my family. My wonderful supportive husband without whose help I would not be able to do this. He has been telling me for years that I should write and I kept putting it off. When I first started this I was skeptical of my own ability to do this and he has stood behind me 100% and been my biggest supporter. Even when I’ve ragged him and given him a hard time and of course he continually provides me with blog fodder. His favorite expression lately seems to be “You’re not gonna blog about this are you?” Well, duh! He should know by now that anything he says or does is potential material for me to write about. He encouraged me after all. And I thank him so much for that. He was the one who has encouraged me to take the time even though it has been hard on us financially for me to spend this time concentrating on being able to express myself.
I also need to thank my three wonderful beautiful smart encouraging daughters. Even though at first the youngest gave me a really hard time and I think was embarrassed by the thought of her mom being a blogger she got over it, embraced it and now she is as encouraging and supportive as both of her older sisters. Thank you girls! I love you all so much. You are my life and I couldn’t do this without your encouragement and support either (and the material you guys provide me with too).
As for bloggers, first off I’d like to thank and highlight the blogger that started it all got me…my incredible baby sister, SuziCate. If it weren’t for her I would never have written the first post. I used to call her on my way to work all the time and tell her all this crazy stuff that happened to me and I’d have her in stitches and she finally insisted that I do a guest post for her about all my crazy stories with all my crazy doctors appointments. She was so encouraging and with her prodding and her readers, I “gave in” to the pressure and started blogging. I have always thought she was a great writer. I have had the privilege of watching her grow as a writer and expand to two blogs. Her regular blog The Water Witches Daughter and now her poetry blog. I am so in awe of her talent. Thank you for being there for me.
I think one of the first people I remember reading my blog (other than my sister) was Angelia from Living Loving Laughing. She read Suzi’s blog I guess and somehow found me through her. I love Angelia’s honesty and forthrightness and her ability to talk about the things that I’m sure were not easy for her. She is amazing. And the best part was I got to actually meet her in the flesh back in February. By then I had been reading her blog for over a month and felt like I had known her my whole life. When I met her I felt like it was someone I had known for year. It was so good to put a name to a face in person. She is a wonderful writer and she has been through so much in this past 10 months. It’s been an incredible journey. Angelia, thanks for sticking with me and for being an inspiration.
Ron, from Vent, has been with me for a long time. Ron is hilarious and makes me laugh. It’s really funny but I think because of his personality people seem to be inspired to even leave better comments. I have almost as much fun reading his comments as I do his actual blog. And he never ceases to amaze me. He looks at things in a way sometimes that I think “Now why didn’t I think of that?” Thanks Ron. You have been so loyal and you inspire me to try to be funnier. I can’t wait to meet you in person.
Jimmy from Jimmy’s Opinion is another that has been loyal in his comments and following me and I love reading Jimmy’s blog. Jimmy is so real and forthright. He tells stories like he was sitting at your kitchen table just talking to you. I feel like he could be somebody I grew up with. Just a good old boy telling it like it is. Thanks Jimmy for inspiring me to keep telling my stories.
Sometime and somehow, I’m not even sure how, I found Linda from The Good, The Bad, The Worse. Linda is also very funny and witty. She tells it like it is and pulls no punches. Sometimes I’m not sure whether she’s telling the truth or pulling my leg but either way she is always delightful. She keeps me on my toes and never ceases to leave me with my mouth hanging open. Whether it be from laughing so hard or from saying “Did she really just say that?” I love Linda. She’s a card and always entertaining. Thanks Linda for always keeping me entertained.
Stacey aka Princess Spot over at What Passes For Sane on a Crazy Day has had a very tumultuous 5 or 6 months. She has had so much going on in her personal life between her husband’s accident and her daughter’s health problems as well as her own. But she hasn’t let that sway her ability to write great stuff. She may not be posting as often but when she does, it’s still great stuff. She and her son have some of the most amusing conversations that I have ever heard. Great stuff. Thanks Stacey for being an inspiration to just keep going.
Heather at Welch Happenings is another one I admire for “keeping it real”. Heather is so real all the time. I enjoy reading her blog and the things she writes about her growing up give me the shivers sometimes but she always is just herself. She also has a photography blog now called Nana’s Nature Photography and she has taken some very impressive pictures that I have enjoyed very much.
I need to thank Jen from Sprite’s Keeper for always giving me new challenges. She posts a new topic every Friday for us to spin our words to be posted by the next Friday. The Spin Cycle is something I have enjoyed immensely. There have been times when I didn’t possibly see how I could write about something she gave us an assignment for but I have always seemed to rise to the challenge. Not always easy but always challenging. Thanks Jen for forcing me to sometimes step out of my comfort zone and rise to the occasion.
Mama Kat is another one that forces me to flex my writing muscle. Every week she posts 5 different topics to choose from to write about and link back up with every Thursday. She doesn’t give us a whole week though so sometimes it’s challenging to come up with my post with only a couple days notice. But I usually do end up meeting the challenge. Thanks Kat for giving us a variety of topics and making me flex my creative muscle.
Suzi also introduced me to Genie Alesia and her blog In A Bottle. Every month she challenges us to “Live Out Loud” with a different topic. She usually gives us at least a week and sometimes more. Hers are always due the first Sunday of each month by 5 p.m. I think I missed one of hers since I started doing them in February. That was when I was out of town and didn’t have internet access. Thanks Genie for helping keep my mind sharp and my writing fresh.
Carol from Wanderings of an Elusive Mind is fairly new to my reading itinerary but I have thoroughly enjoyed reading her postings and also her daughter K from Banterings of a Basketcase. They have both become fairly regular in commenting on mine and I to visiting theirs. And Nain, and Teri and Terre. Thanks for your loyalty.
That’s one of the best things I have found about blogging. It’s like a family. A family of people you mostly haven’t met. But you feel like you know them and they know you. They know you better than a lot of people you have known longer. Getting to actually meet them in person is a joy when you get to. I have had the pleasure of meeting 2 fellow bloggers in person (other than my sister of course) and I hope to meet another in December.
I may not always read each of them every day. Sometimes I will read 3 or 4 days worth at a time and some days (especially if I’m in Virginia) I may not get to read anyone’s if I haven’t had the access. I still try to catch up every few days. And I may not comment every day but that doesn’t mean I didn’t read it. Most likely I was just in a hurry. I know that’s no excuse and I apologize. Each of you means the world to me and I thank you for making me a better writer.
If I missed you name, I’m sorry. I really do appreciate everyone who takes the time to come by and read my blog and I am overwhelmed that anyone still comes back! I appreciate all of your support and the fact that you ever wanted to read anything I had to say still amazes me. Thanks for a great 300! I hope I have another 300 in me!

About pegbur7

South of the Mason/Dixon Line
This entry was posted in Just Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The BIG 3 0 0!

  1. terrepruitt says:

    Wahoooooo! Congrats to you!!! Three hundred, whew! That’s a lot. I am just catching up on reading today myself that’s why I’ve commented on so many of your posts just today.

    Thanks for explaining about the different places you get your assignments. I didn’t know all the different places . I think those are awesome tools for writers.

    Congrats again!!!

  2. Michael G. says:

    Huge milestone! Well done! Here’s to 300 more.

  3. dwight says:

    Peg,you are so amazing. You are creating a history of our family that will always be there. The way you use pitures and video makes every blog exciting. I read your blog daily,it starts my day off with a smile. I am so proud to be your husband. I tell everyone.”You could have a better husband,But I could never have a better wife!” Love Dwight

  4. Ron says:

    Ok first, I have to say how MUCH I enjoyed ready Dwight’s comment to you. What a wonderful guy he is, and I can tell that he loves you very much (and you he).

    (((( Dwight + Peg )))))

    Second, CONGRATULATIONS on your 300th post, Peg!!

    Woot! Woot! Woot!

    *thunderous applause*

    OMG, you’re not far behind me, and I’ve had my blog for over 3 years! I can’t tell you what a pleasure and joy it’s been having met you. Honestly, I know we’ve only met this past year, but it feels like I’ve known you forever! Must be we’ve known each other in a pastlife, you think? HA!

    Thank you for your sweet words, dear friend. And thank you for the effort it took to write this post; including each individual thank you. You’re such a dear.

    I look forward to reading your next 300 post!

    Rock on, Peg!

    Have a wonderful day!

    X

    P.S. I can’t wait to meet you in person too!

  5. Spot says:

    Thank you so much for mentioning me Peg. And congrats on your 300th!! That is a big accomplishment. And I will never forget your kindness when my husband was in the hospital, nor all the encouragement that you sent my way. You and Dwight are very special people and I’m glad to be able to share in some of your family moments.

    ♥Spot

  6. Peg, 300 is an amazing number of posts in less than a year! Wow! And thank you so much for the mention. Right back atcha, Honey! Just keep doing what you do so well!

    • pegbur7 says:

      I try Linda! I have so immensely enjoyed this last year. I have written pretty much every day so it doesn’t take long at that rate! I just can’t believe it’s been almost a year!

  7. suzicate says:

    Woo Hoo, you keep ’em coming, girlie! Doing a great job!

  8. Wow! Wow! Wow! 300- that’s a lot of words! But I expect no less from you and your wonderful stories. 🙂 I can’t wait to see you again. So glad blogging (and your sister) brought us together. Keep shining your light dear friend. I’m always here for you.

  9. Carol says:

    Congrats on the 300 milestone! Thank you for the mention; I enjoy reading your posts, especially when you talk about some of the so very strange things that you get into! Like you, I don’t always comment (there are those times I can think of nothing original to say because everyone else has already said it), but I do read every post. Sometimes a few at a time, but I read.

  10. Jimmy says:

    Hey Peg, Congrats on the big 300, I know you have a lot more in you because you are just that talented, I have so enjoyed getting to know you and the support you have given me has been an honor.

    I feel blessed to have you include me in the list of wonderful bloggers and friends, I too feel as if you are family and as I mentioned before, next time we head for home I will hold you to meeting us in Atlanta 🙂

  11. Wow! Congratulations! 300 is difficult to come by, thanks for making this past year of reading your blog so much fun!

  12. Kelly Anderson says:

    Hey Peggy,

    I just saw your blog…AWESOME!!!
    Congrats on 300!!! You go girl!!!

    Kelly Anderson

  13. LisaF says:

    Congratulations! What an accomplishment. And we all thank you for being so disciplined and giving us amazing stories to read. I’m sure your treasury of family history and anecdotal stories will be cherished by many generations.

Leave a Reply

